Singin’ in the Rain

I had to go to work. I had a discussion with a woman about summer school. I didn’t want to teach summers anymore because of the stress and aggravation. There is a point at which the money is not worth it. I didn’t want to stay for the full day, and I was disappointed that I was missing both Comic-Con and “Minions.” Two people during the day commented on the Star Wars shirt I was wearing. Afterwards, the bus took me out to Emeryville, where I browsed through Barnes and Noble. I was there for the Criterion Collection sale, and I decided the best choice was “A Hard Day’s Night.” Back at home, I watched the Partridge Family episode “Where Do Mermaids Go?” Meredith Baxter was the guest, and the featured song was “It’s Time That I Knew You Better.” I decided to watch the Blu-ray disc of “Singin’ in the Rain.” It seemed that the picture quality was better and sharper than on the last DVD that I saw. It seemed apparent with the way the actors’ faces looked. One thing I noticed was the trees in the wind in the shot where Don Lockwood is a stunt man. You can tell there is a cut just before the explosion. I liked most of the songs, except for “Beautiful Girl.” It’s the only one not sung by a principal character. I guess another flaw is that “Make ‘Em Laugh” is too much like Cole Porter’s “Be a Clown.” The notion that 1:30 was the morning for “Good Morning” was a bit of a stretch. It was setting up the next scene, which took place at night. I was not too impressed with Cosmo’s idea for the storyline for the musical. It was cooked up in a moment, and the studio head instantly said it was a great idea. I thought about how much I missed Gene Kelly, especially when he was so funny during “Moses Supposes.” In the past, I always noticed some sort of awkward cut or missing piece during the first shot of Cyd Charisse. That appeared to be fixed with this edition, although I would like to look at that moment more closely. One of the very funny scenes that I still enjoy is that first day of shooting with sound. The cast was great, and I keep thinking of how good Jean Hagen and Millard Mitchell were. My favorite songs in the movie are “All I Do is Dream of You,” “You Were Meant for Me,” and “You Are My Lucky Star.” I enjoyed this combination of music and dancing much more than “Oklahoma!” I did wonder how a struggling actress like Kathy could afford her own car. She seemed too willing to sacrifice for the sake of the movie studio. I doubted that many actresses in Hollywood would be like that. I liked the part where she claimed she was a stage actress, and Don asked her what parts she played. I associate this movie with “Crimes and Misdemeanors.” I’m not sure you would need a copy of this movie on film if you own this Blu-ray edition. I could watch this movie over and over again. Donald O’Connor was great with his dancing, which I questioned his ability as a conductor. Debbie Reynolds was very funny in the scene where she suggests new careers for Don. I kept thinking about how this movie showed Hollywood tricks with dubbing voices, and this was years before we saw Natalie Wood in “West Side Story” and Audrey Hepburn in “My Fair Lady.” I’m not sure the resolution with Lina was a true solution because it seemed that she was just embarrassed. I thought she was going to retaliate with a lawsuit. One good thing about the movie is that it wasn’t a lumbering epic with an overture, intermission, and exit music. Stanley Donen would have several more good movies in him. I liked “Charade,” “Two for the Road,” and “Movie Movie.” One of my few firsthand memories of Gene Kelly was “Xanadu.” That was the end for him. I’ll always enjoy watching “An American in Paris” and “Singin’ in the Rain.” I was hungry at 10:30, and so I went out to buy a pollo asado burrito. I heard about the death of Omar Sharif. I remember him talking about gambling. I don’t think I could stand it if I lost as much money as he did. I associate him with “Lawrence of Arabia,” “Doctor Zhivago,” and “Funny Girl.” He lived a pretty long life. I spent about an hour playing Super Mario Galaxy 2. I was looking for a Comet Medal but did not spot it. I fell asleep while listening to the soundtrack album to “Il Postino.” I watched Penn and Teller on CBS This Morning. They did a card trick with 19 cards and the ten of hearts. Leon Bridges was the Saturday Sessions guest. Next week we’ll see The Hot Sardines. I was thinking of going out to see “Minions,” and then visit the Barnes and Noble store in El Cerrito to see what they had on their shelves. The A’s are in Cleveland, and they won’t have a home game until next Friday, after the All-Star Game. I don’t know if I want to plan that trip to Cleveland next year. Are there more reasons to visit the city in the summer besides the Indians and the Rock and Roll Hall of Fame? I woke up hungry this morning. I had a bowl with shredded wheat with raisins. NBC was covering the Tour de France. H.R. Pufnstuf was on one of the channels, but I couldn’t stand sitting around watching it. Some of the people who died on July 11 include George Gershwin (1937), Robert Ryan (1973), Ross Macdonald (1983), Laurence Olivier (1989), and Lady Bird Johnson (2007). Today is a birthday for Mark Lester (57) and Giorgio Armani (81). According to the Brandon Brooks Rewind radio segment for July 11, “Alley Oop” by the Hollywood Argyles was the Number One single in 1960. In 1969, the Rolling Stones released their single “Honky Tonk Women” in the United States. In 1970, “Mama Told Me (Not to Come)” by Three Dog Night was the Number One single. In 1973, the John Wayne movie “Cahill U.S. Marshal” was released. Today is also a birthday for Tab Hunter, who is 84.

This entry was posted in Movies. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

