Shaun the Sheep Movie

I got ready to leave for Jack London Square. I listened to an Elton John CD along the way. Since “Fantastic Four” got such bad reviews, I decided to see the Shaun the Sheep Movie. The theatre was full of kids, but an old woman sat near me to my right. She complained about the number of commercials that were shown on the screen as we were waiting. The people who made this movie could have done a good job making a silent film, because there is no dialogue in this movie. That was a nice change from most other movies, which could use less dialogue. That was an Alfred Hitchcock belief. I think that Shaun the Sheep is not quite the hero that Gromit of Wallace and Gromit. I couldn’t understand why the sheep wanted the farmer back running things. They had no love of freedom. The pigs were different. There were some visual references that seemed to go past the children in the audience. There was a fair amount of fart humor. Was that the rude humor that got the movie a PG rating? This movie was tame compared to other movies for kids that I’ve seen this year. A scene in an operating room really frightened one young girl near me. There is a constant threat to the sheep in form of the animal control man, who seems like a real sadist. There was a restaurant scene that felt like it went back to Charlie Chaplin. The bit with the farmer with his shears gaining fame as a hairdresser was amusing. It made me think back to Vidal Sassoon and Mia Farrow in “Rosemary’s Baby.” The use of cell phones is part of that story, which disappointed me a little bit. I hate being reminded of the existence of cell phones. As with other Aardman films, you can expect everything in the story to get wrapped up nicely and neatly by the end. There was an ugly dog that I liked. Well, this was a pretty satisfying movie, although it’s not better than Wallace and Gromit. It was better than something like “Pixels.” I read an article that said that the Shaun the Sheep Movie was a box office failure and was stale. I guess people aren’t eager to see this movie, but it was still pretty good entertainment. It got a good review from Rolling Stone magazine. I went home, had something to eat, and then took the bus again to see “Ant-Man” again. I didn’t mind going to see two movies in one day because the theatres were having $5 Tuesday. I was a bit tired of the plot before Paul Rudd becomes Ant-Man. I almost got sad hearing Michael Douglas talk about his wife. It was fun to watch this again, although I wished I had a second chance to see “Minions.” I took the buses a final time to get home. I saw a Peter, Paul and Mary television special, and then Simon and Garfunkel’s concert in Central Park in 1981. Some of the people who died on August 12 include Thomas Mann (1955), Ian Fleming (1964), Henry Fonda (1982), Loretta Young (2000), and Merv Griffin (2007). Today is a birthday for Mark Knopfler (66) and George Hamilton (76). According to the Brandon Brooks Rewind radio segment for August 12, Ian Fleming died of a heart attack at age 56 in 1964. In 1983, “Cujo,” the movie based on a Stephen King novel, was released. In 1985, Kyu Sakamoto, who had a hit with “Sukiyaki,” died in the crash of Japan Airlines Flight 123. In 2007, Merv Griffin died of prostate cancer at age 82.

This entry was posted in Movies. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

