Trainwreck

I watched Roberta Gonzales interview the author of “The Florentine Deception,” and then I sat down for CBS Sunday Morning. My mother phoned me earlier than I expected and talked about shredding documents. I went grocery shopping, and then I took the bus out to Jack London Square. I was there to see “Trainwreck.” I fell asleep a few minutes before the trailers began, so I didn’t notice most of the people making their way into the theatre. Some person decided to take the seat right next to me to my right, which made me feel a little bit uncomfortable, and I think he also had bad breath. I had to wonder if John Russell Houser thought this movie was an example of the moral decay he saw, and if he targeted the people in the audience for that reason. I didn’t see this as an amoral movie just because it discusses and shows sex openly. It probably doesn’t do anything good as far as stereotypes of American women go in the eyes of audiences abroad. I didn’t quite find it hilarious because there was too much pain and discomfort in everything. It made me think of movies like “Nights of Cabiria,” “The Man Who Loved Women,” and “I Am a Sex Addict.” Amy Schumer played a character named Amy. She had a job that seemed like it was headed for extinction, a writer for a magazine. I guess that Amy in real life must write if she’s credited with the script for this movie, but I was not impressed with the writing she was supposedly doing. I thought the girl who played the nine-year-old Amy was good, although she just had one line that she kept repeating. Amy’s father was a Mets fan, reminding me of Jack Klugman in “The Odd Couple.” There was one bit with a movie within the movie that had Daniel Radcliffe and Marisa Tomei that I thought it was funny, although that was reminiscent of some Seinfeld episodes. Bill Hader was the love interest, a sports surgeon named Aaron who is friendly with LeBron James and Amar’e Stoudemire. I kept wondering where Stephen Curry was, and I couldn’t stand the focus on the Knicks. LeBron wasn’t a brilliant actor, and he did not make me believe that he was a viewer of “Downton Abbey,” but he was better than Kareem Abdul-Jabbar in “Airplane!” When he told Aaron that he should visit him in Cleveland, I thought about whether or not I should visit Cleveland next year. Somehow, I could not believe that Aaron would work with Billy Joel’s “Uptown Girl” blasting away in the room, and I had to think that there would be some kind of payoff with the tune, almost like “All Time High” in “Ted.” There was a parody of “Manhattan” in there, although you just can’t recreate Gordon Willis’ cinematography. A lot of people in the theatre laughed loudly all during the movie. Jokes about sex aren’t automatically funny, just like jokes about farting and jokes about white people vs. black people aren’t automatically funny. People were won over by Amy Schumer before they even stepped in the theatre. I felt that she had to prove to me that she was funny before I would laugh. I didn’t laugh during “Borat.” I think that audiences generally have a juvenile sense of humor. I’d like to hear Amy Schumer and Judd Apatow talk about the scene in the movie theatre in which the black couple is disturbed by the white couple talking too loudly. I’d like to know what point they were trying to make there. The sight of a person’s face pressed against someone else’s chest makes me think of Fellini’s “Amarcord.”  Is a comparison of Judd Apatow to Fellini stretching things too much?  I don’t know how Amy could learn a dance routine in a short amount of time. I appreciated how there was a gender role reversal at the end with the woman trying to impress the man in front of a crowd of people. What is a romantic comedy without one of these scenes? I was surprised that they used the Partridge Family’s “I Think I Love You.” Tony Romo, Chris Evert, Matthew Broderick, and Marv Albert had cameo appearances. I wondered why Matthew Broderick was there instead of another sports figure. I had to compare this movie with Noah Baumbach’s “Frances Ha” and “While We’re Young.” Out of the three, I liked “Frances Ha” the most. I liked Greta Gerwig. I couldn’t like Amy Schumer as much because she blurted out everything that was on her mind. I would have difficult with someone like that in real life. I compared Amy Schumer’s writing effort with Diablo Cody’s writing. How many more screenplays does Amy have in her? I thought that “Trainwreck” was a movie that I was supposed to like. I felt that it bludgeoned me over the head with its humor instead of persuading me. Most of the audience seemed to like it a lot, however. I think I might have enjoyed the movie more if it had been made from LeBron James’ point of view. Tilda Swinton was in this movie. I thought she might have a future in Judd Apatow movies, rather like Anjelica Huston in Wes Anderson’s movies. I sat around until the end of the credits, which caused me to miss a bus. I got home to get a bite to eat, and I went into the record store for the DVD sale. I bought the box set of All in the Family. I didn’t spend the extra money for “Silent Running.” I listened to Robert Hilburn’s Rock ‘n’ Roll Times radio program on KCSN. He played tracks on new albums by Ryan Adams, Shelby Lynne, and Elliott Murphy. Elliott Murphy was hugely promising around 1975, but hardly anyone nowadays has heard of him. I watched the Columbo episode “Forgotten Lady,” which was one of my favorites because of Janet Leigh. Vera Miles was in a different Columbo episode, and so was Jamie Lee Curtis. Janet was thin in this episode. I wondered what her final days were like after that appearance in Stockton. “Breakfast at Tiffany’s” and “Two for the Road” were on another channel. I saw Mel Gibson in “Air America” doing a bad American accent. How did he get away with it? Which made more money at the box office this weekend, “Ant-Man” or “Pixels”? Do people want to go out to see an Adam Sandler movie at all? Some of the people who died on July 24 include Gertrude Stein (1946), William Wyler (1981), James Mason (1984), Bob Hope (2003), and Jack Tatum (2010). Today is a birthday for Bobbie Gentry (71), Jerry Van Dyke (84), and Lupita Tovar (105). According to the Brandon Brooks Rewind radio segment for July 27, “The Amityville Horror” was released in 1979. In 1986, Queen played a concert in front of 80,000 fans in Budapest. In 1990, the Harrison Ford movie “Presumed Innocent” was released.

This entry was posted in Movies. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

