La collectionneuse

I worked on my writing a bit. I have to talk with the financial people twice next week. After I shopped for groceries, I did my laundry. I watched “My Night at Maud’s,” the Eric Rohmer film that some people like. Two of the main characters talked about mathematics, and one of them said it was a meaningless intellectual exercise. I thought the whole movie was centered on human behavior. Mathematics can’t predict the predictable and inconsistent. Not even probability works. Two of the stars of this movie are Jean-Louis Trintignant and Marie-Christine Barrault. This was the kind of movie that you forget after a while because the characters are sitting around talking about themselves a lot. As I watched, I wished that it was in color, as I thought about “Cousin Cousine.” I watched the NUMB3RS episode “Chinese Box” again before I left for work. When I returned home, I saw in my mailbox the Blu-ray copy of “The Confession” and the Super Mario Galaxy 2 video game. The Costa-Gavras film was never available before this Criterion Collection edition, as far as I knew. I watched another Rohmer film, “La collectionneuse.” It seemed like a step towards “Claire’s Knee,” with the young woman and the difference in generations. It was a summer movie, and it was the woman Haydée who crossed paths with an art dealer and his painter friend. They find fault with her even as they have huge flaws in their own character. I didn’t really want to watch 87 minutes of hostility, even if Rohmer was commenting on the male psyche. One of the notable features of the film is Nestor Almendros’ color photography. The disc included a brief recollection from Almendros about the filming. My memory of “Claire’s Knee” was that the photography was extremely impressive. As I watched “La collectionneuse,” I kept feeling that I wanted a break from these characters, some comic relief or some change in the story. The use of narration was heavy, and the ending was explained to us, which I didn’t like much. I preferred the younger French directors. I watched a bit of “Catch-22” on one of the movie channels. It had an impressive cast, with Alan Arkin, Martin Sheen, Orson Welles, Jon Voight, Martin Balsam, and others. I had a restless night with a dream that I was in my brother’s truck, and he was driving. He went into road rage and sped down the freeway, crashing into the back of a car. He was driving like he didn’t care if he lived or died. The police caught up to us, and I yelled out at them to not shoot. This morning I watched part of “The Bedford Incident” with Richard Widmark and Sidney Poitier. It was one of those ship and submarine tales. Martin Balsam, James MacArthur, and Wally Cox were part of the crew. Some of the people who died on June 25 include George Armstrong Custer (1876), Johnny Mercer (1976), Boudleaux Bryant (1987), Jacques Cousteau (1997), John Fiedler (2005), Farrah Fawcett (2009), and Michael Jackson (2009). Today is a birthday for Ricky Gervais (54), Sonia Sotomayor (61), Jimmie Walker (68), Carly Simon (70), and June Lockhart (90). According to the Brandon Brooks Rewind radio segment for June 25, The Beatles reached Number One on the singles chart in 1966 with “Paperback Writer.” In 1976, “The Omen” was released in the United States. In 1983, the “Flashdance” soundtrack album replaced Michael Jackson’s “Thriller” at the Number One position on the Billboard album chart. In 2009, Farrah Fawcett died of cancer at age 62.

This entry was posted in Movies. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

