The Omen

I woke up and saw the chef segment of CBS This Morning. Some of Jonathan Waxman’s signature dishes were NY steak with corn and tomatoes with romesco salsa, JW potatoes, cauliflower gratin, wilted rainbow chard, Heather’s pistachio layer cake with vanilla butter cream and fresh raspberries, and Bud’s cocktail. I went over to the coffee shop for a mango smoothie, and I checked the playlist for this weekend’s American Top 40 program. The Top 10 songs on July 21, 1979 were “She Believes in Me,” “Gold,” “Shine a Little Love,” “I Want You to Want Me,” “Boogie Wonderland,” “Makin’ It,” “Good Times,” “Hot Stuff,” “Ring My Bell,” and “Bad Girls.” I put in five hours of work and felt tired. We had a discussion about Mel Brooks movies. I really liked “The Twelve Chairs,” “The Producers,” and “Young Frankenstein.” I went over to the California Theatre to see “Mad Max: Fury Road” again. I thought I was getting to understand the visual elements and the use of music a little bit more. I thought that the final shot of the movie was a great one. I returned home to see that “The Big Bang Theory” was not shown in its regular time slot, so I brought out the DVD of “The Omen.” I had not seen it at all for all these years. I found it rather hard to believe that Gregory Peck would appear in a movie with this subject matter. I guess that if Richard Burton could be in the Exorcist sequel, anybody could appear in anything. I thought that Peck gave a good performance, considering the stupidity of the movie as a whole. I wouldn’t know if it’s difficult to act in some of these odd movies. In these horror movies, you’re sure to see characters whose actions make no sense. In “The Omen,” we see a priest who can’t articulate simple thoughts and who raves on about accepting Christ like a lunatic. You’d like that a person who has lived a while can calm down and spit out a few clear sentences. Peck should have known that something was really wrong with this woman he allowed into his house, acting all creepy and allowing a strange dog to come inside. Why is it that any fool can see what’s wrong, but none of the characters in the movie can? I almost laughed when Peck and the photographer visited the cemetery at night. I thought that Lee Remick was pretty good in this movie. I miss watching women like her in the movies. It made me groan that she was protective of Damien after he threw a tantrum when they went to church. There wasn’t too much of a mystery about what was going on, but it took Peck nearly the entire movie to figure it out. I thought that the last confrontation was rather tense and scary. I found it hard to believe that so many of the main characters would die. There were survivors in “The Exorcist” and “Jaws.” Lee Remick’s character had to suffer a lot of physical pain. I found it difficult to watch. You really can never make a deal with the devil. I’ve seen so many of terrible movies about the supernatural that I’ve been sick of them for years. “The Omen” was better than average, and I’ll give Richard Donner the credit for it. I think he really knew how to make a film. I think the premise is effective for this one movie, but I couldn’t imagine that a sequel would have any worthwhile qualities. I kept thinking about the Gregory Peck I knew from “Roman Holiday” and “To Kill a Mockingbird.” I remember 1976 for “Rocky,” not a movie like “The Omen.” Horror is not my favorite genre. I don’t want to spend two hours watching a movie to feel disturbed and frightened. I don’t want to see pain, fear, and death. I felt sad about how distant the 1970s have become. The DVD had a bonus disc and a lot of special features, but I felt that I had spent enough time watching and thinking about the movie. I watched the Star Trek episode “That Which Survives.” The guest star was Lee Meriwether. I thought her eye makeup should have been simpler. Spock was getting rather testy with the other crew members. I didn’t think that he would make a good starship captain. The ending was pretty sad. I saw a commercial for “These Are the Voyages.” I think that I would like reading all of this stuff. I remember how my brother used to have a paperback book with a guide to all the Star Trek episodes. I have only the third season on DVD. How many cast members have died? The movies on KQED were “Kramer vs. Kramer” and “The Last Picture Show.” They were both good movies, but I thought that only “The Last Picture Show” was a movie for a Saturday night. I had a plan to go out to see “Trainwreck” this afternoon. I haven’t been out to Jack London Square in a while. The East Bay Express came out with their annual Best of the East Bay edition this week, and they mentioned the Grand Lake Theatre as a good place to see a movie. “Trainwreck” is not showing at the Grand Lake Theatre, however. I thought about seeing “The Third Man.” Maybe I’ll see it after work on Monday. I wonder if it’s worth it to see it again. When was the last time I saw a black and white film in the movie theatre? “Frances Ha” was in black and white. I watched Family Feud. One family didn’t understand the concept of a tropical fruit, giving answers like grapes, apples, and peaches. “Stalag 17” was the midnight movie, but I was getting too drowsy to stay up and watch it again. It was one of my favorite Billy Wilder films. I would rather watch it than “Double Indemnity.” “Black Widow” was on another channel, but it wasn’t the movie with Theresa Russell. I didn’t think that Saturday Night Live would be worth watching. Some of the people who died on July 26 include Evita Peron (1952), Diane Arbus (1971), Mary Wells (1992), and Merce Cunningham (2009). Today is a birthday for Kevin Spacey (56), Dorothy Hamill (59), Helen Mirren (70), and Mick Jagger (72). According to the Brandon Brooks Rewind radio segment for July 26, Motown Records released Smokey Robinson and the Miracles’ “Mickey’s Monkey” in 1963. In 1975, Van McCoy’s “The Hustle” was Number One on the singles chart. In 1985, “Pee-Wee’s Big Adventure” was released. In 1991, Pee-Wee Herman was arrested for indecent exposure in Sarasota, Florida.

This entry was posted in Movies. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

