The Third Man

I had to go back to work. I was unhappy that the A’s had lost all three games to the Giants over the weekend. I had five hours of work to get through. At Safeway, I bought some fruit and yogurt and sandwiches. I decided to go over to the theatre to see “The Third Man” again. It’s been more than thirty years since the first time I saw it, but it’s worth looking at it again from time to time. I haven’t seen all of Carol Reed’s work, but I can’t imagine that he ever made a better film. I’ll always remember Joseph Cotten for three films: “Citizen Kane,” “Shadow of a Doubt,” and “The Third Man.” I don’t know what he is doing with a name like Holly Martins in this film. He’s supposed to be a writer of Western novels. One of the hilarious scenes is his attempt to give a lecture about his work. It’s hard to imagine a film that had better black and white photography. The setting is very memorable, Vienna after the war. Orson Welles gave one of his best performances as Harry Lime, although I can’t see young audiences of him looking at him as some sort of lovable rogue. He’s involved in a terrible penicillin scheme. We don’t see explicit images of the victims, so we can imagine the worst. A woman named Anna is loyal to Harry to the end, which is hard to understand. I don’t know why she sticks around, and she made me wonder what I was missing by not reading the novel. Trevor Howard and Bernard Lee were in the cast. The past is mysterious in this story, as well as Lime’s character. How does Harry have a hold on people, especially on Holly after twenty years? One of my favorite shots was right at the base of the Ferris wheel. Reed and Robert Krasker also captured some impressive images in the sewer. Reed was nominated for an Oscar, and Krasker won an Oscar for this film. The sequence where the police are closing in on Lime was tense, and it reminded me of the end of “The French Connection.” The last shot is so very memorable. The first time I saw this movie, I knew exactly was Anna was going to do. The road was lined with trees with their leaves falling down. Holly was just standing there. Anna reminded me of many a woman walking down the street pretending not to see things. A movie like this requires more patience from its audience than the movies of today. It lingers on the people, and gives us a great sense of what this moment in time was like. You can’t make movies like this on a Hollywood set. I think that “The Third Man” was aged better than “White Heat” and “On the Town,” and it feels like the definitive film to close out the Forties. I see that the Criterion Collection Blu-ray disc is now a collector’s item. I think I may have to buy the edition that is normally priced. You have to remember the music on the soundtrack forever from the first time you hear it. Watching the movie made me tired. I was ready to go home and get some rest. I found that my Raiders tickets for this season arrived via UPS, and the Blu-ray disc of “Medium Cool” had arrived in the mail. I watched an episode of The Big Bang Theory in which Sheldon encounters Octavia Spencer at the DMV. I also watched Match Game with David Doyle, Eva Gabor, and Betty White on the panel of celebrities. I watched Super Mario Galaxy 2, and it took me 48 minutes to win a star. I had difficulty controlling Mario after touching one of those red peppers. The movie “Mahogany” was on one of the channels. Anthony Perkins was a photographer. Diana Ross clearly had limitations with her acting ability. It was kind of sad watching Anthony Perkins. I don’t know why Revlon would want to have one of their models dripping wet for a photo on one of their billboards. I thought Diana looked like Janet Jackson in one of those shots. Billy Dee Williams was reunited with Ross from “Lady Sings the Blues.” I’m not sure I noticed him before he was in “The Empire Strikes Back.” Owen Wilson was a guest on the Jimmy Kimmel show. I heard some very disturbing and distressing news about the missing 8-year-old girl Madyson Middleton on the news. I also heard that the A’s had traded Tyler Clippard. He displeased the home fans greatly the last time that I saw him. Some of the people who died on July 28 include Cyrano de Bergerac (1655), Antonio Vivaldi (1741), and Johann Sebastian Bach (1750). Today is a birthday for Sally Struthers (68) and Jim Davis (70). According to the Brandon Brooks Rewind radio segment for July 27, Farrah Fawcett married Lee Majors in 1973. In 1978, National Lampoon’s “Animal House” with John Belushi was released. In 1989, the Tom Hanks movie “Turner & Hooch” was released. In 2013, Eileen Brennan died of bladder cancer at age 80.

This entry was posted in Movies. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

