Inside Out

I went off to work. Some people still wanted to talk to me about the Warriors’ parade on Friday. I was asked if I was going to apply for a promotion. I didn’t see the point of it with all the money I have. I returned home for something to eat, and then I took the buses out to the Grand Lake Theater. I got there in time to catch the 4:30 showing of “Inside Out.” Quite a few children were in the audience. Before the main feature, we saw an animated short called “Lava,” about a lonely volcano. It was rather unusual, and I rather liked it. In “Inside Out,” the main characters are the emotions that live inside the mind of a young girl named Riley. In the early years, Joy is the dominant one. Seeing how kids cry and whine, I thought that Sadness would play a bigger part. I thought that Sadness was more interesting. Joy was like the perky friend who had too much energy. Fear didn’t have a big part. Anger didn’t do much, either. For Riley, she only got sent up to her room by her father. Disgust was Mindy from The Mindy Project. We would see emotions would look different in other people’s minds. The family that we follow moves from Minnesota to San Francisco. This move was reminiscent to me of Ralph Macchio and his mother in “The Karate Kid” moving from New Jersey out to California. They find out that the swimming pool is empty. In this movie, the family sees that their house is small and needs to be fixed up. What we see in this movie is a depiction of the human mind, which I’m not sure is the greatest subject matter for a children’s movie. The characters did a lot of talking, and the children in the audience didn’t understand everything. I think they got bored, in fact. This movie actually took me back to “Fantastic Voyage.” It was like an adventure inside a human being. There were some good ideas, like the Train of Thought and the area for abstract thought. I doubted whether the kids really liked much of this, however. I kept thinking about how Akira Kurosawa said that good movies are easy to watch, and you don’t have to sit out figuring them out to enjoy them. The memories of the mind are encased in spheres like paperweights. I thought it this digital age, physical objects weren’t needed. However, it would make for uninteresting visuals in a movie. One of the things that happens is the development of character, although I don’t know why it takes so long for Joy to let the others do more. Some of the memories get sent down the memory dump, setting up a scene that was something like “Toy Story 3.” The things that happen in the story are conventional, with the family moving across the country, the girl having difficulty in school, and then deciding to run away. I got a bit tired of being inside Riley’s head. We see glimpses of the mother’s and father’s minds. The parents weren’t given any complexity, given what was supposed to going on inside them. I wondered why there wasn’t a brother or sister in this family. After the movie ended, some people commented on the imaginative quality of it. I was glad that Pixar gave us something different this time, even if I couldn’t see the kids getting excited about characters who are emotions. I don’t see “Inside Out” becoming a phenomenon like “Frozen.” I wasn’t very eager to see “Inside Out” a second time. I read that it brought in $90.4 over the weekend. I would think that there will be a substantial drop-off next weekend. I don’t see the word of mouth being positive for this Pixar film. I had thoughts about the beginning of summer as I waited for the bus to take me home. I didn’t want to watch the episodes of The Big Bang Theory, and so I went out to Safeway to buy some groceries. I listened to The Band’s “Rock of Ages” album. Two of the last tracks, “When I Paint My Masterpiece” and “Like a Rolling Stone,” were very good. “In Harm’s Way” was shown twice during the night on television. The game channel 2.4 disappeared from my television for some reason. I had been watching Match Game with George Kennedy, Patty Duke, and Patti Deutsch along with the regulars. I thought I was hearing too much about Taylor Swift in recent days. In the morning news, I saw a report about a fire in Vallejo that was started when a man weld a leaking car gasoline tank. I could not understand what was in this person’s mind. I don’t know how they could still be flying the Confederate flag in South Carolina. I have another phone call to take concerning my money this morning. I’m hoping that I’m achieving some kind of security with all of this investment. Some of the people who died on June 23 include Jonas Salk (1995), Shana Alexander (2005), Aaron Spelling (2006), Ed McMahon (2009), and Peter Falk (2011). Today is a birthday for Joss Whedon (51) and Randy Jackson (59). According to the Brandon Brooks Rewind radio segment for June 23, the mono issue of Ray Charles’ “Modern Sounds in Country and Western Music” reached Number One on the Billboard pop albums chart in 1962. In 1984, the Number One single was Duran Duran’s “The Reflex.” In 1989, “Batman,” directed by Tim Burton and starring Michael Keaton, Kim Basinger, and Jack Nicholson, was released.

This entry was posted in Movies. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

