Scott Kazmir’s Departure and Dan Otero’s Loss

I couldn’t fix the problem with the antivirus software, so I had to leave it behind for at least one day. I looked for items on Amazon and bought the Partridge Family Game and an Ape Escape video game. I’ve gone too far away from the Beatles memorabilia. I found a package from UPS on my door. It had football tickets inside. I took the bus to the MacArthur BART station and made it out to the Coliseum. I got there before all the children began to arrive. On the radio I heard the news that the A’s had traded Scott Kazmir to the Houston Astros for two minor league players. It sure seemed like a sign that the playoff hopes for this team were gone. What is the quality of the rest of the games going to be like? The giveaway was a Bert Campaneris button. I took a look around a couple of the team stores in search of a jacket. I overheard two employees talk about saying goodbye to Kazmir. I thought about buying a hot dog, but I’d been spending too much money in recent days, so I just went to my seat. Nobody else took a seat in my row for a long time. I think I fell asleep for about ten minutes. We got to hear the Canadian national anthem because the Toronto Blue Jays were the visiting team, but it was a recorded version. Kazmir was originally scheduled to be the starting pitcher for the A’s for this game, but now the team was going with Drew Pomeranz. R.A. Dickey was the pitcher for the Blue Jays, and he had only a 3-10 record with a 4.70 ERA. Pomeranz walked the first batter of the game, but then got the next three out. He gave up a single to the first batter in the top of the second inning, and then he gave up a home run, making the score 2-0. He got the next two batters out, but then Bob Melvin took him out of the game. Apparently, Pomeranz was only going to throw 45-50 pitches. Dan Otero came in and got a ground ball for the last out. The A’s scored in the third inning. Marcum Semien doubled, and Billy Burns singled for one run. The little kids surrounding me yelled out about how much they loved Billy Burns. Stephen Vogt singled, and Burns went all the way to third base. Zobrist flied out to right field, but the ball wasn’t deep enough to score Burns. Reddick drove in the run, although it was on a 4-3 out. Butler struck out for the second time to end the inning. Otero couldn’t produce the shutdown inning in the fourth, as the Blue Jays got two consecutive doubles with two outs to take a 3-2 lead. In the top of the fifth inning, Otero again got the first two batters out before coughing up a run, this time on a home run. Leon got the last out. Leon allowed one run in the sixth inning on a double, a 4-3 ground ball, and a sacrifice fly to right field. He then gave up two singles, but got the last out on a foul ball to Reddick. Leon pitched two innings to get through the eighth inning. On offense, the A’s were quiet from the fourth through the eighth inning. They managed only two hits, a Reddick single in the sixth inning, and a Burns double in the eighth. During the seventh inning stretch, we heard Taylor Swift’s “Shake It Off.” Eric O’Flaherty came in to pitch the top of the ninth inning. The radio announcers did say that this was going to be a bullpen game. O’Flaherty was attempting to lower his 6.50 ERA, and he did it with a clean inning. Behind 5-2, it didn’t seem likely that the A’s could make up three runs in one inning. Reddick hit a fly ball to center for the first out in the bottom of the ninth inning. Butler managed to get on base when he was hit by a pitch. Ike Davis was the hero in the tenth inning on Wednesday, but this afternoon, he went 0-for-4 and hit into the double play that ended the game. The game began at 12:37 and ended at 3:03. The game time temperature was 64 degrees. Attendance was 19,045. The A’s record on the homestand was only 3-3, which was evidence that the A’s were not in real contention for the playoffs. On this homestand, I got a Hello Kitty bobblehead and got hit in the face with a foul ball. I got autographs from Tony Phillips and Vida Blue. I had to check my schedule to see if I would be able to make it to Mark McGwire Bobblehead Day. When I got home, I took a shower and watched Match Game. I went into the record store and bought the new edition of Led Zeppelin’s “Physical Graffiti” and a Nintendo DS game. I went out to the theatre to see “Fight Club.” I thought that one of the unusual sights was Edward Norton using a public pay phone. I think that this movie isn’t as good in repeated viewings. I thought the acts of protest through vandalism and destruction were rather chilling in light of things that have happened since this movie was originally released. The movie attracted a large crowd. One of the girls near me said that she didn’t like it. I thought that Brad Pitt and Meat Loaf were pretty good in this movie. I thought of “A Clockwork Orange” as I was watching it. I walked home and caught Jimmy Kimmel’s This Week in Unnecessary Censorship. I saw a commercial for the Woody Allen film “Irrational Man.” I need to find a movie besides “Trainwreck” that I can go out to see this weekend. I’m not even sure that I want to see “Vacation” when it opens next week. I can see “Minions” one more time. The episode of The Avengers had Honor Blackman in it instead of Diana Rigg. I see this morning that I’ll have to take the bus into San Francisco to see “Irrational Man” this weekend. I think I might as well do it as long as I have this Friday off. Some of the people who died on July 24 include Martin Van Buren (1862), Peter Sellers (1980), Isaac Bashevis Singer (1991), Virginia Christie (1996), Chad Everett (2012), and Sherman Hemsley (2012). Today is a birthday for Lynda Carter (64), Michael Richards (66), and Ruth Buzzi (79). According to the Brandon Brooks Rewind radio segment for July 24, “Blow-Out” with John Travolta was released in 1981. In 1982, Survivor’s “Eye of the Tiger” was Number One on the singles chart. In 1992, “Mo’ Money” was released. In 2012, Sherman Hemsley, known for the role of George Jefferson on television, died of lung cancer at age 74.

This entry was posted in Sports. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

