Space Jam

I took the bus to San Leandro and went into a record store. I saw several items I wanted, but decided to buy just one, a live John Lennon album. I went over to the sporting goods store nearby and bought two baseball scorebooks. The last store was Target, where I bought school supplies. The bus ride back home made me feel tired. Back at home, I finished watching “Sports Jam.” I guess it was something of an advance on “Who Framed Roger Rabbit,” at least in its technical qualities. The story was foolish in several ways, from Michael Jordan playing baseball to numerous other details. I noticed that Michael Jordan did not earn an Academy Award nomination for his performance in this movie. The problem of the amateur acting is amplified when you put several other basketball players into the story. I thought that Patrick Ewing and Larry Bird were especially terrible. How many people remember who Shawn Bradley was? It’s funny how Michael Jordan was a superhuman quality, like he is infallible. It’s difficult to accept cartoon characters when their voices are different from your memories of them. Wayne Knight played a human character named Stan, and I thought he was funny, at least relative to everyone else in the movie. Patricia Heaton had a minor part, and she looked young. Danny DeVito was the voice of a cartoon character. Bill Murray showed up to help out Michael, although I couldn’t understand why he and not someone with more athletic ability showed up. Murray brought a bit of Caddyshack with him, along with some Chicago civic pride. I thought I knew what the outcome of the critical basketball game would be, particularly with Michael Jordan on one side. The pace was slow at times, and I noticed this when Bugs Bunny and Daffy Duck were in the house looking for Michael’s basketball shoes. I thought the Roadrunner would participate in the game. I couldn’t see why Tweety was there. Bugs was aggressive with the female bunny. The young girls watching this movie might have been uncomfortable with it. The entertainment value was rather low, but it’s not bad of Michael Jordan is your hero. The reason I watched the movie was that I came across references to it in the Jimmy Kimmel show and at an A’s game. It’s been nearly twenty years since “Space Jam” was released, so maybe the new generation looks at it as something other than a forgettable movie with a major sports star. The A’s players said that they preferred “Space Jam” over “Remember the Titans.” I thought it was amusing how Michael’s kids just accepted these cartoon characters walking through their home and taking some of their father’s possessions. The major problem with the special effects is that the actors look like they’re looking and talking at nothing. I went into my neighborhood record store and bought the video game called New Super Bros. Wii. I walked over to the theatre to catch the Flashback Feature, which was Billy Wilder’s “Sunset Blvd.” I like watching just about the Billy Wilder films up through “The Fortune Cookie.” Some of the young people in the theatre laughed at rather inappropriate times. I kept noticed how much Norma Desmond waved her fans around. William Holden was very good in this movie. I had forgotten that Jack Webb had a role. The disturbing thing about the movie is that the delusions Norma had are common to all sorts of people. I liked seeing the old traffic signal that has the Stop and Go signs pop out. This was 1950. “Sunset Blvd.” got eleven Academy Award nominations and won three, for screenplay, art direction, and music. “All About Eve” won the big prize that year. I left the theatre just before eleven o’clock. Some of the people who died on August 14 include Johnny Burnette (1964), Dorothy Stratten (1980), Gale Sondergaard (1985), Roy Buchanan (1988), Czeslaw Milosz (2004), Bruno Kirby (2006), Phil Rizzuto (2007), and Ron Palillo (2012). According to the Brandon Brooks Rewind radio segment for August 14, The Beatles made their final appearance on the Ed Sullivan Show, performing the songs “I Feel Fine,” “I’m Down,” “Act Naturally,” “Ticket to Ride,” “Yesterday,” and “Help!” In 1973, “The Rocky Horror Picture Show” was moved to the Chelsea Classic Cinema on Kings Road in London. In 1995, the Foo Fighters made their network television debut on the Letterman show.

This entry was posted in Movies. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

