Scott Kazmir’s Defeat of a Nemesis

I sat down to watch CBS Sunday Morning and the segments on Pat Boone and Steve Hartman’s father moving out of the family house. My mother phoned me and asked me what I was going to do with all my money. I was thinking about taking that trip to either Cleveland or Chicago next year. She also asked me about my friend’s retirement and move to Ohio. I went over to Trader Joe’s. The cashier told me that he was briefly in one of my classes. I took the bus to the Fruitvale BART station. I listened to Wait, Wait, Don’t Tell Me on the radio. As I made my way to the stadium and the season ticket holder line, I saw that the Warriors Team Store was open, so I went inside and bought a T-shirt, which cost $35. I was glad to be there without the big crowd. I went to my seat and used some sunscreen. Marcus Semien, Stephen Vogt, Mark Canha, and their fathers went onto the field to throw out the first pitches. We heard John Fogerty’s “Centerfield” before the A’s took the field. Scott Kazmir got into some trouble in the first inning, giving up two singles with one out, but he escaped the jam. He had a clean second inning. In the third inning, he allowed a walk and a single with two outs but got out of that trouble. The A’s had a chance to score in the second inning when Brett Lawrie doubled with one out. However, Lawrie was caught stealing third base. The play was reviewed, and the crowd hated it because it took more than five minutes to get the decision. The A’s scored the first run of the game in the third inning when Sam Fuld doubled with one out, and then Billy Burns singled. Kazmir allowed a single in the fourth inning, but a good catch by Lawrie in foul ground helped him out. Double plays ended both the fifth and sixth innings, keeping the score at 1-0. The bottom of the sixth inning started with singles by Stephen Vogt and Ben Zobrist. Josh Reddick hit a line drive that the Angels’ second baseman caught just above the ground. Brett Lawrie singled for one run, and Ike Davis hit a ball high off the outfield wall for another run. Canha and Fuld both made outs, so the score remained at 3-0. In the Big Head race, Dennis Eckersley made a late charge to somehow win for only the third time this season. Kazmir got through the seventh inning giving up only a single, although he went past 100 pitches on the day. During the seventh inning stretch, we heard “Do You Love Me.” In the bottom of the seventh and eighth innings, the A’s would do nothing on offense. Kazmir began the top of the eighth inning by giving up a walk. He got the first out with a fly ball to left field, and then Bob Melvin brought Tyler Clippard into the game to get the last five outs. Clippard went to a 3-2 count to his first batter, Mike Trout, before getting a fly ball out to left field. Clippard again went to a 3-2 count to the next batter, Albert Pujols, but then he gave up a home run into the left field bleachers, making the score 3-2. After allowing a single, Clippard got a strikeout to end the inning. He started the top of the ninth inning with another strikeout. He got the next batter to hit a ground ball to Ike Davis, who is usually a reliable fielder, but this time he committed an error but allow the runner to reach first base. After another strikeout, the fans were anticipating a win. Clippard threw a fat pitch to the next batter, who hit a deep fly ball that looked like it was going over the left field fence. However, just in front of the fence, Sam Fuld caught the ball to end the game. The fans cheered. The game began at 1:07 and ended at 4:05. The game time temperature was 65 degrees. Attendance was 29,137. I felt sad having to go back home and face another work week. I listened to Robert Hilburn’s Rock ‘n’ Roll Times program on KCSN. He played tracks from live albums by the Allman Brothers Band, The Band, and David Bowie. My favorite tracks were “The Weight” and “Rock ‘n’ Roll Suicide.” “Rock of Ages” was a very good album. I took a shower and watched the beginning of the Columbo episode “An Exercise in Fatality” with Robert Conrad. I fell asleep and missed the ending. I saw the sports highlights. Tim Lincecum didn’t last long for the Giants in their game at Dodger Stadium. “Hudson Hawk” was on one channel. From the few minutes I watched it, it didn’t seem too good. “Nothing in Common” was on another channel. That one seemed so strange when I saw it years ago. Tom Hanks seemed like a different person. The Jack Benny Program featured an opera singer, Roberta Peters. Rochester made a fried egg sandwich. Jack fantasized about being in “La Traviata.” Roberta Peters is still alive and is 85 years old. In the second episode, Jack and Gisele were stuck in a ghost town. Gisele sang “Buttons and Bows.” I noticed that Jack left the diner without paying the bill. The only programs I thought were worth watching in the middle of the night were the specials on KQED with John Denver and Glen Campbell. I wonder what happened to John Denver after all those hits in the 1970s. I don’t know what happened to Glen Campbell after “Southern Nights.” Some of the people who died on June 22 include David O. Selznick (1965), Judy Garland (1969), Joseph Losey (1984), Fred Astaire (1987), Pat Nixon (1993), Ann Landers (2002), and George Carlin (2008). Today is a birthday for Bruce Campbell (57), Cyndi Lauper (62), Meryl Streep (66), Lindsay Wagner (66), Todd Rundgren (67), and Kris Kristofferson (79). According to the Brandon Brooks Rewind radio segment for June 22, “The Fall of the House of Usher” was released in 1960. In 1968, Herb Alpert had the Number One single, “This Guy’s in Love with You.” In 1973, David Bowie released his single “Life on Mars?” In 1990, the sequel “RoboCop 2” was released.

This entry was posted in Sports. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

