Gone with the Wind

I waited for a phone call from my financial advisor, but it never came. I think there was a misunderstanding. I sat around watching “Gone with the Wind” again, although for the first time on Blu-ray. The edition didn’t have the rich color that I remembered from years past. This was the first time I saw the movie since I read the novel. It was pretty impressive how much of the novel was captured in the four hours. I’m not too sure that Vivien Leigh was the best choice for Scarlett O’Hara. I thought it was funny that one of her marriage lasted a matter of seconds of screen time. Was the Klan or slavery explicitly mentioned in the dialogue? In some ways, I preferred the pace of the movie over the pages of Scarlett’s schemes. What didn’t come across in the movie was Scarlett’s boredom with Ashley’s ideals. I guess you can’t really show the hunger and desperation of the days after the end of the Civil War. I thought about the rice in “Seven Samurai.” We don’t really see how hard Scarlett works to get the mill business going. I thought about how people must be viewing this movie in light of the recent controversy about the Confederate flag. I know that I don’t want to see the novel or the movie banned anywhere in the country. I think people should decide for themselves what they think. How are people going to develop critical thought if everyone else is telling them what to think? I remember Clark Gable mostly for “It Happened One Night” and “The Misfits,” besides this movie. “Gone with the Wind” had to be his greatest moment. I thought one of his best scenes was his dealing with Bonnie’s fear of the dark. I also liked his scene in prison. Like many people, I started feeling impatient with the movie during the last hour. The story loses its momentum once the Civil War ends. It becomes just a story about four people. I couldn’t believe that Scarlett had her accident seconds later she told Rhett about her pregnancy. “Gone with the Wind” was released eight years before Jackie Robinson first played for the Brooklyn Dodgers. Scarlett slaps one of the slaves. I thought I heard one of the house slaves say that they were house workers. Did anyone mention the death of Abraham Lincoln? I am amazed that anyone from a movie made in 1939 could still be alive, but Olivia de Havilland is that person. I could see women like Melanie existing in the South in 1865, but I’m not sure that Olivia de Havilland could really be one of them. I also couldn’t really see how Scarlett could be in love with someone like Leslie Howard. I still like the movie. Victor Fleming’s last film was “Joan of Arc” with Ingrid Bergman in 1948. Vivien suffered from bipolar disorder and tuberculosis, and she died at only 53 in 1967. Clark Gable reportedly disliked “Gone with the Wind” for being a woman’s picture. I can see why he might think that, because Scarlett is the center of the movie. Well, it is based on a novel that was written by a woman. Margaret Mitchell would not have written a good book all about Rhett Butler. It takes more than four hours to watch this movie with an intermission. I wonder what the audiences back in 1939 did during the break. Clark Gable was only 59 when he died in 1960. Max Steiner composed the scores for not only “Gone with the Wind,” but also “King Kong” and “Casablanca.” He lived to the age 83 in 1971. Besides “Gone with the Wind,” Margaret wrote stories called “Lost Laysen,” “The Big Four,” and “’Ropa Carmagin.” Mitchell was struck by a car as she crossed Peachtree Street in Atlanta as she and her husband were on their way to see the movie “A Canterbury Tale.” She died on August 16, 1949 at age 48. The driver of the car, Hugh Gravitt, died in 1994 at age 73. A couple of interesting facts about “A Canterbury Tale” are that it was released in the UK in August 1944 and in the US in January 1949, and the director was Michael Powell. Looking through IMDB, I read through the continuity errors and other mistakes in “Gone with the Wind.” I noticed almost none of them while actually watching the movie, although I did detect something curious about the shadows of Scarlett and Melanie on the wall. It seemed like a Marx Brothers comedy for a while. I took the bus out to Emeryville so that I could shop at Target. My shopping list included Tide detergent, Crest toothpaste, and college ruled notebooks. I went over to the Grand Lake Theatre to see “Inside Out” again. It was $5 day, so I had to see something. I think I noticed the reference to “Chinatown” in one scene. I took the bus back to watch the All-Star Game. The score was 1-1 when I got home, and I saw that Clayton Kershaw gave up the critical runs leading to the American League win. I watched the program to the point where Mike Trout claimed his truck. I didn’t want to hear from Pete Rose. I was almost out of food, so I went out to have a turkey burger. I saw Tom Dreesen, Debralee Scott, and Joyce Bulifant on Match Game. Tom Dreesen is 72 years old now. I didn’t catch his appearance in “Trouble with the Curve.” I didn’t know that Debralee Scott had died in 2005 at only 52. She was in “American Graffiti.” Joyce Bulifant was married to James MacArthur. This morning’s news about Iran and Greece left me skeptical about both situations. I wanted to see more of the images coming back from Pluto. I guess like many others, I am wondering whether Pluto could be considered a planet once again. One thing I didn’t do yesterday was buy a copy of the Harper Lee book. Since she is now 89 years old, I’m wondering whether she truly wanted to see this book published. I still have a bit of the summer left if I want to read it. Some of the people who died on July 15 include Anton Chekhov (1904), Margaret Lockwood (1990), Bert Convy (1991), and Celeste Holm (2012). Today is a birthday for Forest Whitaker (54), Ariana Huffington (65), Linda Ronstadt (69), and Millie Jackson (71). According to the Brandon Brooks Rewind radio segment for July 15, Elton John reached Number One on the album chart with ”Honky Chateau” in 1972. In 1983, “Staying Alive” was released. In 1988, “A Fish Called Wanda,” starring John Cleese, Jamie Lee Curtis, and Kevin Kline, was released. In 1994, “True Lies,” starring Arnold Schwarzenegger and Jamie Lee Curtis, was released.

This entry was posted in Movies. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

