Big Eyes

I spent the morning getting a Medallion Guarantee stamp on one of my financial documents at my credit union.  I also submitted the paperwork for my teaching assignment for the fall semester.  I took the buses out to The Coffee Mill, where I had a hamburger and a pineapple smoothie.  I listened to the last few innings of the A’s and Rangers on the radio.  I walked over to the Grand Lake Theatre, where I saw “Mad Max: Fury Road” for the second time in three days.  I wanted to know what fell off Max’s head at the beginning of the movie, and I wanted to know how he disappeared into the crowd at the end of the movie.  The man who was sitting in front of me laughed at inappropriate times, which annoyed me greatly.  Furiosa’s screams after hearing the bad news sounded different in the smaller room.  I’m looking forward to the Blu-ray release of this movie.  The afternoon was still warm when I left the theatre.  I got home and watched the news, and then went over to the record store.  I bought a replacement CD of The Replacements, a DVD of “Around the World in 80 Days,” and a Blu-ray of “Jeremiah Johnson.”  I watched the Tim Burton movie “Big Eyes,” starring Amy Adams and Christoph Waltz.  It was a story about Walter Keane taking credit for paintings that his wife created.  It starts off in San Francisco in 1958.  I can see an Amy Adams character fitting right into that setting.  I think that it’s hard to make a story about a painter very interesting for the screen.  I did like “Moulin Rouge” by John Huston.  I kept wondering whether there were personal reasons why Tim Burton made this film.  The one scene that made me question whether Margaret Keane was an idiot was the one in which she didn’t move the cans of turpentine away from the matches.  This film reminded me of “Ed Wood” in the way it dealt with a real person with questionable talent.  We don’t really see how Margaret comes to feel what she feels.  Did she really latch onto Walter that quickly?  Waltz seemed to play these slimy characters so very well, although I did have questions about what Walter’s character was really like.  Usually I hate courtroom scenes, but I think this one was inevitable.  What was really unbelievable was that Walter did a Woody Allen scene from “Bananas” for real.  It seemed like it took a long time for the judge to come to any conclusions or to come up with the solution.  We see what happens to both Walter and Margaret in real life at the end of the movie.  Amy Adams posed for a photo with the actual Margaret Keane.  This wasn’t the greatest accomplishment from Tim Burton.  It is decent as entertainment but not quite so successful as a statement about women.  This was the first Tim Burton movie in years not to feature either Johnny Depp or Helena Bonham Carter.  I don’t know if that is a good thing.  I did read that Burton has a collection of Keane paintings.  One of the songs on the soundtrack was “In My Life,” but not with the Beach Boys performing.  There was also a song called “Big Eyes,” but not by Cheap Trick.  I couldn’t stand the thought of seeing “Sixteen Candles” again, so I didn’t go out to Flashback Feature night.  I played a little bit of Super Mario Galaxy 2, for about twenty minutes, and I defeated Peewee Piranha, who reminds me of Audrey II from “Little Shop of Horrors.”  After hearing the news about the Supreme Court decision on same-sex marriage, I heard the news that Patrick Macnee had died yesterday at age 93.  I still see him on television today almost on a daily basis, so I’m sad to see him go.  Linda Thorson said that he was a nudist.  Some of the people who died on June 26 include James Weldon Johnson (1938), Roy Campanella (1993), Liz Claiborne (2007), and Nora Ephron (2012).  Today is a birthday for Gretchen Wilson (42), Chris Isaak (59), and Mick Jones (60).  According to the Brandon Brooks Rewind radio segment for June 26, “Darby O’Gill and the Little People,” starring Sean Connery, was released in 1959.  In 1964, the Beatles album “A Hard Day’s Night” was released in the United States.  In 1987, “Dragnet,” with Dan Aykroyd and Tom Hanks, was released.

This entry was posted in Movies. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

