The Adventures of Baron Munchausen

One of the morning shows yesterday was going to feature a discussion of the new Harper Lee novel. Now I’m not sure that I want to read it. I went to work and heard someone say that he saw Stephen Curry out in the Rockridge district putting some change in a parking meter. We had a breakdown of one of our machines, which made the day a bit more difficult. I went home to take a nap and watch “The Adventures of Baron Munchausen.” Years ago, this movie seemed incredibly impressive with its visuals. This Blu-ray disc was pretty good, but not really a knockout. I thought that some scenes could have been trimmed, and the story takes a while to get going. John Neville was Munchausen, and I thought he played his part very well. I thought Jonathan Pryce was not the best fit in his role, even though he worked with Terry Gilliam before with “Brazil.” At various times, this movie did remind me of previous the previous Gilliam films “Time Bandits” and “Brazil.” The part of the movie that I enjoyed most started with the hot air balloon and ended with the appearance of the big fish. I noticed that they never showed the making of the balloon. In the Gilliam world, things happen instantly. Robin Williams had one of those freewheeling appearances. He didn’t do much physical comedy because it was mostly only his head that we saw. I might have preferred Sean Connery in the role because he was also in “Time Bandits,” but Connery withdrew. I noticed some sexual references, but I didn’t know quite what the point was. Uma Thurman sure looked different in those early days. I kept looking at her face. Her entrance in one scene was a famous Botticelli image. I liked how Gilliam tried to give us something interesting to look at in almost every shot. Sting made a brief appearance that I had totally forgotten about. Oliver Reed was an actor who fit right into the Gilliam world perfectly. I thought back on how he lived for only ten more years after this movie was made. Eric Idle was Berthold, who was like The Flash. He did a couple of things that I’m not sure made sense. I thought the ending had a bit too much going on. The movie looked like it was expensive to make, and I had been involved with the production, I would question the potential success of a movie called “The Adventures of Baron Munchausen.” I couldn’t see kids wanted to rush out and see it. I wondered how they did things with Munchausen’s horse. Some shots looked like they were tough for the actors. Sarah Polley was nine years old, and hated the experience of filming, with all the explosions. I liked some of the special effects, like what the moon looked like. I wished the movie had been more fun to watch, like “Time Bandits.” One of the special features of the disc was a documentary on the making of the film. I might watch it someday, but I was too tired for it last night. I liked “The Fisher King,” but I haven’t been excited by anything Terry Gilliam has done for years. The high definition made a difference in a lot of shots, although I have seen a lot of Blu-ray discs I have liked more. I never saw “The Zero Theorem.” I saw episodes of “Gunsmoke,” “Kung Fu,” and “Love, American Style,” all with Harrison Ford as a guest star. He was working as a carpenter when he was auditioning for movies in his early days. Some of the dialogue he had to speak was not too good. I saw that he was also in “Ironside,” “Mod Squad,” and “The F.B.I.” I stayed up to watch the sports highlights. I don’t know what has happened to all of the late night talk shows. I don’t think I like any of them. Jimmy Kimmel had Wanda Sykes for a guest, while Jimmy Fallon had Paul Rudd. I don’t know that $3.8 million is enough of a reward for El Chapo. If he can escape from a supposedly secure prison, I have no confidence in the people trying to find him now. With Sonny Gray not available to pitch in tonight’s All-Star Game, I am not so enthusiastic about watching it. Some of the people who died on July 14 include Billy the Kid (1881), Adlai Stevenson (1965), and Meredith MacRae (2000). Today is a birthday for Jane Lynch (55) and Tommy Mottola (66). According to the Brandon Brooks Rewind radio segment for July 14, Alfred Hitchcock’s “Torn Curtain,” starring Paul Newman and Julie Andrews, was released in 1966. In 1977, Elvis Costello and the Attractions played their first live show at The Garden in Penzance, England. In 1979, Donna Summer’s “Bad Girls” was the Number One single. In 1995, “Nine Months,” starring Hugh Grant and Julianne Moore, was released.

This entry was posted in Movies. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

