Groundhog Day

I looked for eyeglass frames on the Internet and then went out to do my laundry. I watched game shows on television and fell asleep. At the record store, I browsed and bought a John Lennon CD box set and the X album “See How We Are.” I wasn’t quite ready to buy the All in the Family box set. I went out to the theatre for the Flashback Feature, which was “Groundhog Day.” This was supposed to be the perfect comedy, according to my movie guide, and its concept has become part of the English language. Bill Murray still had some of that energy of the Saturday Night Live days. We never get an explanation of why he gets stuck in this small town and relives the same day over and over. It’s just as well, because no explanation would be convincing. I don’t know why Andie MacDowell was cast in the main female role of Rita, but she was more likable than she was in other movies, like “Greystoke.” Chris Elliott was also in this movie as a news cameraman. I thought the movie took a long time to really get going, and I’m not sure we wanted to see some parts of the day repeated even once. I wondered how many times Phil relived the same day, because he really developed some skills, like playing the piano. There are big limitations in only having one day to do things before the town is completely reset to the tune of Sonny and Cher’s “I Got You Babe.” At six o’clock, we hear “Then put your little hand in mine.” It seemed that Phil could have found some way out, but he uses his time to try to win over a couple of women, and to attempt suicide. I thought the funniest moment was the point where Phil started to speak French. I’m not sure I accept the idea that this ordeal turns Phil into a better person. The most unbelievable change was with the insurance salesman. After the movie ended, I heard a couple of people behind me agree that the movie held up well over the years. There aren’t too many comedies that you can watch more than once, and I’m not sure this is one of them, which is odd considering what the movie is about. Do television stations still use blue screens? I thought Murray did a good job of pretending to be a weatherman. I now wonder if it’s easy to do the job that Roberta Gonzales has. I like “Groundhog Day,” but not more than “What About Bob?” Bill Murray has been into a lot of good movies after he left Saturday Night Live, partly because of Wes Anderson. The movie ended at 10:46, and I got home at 11:05. Jimmy Kimmel’s show was a rerun. He had someone reporting from a Warriors game. Some of the people who died on July 17 include James Whistler (1903), Robert Wiene (1938), Billie Holiday (1959), Ty Cobb (1961), Harry Guardino (1995), Geraldine Fitzgerald (2005), Mickey Spillane (2006), and Walter Cronkite (2009). Today is a birthday for David Hasselhoff (63), Lucie Arnaz (64), Diahann Carroll (80), and Donald Sutherland (80). According to the Brandon Brooks Rewind radio segment for July 17, “High Society,” starring Frank Sinatra, Grace Kelly, Bing Crosby, and Louis Armstrong, was released in 1956. In 1967, John Coltrane died of cancer at age 40. Also in 1967, The Beatles released their single “All You Need is Love” in the United States. In 1987, “RoboCop” was released.

This entry was posted in Movies. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

