Hair

I had a long phone conversation that involved transferring money and placing it all into IRA accounts. I was relieved after it was over, and I had lunch and walked into the record store. I bought a Floyd Cramer album, plus The Beatles’ “Live at the BBC” on vinyl. I walked over to the bus stop and took the 12 to the Grand Lake Theater. The ticket seller noticed that I’d been going there often recently. I watched “Mad Max: Fury Road” again, but for the first time in 2D. I did see some details that I hadn’t noticed in previous viewings. I thought about how many times one person spit in another’s face, and how many times someone killed a creature and ate it. I think the answer to both was twice. One person sitting in the row in front of me to my left cheered at some explosions and Furiosa’s final act of violence. This is the only movie I’ve seen so far this year that I would have to have on Blu-ray. I think I could still watch it another four or five times. I took the buses home and watched a bit of Match Game and The Big Bang Theory before the Blu-ray of “Hair.” I have a lot of love for this movie, but for the most part the quality of the Blu-ray didn’t impress me. I saw white specks in the picture in many shots, and there was no way to select a scene. Beverly D’Angelo looked young, although not so young that he had to have her brother drive her around. I noticed how we didn’t hear any wind as she was singing “Good Morning Starshine” in the convertible. Actually, a lot of things don’t make sense, like how people can know all the words to songs that pop into their heads, with the other people knowing all the parts to the songs. Also, there is the ending, and how Claude didn’t get into trouble. I watch this movie and feel its life and wonder why most movies I see today lack any vitality. They don’t try to make you like them. I wonder how young people today would react to the acid trip scene. I would say that my favorite numbers were “I Got Life,” “Hair,” and “White Boys.” I always felt that the movie lost something once it moved out of New York. A military base in Nevada isn’t the greatest setting. Also in those last fifty minutes, we don’t hear as much music. A long time ago, I thought that based on this movie, Treat Williams was going to be a superstar. I thought he would be a bigger star than Tom Cruise. This was one of the best of Milos Forman’s films. It wasn’t as great as “One Flew Over the Cuckoo’s Nest” or “Amadeus,” but I still thought it was excellent. Some of the people who died on June 24 include Grover Cleveland (1908), Jackie Gleason (1987), Brian Keith (1997), David Tomlinson (2000), and Paul Winchell (2005). Today is a birthday for Mindy Kaling (36), Mick Fleetwood (68), Peter Weller (68), and Jeff Beck (71). According to the Brandon Brooks Rewind radio segment for June 24, “Cat Ballou,” starring Jane Fonda, Lee Marvin, Dwayne Hickman, and Nat King Cole, was released in 1965. In 1971, “McCabe and Mrs. Miller,” starring Warren Beatty and Julie Christie, was released. In 2014, Eli Wallach died at age 98.

This entry was posted in Movies. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

