Jesse Hahn’s Paving the Way to a Win

It seemed like it was going to be a very hot day. I worked on my writing and got ready to meet with a financial advisor. I named the public library as one of my beneficiaries. I may donate some money to a couple of scholarship funds if I get some more cash. I left early and took BART to the Coliseum. I took my seat, which was in the shade. I had an entire row to myself. I did not get a good look at Walt Weiss, a former A’s player I once saw as a rookie in the same stadium. The radio announcers talked about Sonny Gray’s illness. I’ve been wondering if Ken Korach was ever going to return. The temperature at the first pitch was 73 degrees. Jesse Hahn was the A’s starting pitcher, and he began the game by giving up a walk. The next Rockies batter hit into a double play, with Eric Sogard tagging the runner and then throwing to first base. The third batter hit a foul ball that struck the umpire behind home plate, leading to a delay of about 12 minutes. The umpires worked with a crew of three from that point. I didn’t want to see any delay because I had to go to work before the end of the game. During the break, we saw the shell game and Ask the A’s, which informed us that the player preferred the rewind button to the pause button. We also heard Sam and Dave’s “Soul Man.” Hahn got the third out on a ball hit to Marcus Semien. In the bottom of the inning, Ben Zobrist hit a double with two outs, but Josh Reddick fouled out. Hahn allowed a double to start off the top of the second inning. A fly ball to left field didn’t advance the runner. Eric Sogard picked up a ground ball and threw to home plate for the second out. After a walk, Hahn got a strikeout to end the inning. We heard The Bangles’ “Walk Like an Egyptian.” Billy Butler led off the bottom of the inning by hitting a ball out to left field. The Colorado left fielder ran into the wall, allowing Butler to get all the way to third base for a triple. Given Butler’s slow feet, this was rare. Ike Davis swung at the first pitch he saw and grounded out to first without bringing in Butler. Brett Lawrie walked, and then Eric Sogard hit a fly ball to left that scored the game’s first run, with Lawrie taking second base. Marcus Semien grounded out. In the top of the third inning, Semien made a bad throw for an error. Hahn struck out the next two batters, and then got another ground ball to Semien. There was a moment of suspense before Semien’s throw, but it was the third out. Kara Tsuboi gave an Ashby Lumber gift card to a fan and announced that everyone else in the row would get a gift card if the A’s got a hit in the bottom of the inning. Billy Burns promptly hit a ball down the right field line that went for a triple. It was the second consecutive inning in which an A’s player named Billy B. hit a triple, which doesn’t happen every day. The Rockies brought in their infield, and Stephen Vogt hit the ground ball for a 4-3 out without bringing in the run. Since Vogt is one of the RBI leader in the American League, we wanted him to succeed in this situation. Ben Zobrist followed with another 4-3 out that left Burns at third base, so it was looking like an empty inning. However, Josh Reddick picked up the team with a single that scored what would turn out to be the crucial run of the afternoon. Hahn got two quick outs in the top of the fourth inning, but then gave up two consecutive doubles, which have the Rockies a run. He struck out the next batter to end the inning. This would be the only run Hahn would give up in this game, though. During the inning, a fan was hit in the head with a piece of a bat. In the fifth inning, Billy Burns doubled with one out. After the second out, Zobrist and Reddick both walked to load the bases, and Billy Butler singled to score Burns for a 3-1 lead. In the seventh inning, Zobrist singled and went to second base on an error by the left fielder. Reddick hit a ground ball, and Zobrist took third base on the out. Butler was walked intentionally. Mark Canha hit a fly ball that dropped near the center fielder for one RBI, but Butler was thrown out at second base. The run was the last run scored in the game. Tyler Clippard pitched the ninth inning for the save. The game started at 12:37 and ended at 3:51. Attendance was 17,655. As I left the stadium, one of the security guards said to me, “We’ll see you tomorrow.” She seemed so sure of herself. I hurried away to get some work done. I was hungry and tired after a long day. My work day was over, but I dreaded going to the optometry clinic. I watched a half hour of Match Game. David Doyle, Eva Gabor, and Betty White were three of the celebrities. I caught the sports highlights. The Giants lost on a walk-off home run in Miami, so it was a good day. Gary Radnich mispronounced Mark Canha’s name, which I found immensely annoying. I’m not quite so excited about Sunday’s soccer game because it is still soccer. I saw an Avengers episode called “The White Dwarf.” It had Honor Blackman. I didn’t watch to watch Ben Gazzara in “Run for Your Life.” They established the setting with aerial footage and having Gazzara mention Athens. I thought about Jayne Mansfield in “It Happened in Athens.” That was not a good movie, and it didn’t have enough of Jayne Mansfield in it. Movies like “Donovan’s Reef,” “Easy Rider,” and “In Cold Blood” were on the television during the night. If I had more time, I would have watched them. I mapped out my paydays for the rest of the year and saw that October would be my best month. Some of the people who died on July 2 include Amelia Earhart (1937), Ernest Hemingway (1961), Betty Grable (1973), Franklin J. Schaffner (1989), Lee Remick (1991), Fred Gwynne (1993), James Stewart (1997), Mario Puzo (1999), Jan Murray (2006), and Beverly Sills (2007). Today is a birthday for Lindsay Lohan (29), Larry David (68), and Pierre Cardin (93). According to the Brandon Brooks Rewind radio segment for July 2, “Anatomy of a Murder,” starring James Stewart and Lee Remick, was released in Los Angeles and New York in 1959. In 1977, “Gonna Fly Now (Theme from ‘Rocky’)” by Bill Conti was the Number One single. In 1997, “Men in Black” was released.

This entry was posted in Sports. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

