Evan Scribner’s Disaster

I saw photos of Michelle Griego’s baby and Elizabeth Wenger’s baby on the morning news. I went out to do a bit of grocery shopping, and then I went out to Big 5. I looked at the baseball gloves, scorebooks, and shoes, but I bought only a pump for my basketball and football. I watched the NUMB3RS episode “Power” and the Partridge Family episode “Don’t Bring Your Guns to Town, Santa.” I fell asleep a couple of times before I headed out to the BART station. I arrived at the stadium after the gates had opened. The ticket taker said to me, “Welcome back.” I listened to some Lovin’ Spoonful songs because I was putting together a quiz about the band to one of my friends. After I took my seat, a couple of kids starting yelling at Stephen Vogt for autographs, and they would not stop. Jesse Chavez was the A’s starting pitcher, and he ran into a little bit of trouble when he gave up two singles by the Mariners with two outs in the first inning. Marcus Semien was charged an error in the second inning. However Semien made up for it as he was in the middle of a double play that ended the inning. The A’s looked good in the bottom of the second inning. After Josh Phegley grounded out, Brett Lawrie and Josh Reddick singled. Mark Canha doubled to make the score 2-0. After Marcus Semien grounded out, Billy Burns came up to bat. Burns doubled to make the score 3-0. Chavez couldn’t get the shutdown inning in the top of the third. He gave up a single to a .163 hitter, and then got ambushed on the first pitch with a home run. He would give up two more hits in the inning, but he got another inning-ending double play. Kara Tsuboi played Name That Tune with two fans. The song was Katy Perry’s “Firework.” Chavez pitched clean fourth and fifth innings, and we heard “Superstition” and “Walking on Sunshine.” Some seagulls briefly took the field. With two outs in the sixth inning, Chavez looked like he had some difficulty throwing strikes. He got to a 3-2 count before allowing a single, and then another 3-2 count before surrendering a home run, giving the Mariners a 4-3 lead. The crowd groaned. A strikeout ended the inning. We saw a Big Head race. Dennis Eckersley has been doing well recently, winning this one ahead of Rollie Fingers. Chavez gave up a double to start the seventh inning, signaling that he wasn’t going to remain in the game much longer. A 2-3 out moved the runner to third base, and Bob Melvin brought in Eric O’Flaherty, who managed to get a fly ball to left field without the runner scoring, and then a ground ball to Semien for the last out to keep the score at 4—3. During the seventh inning stretch, we heard Bruce Springsteen’s “Glory Days.” O’Flaherty faced the first batter of the eighth inning and allowed a single. Bob Melvin made the change to Evan Scribner, which didn’t work out. On a 0-2 count, he allowed a home run to centerfield. It didn’t seem likely that the A’s could make up three runs in two innings. Scribner gave up a double to the next batter more finally getting the first out with a ground ball to Lawrie, although the runner took third base. Stephen Vogt committed an error on a ball hit his way to allow another run. Scribner then gave up another two-run home run, making the score 9-3. Far too late, he got the next two batters out to end the inning. Somehow, Scribner managed to pitch a clean inning in the ninth. What was happening with the A’s offense through all this time? After Billy Burns’ double in the second inning through the end of the eighth inning, they managed only a single by Lawrie and a single by Semien, both in the fourth inning. During Burns’ at-bat in the seventh inning, a foul ball came my way, and a girl in front of me attempted to catch it with her bare hand. It landed in the seat next to her, in her little brother’s seat, and some greedy guy grabbed the ball before later giving it to her. In the bottom of the ninth inning, Eric Sogard pinch-hit for Josh Phegley and got a single. Ike Davis pinch-hit for Brett Lawrie and struck out. Reddick singled, and Canha doubled for two runs. Semien and Burns both hit ground balls to shortstop for the outs to end the game. The game time temperature was 72 degrees. The game started at 6:07 and ended at 8:59. Attendance was 35,067, and it was only the second sold out game of the season. I didn’t stick around for the fireworks. I didn’t want to sit around after a loss like that. The A’s had been on the verge of taking over fourth place but instead fell further back. I headed out for the shuttle bus to the BART station. I stopped at La Burrita for a carne asada burrito. I was not planning on doing anything for the Fourth of July other than going to the baseball game. I don’t want to fight the crowds. I think I will eat about 66 fewer hot dogs than Joey Chestnut will today. Perhaps I will listen to the Grateful Dead today. I don’t understand why they were doing their last shows in Chicago. I have only two Grateful Dead albums. Some of those Deadheads look like they weren’t even born in 1995, the year that Jerry Garcia died. If I get back from the game before the record store closes, perhaps I can buy a couple of Blu-ray discs. I don’t know if I want to see “Yankee Doodle Dandy” again. Some of the people who died on July 4 include John Adams (1826), Thomas Jefferson (1826), James Monroe (1831), Marie Curie (1934), Eva Gabor (1995), Charles Kuralt (1997), and Barry White (2003). Today is a birthday for Geraldo Rivera (72), Bill Withers (77), Gina Lollobrigida (88), and Eva Marie Saint (91). According to the Brandon Brooks Rewind radio segment for July 4, Diana Ross began her first solo world concert tour at Giants Stadium in The Meadowlands, New Jersey in 1982. In 1983, Wayne Newton replaced The Beach Boys at an Independence Day celebration. In 1995, Eva Gabor died in Los Angeles of respiratory failure and pneumonia at age 76.

This entry was posted in Sports. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

