Terminator Genisys

It rained during the night. I worked for a few hours on my writing and then went grocery shopping. I listened to Carole King’s “Really Rosie” album and thought back on how I liked “One Was Johnny,” “Alligators All Around,” and “Chicken Soup with Rice.” I took the bus over to the Grand Lake Theatre to catch “Terminator Genisys.” The movie did not attract many people in the afternoon showing. I would hardly call it a good movie, but it wasn’t as bad as I thought it would be from seeing the trailer. It blended characters we saw in the first two Terminator movies and had a plot that was foolish and that I didn’t want to understand. The special effects were generally OK, but a couple of sequences were really horrible. James Cameron would have known what to do. This felt like the Cannon Films version of The Terminator. The young woman who played the Linda Hamilton part was Emilia Clarke. She didn’t have as strong a presence as Linda Hamilton did years ago. Arnold Schwarzenegger showed that he may be too old for these action pictures. His attempts at humor made me wince. His involvement in politics has changed my view of him. I noticed that again San Francisco is the scene of the action, as in “San Andreas” and the Planet of the Apes movies. The Golden Gate Bridge doesn’t get destroyed this time. There were some references to the old Terminator movies that I didn’t catch. It all made me feel like this movie was made for a club of people who were familiar with everything. Sarah was nine years old in 1973, meaning that she was 20 in 1984, which was the present at the beginning of the movie. I cared more about the past in this movie than the present or the future. I guess they had to introduce the concept of an alternate past and alternate future because the big disaster hasn’t happened yet. The ideas seem all geared to set up a new series of movies rather than giving up something imaginative and fresh. I feel that I have to note that during the end credits, there is a bit of a setup for the next movie, if it’s ever going to be made. I’m finding it hard to believe that these Terminator movies will continue, unless someone comes up with a new approach to the whole Terminator world. I don’t think I knew anyone in the cast outside of Arnold. I don’t think this is a starmaking movie, either. “Jurassic World” was wacky, too, but it did have Chris Pratt, and dinosaurs don’t age the way that Arnold has. Was this movie worse than the third Terminator movie? Well, the third Terminator movie was so forgettable that I don’t remember what happened in most of it, but my answer would be yes. I thought that Emilia Clarke was a potential star. She reminded me of Christina Ricci. I have never watched Game of Thrones. If Arnold says anywhere that he is proud of this movie, he would have to be lying. I wanted to see “Ted 2” to decide if the Terminator movie was better. I don’t know if today’s movie audiences have any sense. I paid only six dollars for the 3D showing, but if I had paid the regular admission, I would have been angry at seeing such a messy movie. I have the first Terminator movie on Blu-ray, but I wasn’t anxious to see it again. Arnold was in better days as a movie star in those days. It was before we got tired of him as a governor. It’s fun to see him in those appearances in the 1970s. I didn’t think it was a great idea to have Sarah listening to the Ramones on cassette. I thought she was supposed to like Elton John. It was raining outside as I waited for the bus to take me home. I watched the news and was very sad that Ken Stabler had died. He didn’t live to see 70. We were told that his family was at his side in his last moments, and he listened to Lynyrd Skynyrd’s “Sweet Home Alabama.” I went into the record store and bought used copies of the Playstation game Final Fantasy VII and also Madonna’s “True Blue” album. I thought about how I might like to have the All in the Family series on DVD. Also, I’d like to have those remastered Bruce Springsteen albums. I think that I would really like to hear “Darkness on the Edge of Town” and “Nebraska” in their new editions. I looked at one of the financial statements I received in the mail. I played some Super Mario Galaxy 2 and found a comet medal after a few tries. Betty White was on the James Corden show. I couldn’t stay awake for it, though. I wanted to see the Minions movie this weekend. I also wanted to go out to Barnes and Noble to catch the Criterion Collection sale. It seems that “Ted 2” has disappeared from some theatres already. It seems that this weekend is not a good one for new releases. Perhaps I will go out to see “Jurassic World” again. The Grand Lake Theatre opened in 1926. I would rather go there than to Jack London Square. I wasn’t too enthusiastic about going to work this morning. It looked like rain was going to fall on us. The early morning news was showing the removal of the Confederate flag. Some of the people who died on July 10 include Jelly Roll Morton (1941), Arthur Fiedler (1979), and Mel Blanc (1989). Today is a birthday for Sofia Vergara (43), Arlo Guthrie (68), and Jake LaMotta (94). According to the Brandon Brooks Rewind radio segment for July 10, Jelly Roll Morton died of heart failure at age 50 in 1941. In 1965, the Rolling Stones had the Number One single, “(I Can’t Get No) Satisfaction.” In 1970, “They Call Me Mister Tibbs!” was released. In 1981, “Escape from New York” was released. In 1995, Hugh Grant appeared on the Tonight Show after his arrest with a prostitute.

This entry was posted in Movies. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

