Un homme est mort

I was interested in Windows 10, but it may be a while before I download it. The day was not as hot as expected. I got the chance to watch a movie called “The Outside Man,” set in Los Angeles and with a good cast of Jean-Louis Trintignant, Ann-Margret, Roy Scheider, and Angie Dickinson. Actually, since Trintignant stumbled with his English in a distracting way, I wouldn’t give high marks for his performance. He is a hit man from France who does a job and gets caught in a deadly situation. One of the scenes I liked showed him hiding out in an apartment with Georgia Engel and her son, watching a Star Trek episode. She was out shopping at Ralph’s and he pointed a gun at her and forced his way into her place. It made me think of “Three Days of the Condor.” I thought it was to Scheider’s credit that he could be interesting in a lot of roles that were alike. He was a hit man, too, and relentless. I kept thinking about how I liked him in “Jaws,” “Sorcerer,” and “All That Jazz.” I’ll never understand why these characters return to the place of a shooting. I think it’s because the filmmakers have a limited number of locations that they can use. It certainly doesn’t follow the logic of the story. Trintignant had an interesting moment in a bus station when he paid a quarter to use an electric razor in a restroom. There is no way that I would have used it, knowing what kind of scummy people are hanging around downtown Los Angeles. He also had an encounter with a born again Christian, although the scene was acted badly. The movie was one of those tough Los Angeles crime stories, a revision of the familiar, and coming thirteen years before “To Live and Die in L.A.” I couldn’t quite believe Ann-Margret as a tough-talking broad. It’s kind of a shame that this wasn’t a bigger production because she could have been shown to better advantage. She could have been very beautiful in one of those classic productions. I wonder what John Huston could have done with her. She seemed to be the only one who had any sense when she urged Trintignant to leave Los Angeles. Georgia had la couple of funny moments. I was surprised that she blabbed a lot of details over the local news. Some of these characters were real idiots. Angie Dickinson had some very good moments in the 1970s. I thought she should have had more screen time here. I never did see her Police Woman television series. Considering that the director was French, I had the feeling that a lot of the characters were going to die. In one sequence, a hearse is used as a getaway car. I thought it was a twist on what we saw in “Harold and Maude.” I didn’t understand why anyone would hire a hit man to come all the way from France to do a job. It seems that there are better people to do the job nearby. This man was hardly discreet. Ann-Margret commented about it. I also didn’t understand why she was wearing a wig and went away from her natural hair color. The movie could have used more surprises. I thought I knew how it was going to end from a mile away. If I had to choose between seeing this movie again or “The Long Goodbye,” I would choose the Altman film. I think the reasons to see this movie are Ann-Margret and Roy Scheider. It needed more ideas, even though three people are credited with the screenplay. Two other people in the cast were Alex Rocco and Talia Shire. Jacques Deray directed his last film in 1994, and he died in 2003 at age 74. It’s kind of interesting to note that Ann-Margret and Roy Scheider would go on to appear in “52 Pick-Up” together in 1986. The director was John Frankenheimer, and Clarence Williams III and Doug McClure were in the cast. I remember Jean-Louis Trintignant for “Z,” “The Conformist,” “Confidentially Yours,” and “Amour.” What was the greatest French crime film that I’ve ever seen? You have to think about “Rififi” and “Elevator to the Gallows.” I guess you can count “Shoot the Piano Player” as one of them. I went out to put in five hours of work, and I tried to fix the copy machine. When I got home, I found in my mail my Outside Lands wristband and my Ape Escape game. I watched Match Game and tried to make progress with Super Mario Galaxy 2. I wanted to stay up to see Christina Applegate on the Jimmy Kimmel show. She talked about Ringo Starr and Paul McCartney. She said that Chevy Chase laughed during the premiere of “Vacation” and gave a high-five to his wife during the screening. Another guest on the show was Rick Springfield, who did a bit with “Jessie’s Girl.” Springfield was born in 1949. He was there to promote his new movie with Meryl Streep. I watched the news about Adrian Gonzalez, the teenager who apparently murdered Madyson Middleton. He is not to be confused with the baseball player for the Los Angeles Dodgers. The details of the murder were frightening and disturbing and made me feel that I should stay away from all of humanity forever. The people around the suspect seemed completely blind to what he really was. Some of the people who died on July 30 include James Blish (1975), Claudette Colbert (1996), Buffalo Bob Smith (1998), Michelangelo Antonioni (2007), Ingmar Bergman (2007), and Bill Walsh (2007). Today is a birthday for Laurence Fishburne (54), Kate Bush (57), Arnold Schwarzenegger (68), Paul Anka (74), and Buddy Guy (79). According to the Brandon Brooks Rewind radio segment for July 30, The Beatles reached Number One on the album chart with “Yesterday and Today” in 1965. In 1977, Andy Gibb had the Number One single, “I Just Want to Be Your Everything.” In 1986, “Flight of the Navigator” was released. In 1999, “The Blair Witch Project” was released.

This entry was posted in Movies. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

