Vacation

I worked on my writing and went out to buy some groceries. I put away my stuff after I got home, and I was just about to leave when the UPS deliverer came by with my eyeglasses. It was an expensive pair of glasses but also the best pair I’ve ever owned. I caught the buses out to the Grand Lake Theatre. It seemed that I was headed there too much, but their schedule said that they were showing “Vacation” at 11:30. They didn’t open their doors until 10:27. I didn’t see anyone else in the theatre but an old woman and a young couple. I had heard from Christina Applegate on the Jimmy Kimmel Show that Chevy Chase thought that this movie was hilarious. If that really is true, then Chevy Chase’s judgment is not to be trusted. What I saw was a movie that was mildly funny. I laughed out loud only once, during a bit that involved a car door. The trailer gave away some of the bits. It seems like standard practice for the trailers to give away too much of the movie. I’m not sure that Ed Helms and Christina Applegate were the best choices for the parents, but they were funnier than the two kids. The relationship between the brothers was something I didn’t really want to see in this movie. The guy who plays Thor was in the cast. He was the center of my least favorite scene. We get to see Chevy Chase and Beverly D’Angelo near the end of the movie. As I watched them, I couldn’t help thinking how much they have aged. Chevy’s face looked fat, and Beverly was photographed carefully so that she didn’t look really old. I missed those old days with those old movies. John Hughes was involved, and I thought that made a big difference. I don’t see a new generation flocking to a new set of Vacation movies. I doubt that this new group could do a good Christmas Vacation movie. I wonder if I went to this movie at the wrong time. If I had seen it with more people in the audience, they would have had some more humorous spirit. I have memories of seeing the European Vacation movie. Those were happier times. After the movie ended, the young girl said hello to me as I was leaving. It seemed like she wondered whether or not I thought the movie was funny. I wouldn’t recommend it. Everyone should just go back and see the old Vacation movies. No one can replace Beverly D’Angelo and Christie Brinkley. Some of the people who died on July 31 include Andrew Johnson (1875), Franz Liszt (1886), Mary See (1939), Jim Reeves (1964), Bud Powell (1966), Bobby Van (1980), Mitch Miller (2010), and Gore Vidal (2012). Today is a birthday for Wesley Snipes (53) and Mark Cuban (57). According to the Brandon Brooks Rewind radio segment for July 31, a Rolling Stones concert in Ireland in 1964 was halted after 12 minutes because of a riot. In 1971, James Taylor had the Number One single, “You’ve Got a Friend.” In 1987, the James Bond film “The Living Daylights” with Timothy Dalton was released in the United States. In 1992, “Death Becomes Her,” starring Meryl Streep, Goldie Hawn, and Bruce Willis, was released.

This entry was posted in Movies. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

