Aaron Brooks’ Sensational Debut

I watched the chef segment on CBS This Morning. Jonathan Sawyer’s signature dishes were Pea tar tar, summer beet salad with lemon poppy chobani yogurt and crispy super granola, beef ribs, foie gras steamed clams, bucatini all’Amatriciana, white coconut cake, and Trentina spritz. I went over to the coffee shop to have a mango smoothie, reply to some messages, and look up this weekend’s American Top 40 playlist. The Top 10 songs on August 3, 1974 were “Sideshow,” “Call on Me,” “Please Come to Boston,” “Rock and Roll Heaven,” “The Air That I Breathe,” “The Night Chicago Died,” “Rikki Don’t Lose That Number,” “Feel Like Makin’ Love,” “Don’t Let the Sun Go Down on Me,” and “Annie’s Song.” I went over to work. They had cookies, but I had only one. I caught parts of two Partridge Family episodes, “Two for the Show” and “Danny Drops Out.” I tried to see if Laurie was eating any of the apple pie. I walked over to Bongo Burger for a late lunch. I headed to the BART station. Buses were running between stations in Oakland and San Francisco because of tunnel maintenance. One of the ticket takers said to me, “Welcome back.” I took my seat and watched the Indians take batting practice. I saw a new pitcher named Aaron Brooks warming up and preparing to start the game. It was an early evening start for this game, which I liked. I don’t always want to sit in the hot sun on a Saturday afternoon. Brooks did an excellent job, and he seemed to win over a lot of fans in this first look we got of him. Through the first four innings, he allowed only a two-out single in the first inning. Meanwhile, the A’s scored the first run of the game in the second inning. Billy Butler started things off with a single. Ike Davis doubled, but with Butler being slow of foot, he managed to get only to third base. Mark Canha grounded out to second, but Butler scored on the play. Max Muncy and Marcus Semien weren’t able to bring Davis in from second base. We learned that the A’s players preferred Call of Duty over Madden as far as video games go. Brooks made his one mistake in the fifth inning when he gave up a home run with one out. During the break in the inning, Kara Tsuboi played Name That Tune with two fans, and the tune was Taylor Swift’s “Shake It Off.” Mark Canha struck out, but Max Muncy hit an impressive double. Semien drew a walk. Eric Sogard singled, and Mike Gallego sent Muncy home, but a good throw from the Indians’ right fielder got him out. Sam Fuld got a hit, and with an error on the play, two runs scored. The crowd played Air Guitar, and then Brooks pitched the sixth inning, allowing just a two-out single. Before the seventh inning, Rollie Fingers won another Big Head race, his 16th of the season. Rickey Henderson has won only 11, and Dennis Eckersley has 8. Brooks allowed just a single with one out in the inning, keeping the score at 3-1. In the bottom of the inning, the A’s got a big run with Semien’s home run with two outs. It was looking like the A’s were going to win this one. Brooks would last two batters into the eighth inning. He allowed a single before getting a fly ball out to left field. Brooks got a lot of applause as he stepped off the mound to the dugout. Drew Pomeranz came out to pitch, and he got a ground ball that could have been a double play ball, but he dropped the ball for an error. He showed some grit, though, in striking out the next two batters. Sam Fuld started the bottom of the inning with a single and he stole second base, although the play was reviewed. Stephen Vogt grounded out, but Fuld took third base on the play. Vogt was 0-for-4 in the game, and he grounded into a double play in the first inning. Josh Reddick had a great chance to drive in a run, but with the infielders drawn in, he grounded out to the first baseman, and Fuld had to stay at third base. I saw Reddick head back into the dugout, go through a door and slam it shut. Butler scored the first run of the game with his plodding feet, and he drove in the last run of the game with a single. Since we are still uncomfortable with Edward Mujica, we were glad to see this run. It turned out, though, that Mujica would pitch a clean ninth inning, ending the game with a strikeout. Brooks’ mother had tears in her eyes watching her son’s accomplishment. Brooks got the Gatorade treatment from his teammates. The game began at 6:08 and ended at 8:32. Attendance was 19,046. When I reached the BART station platform, it was dark because the lights were out. On the train, a couple talked about a song that sounded exactly like Christopher Cross’ Arthur theme. I didn’t know what it was. When I got home, I watched the end of the Star Trek episode “The Lights of Zetar.” I thought the ship’s pressure chamber did not look impressive, and Spock controlled it by hand. I wondered what happened to the woman who played Mira. I also wondered how she felt about the scenes where she had to make those faces while those lights covered her face. I played some Super Mario Galaxy 2 and found the second Grand Star rather easy to acquire. I saw that the Lucy-Desi Comedy Hour was on one of the channels, but I didn’t want to watch too much of it. I didn’t want to watch “Billy Jack Goes to Washington.” The plot summary seemed too ridiculous. If it had been mildly ridiculous, I still might have watched it, but it seemed way out there. I thought about going out for some food, but I didn’t want to be a pig. I ate some applesauce and decided to go out to the grocery store in the morning. The end of Sunday baseball games makes me feel sad, because I always realize that I have to go back to work in the morning. I’m supposed to be rich, but I don’t have too much cash. Some of the people who died on August 2 include Enrico Caruso (1921), Alexander Graham Bell (1922), Warren G. Harding (1923), Pietro Mascagni (1945), Fritz Lang (1976), Thurman Munson (1979), Donald Ogden Stewart (1980), Raymond Carver (1988), Colleen Dewhurst (1991), William S. Burroughs (1997), and Raymond Carver (1988). Today is a birthday for Dylan Dreyer (34), Victoria Jackson (56), Apollonia Kotero (56), and Wes Craven (76). According to the Brandon Brooks Rewind radio segment for August 2, Brian Cole of The Association died of a heroin overdose in 1972. The funeral service for Mama Cass was held in Hollywood in 1974. It is also the 62nd birthday for Butch Patrick.

This entry was posted in Sports. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

