V for Vendetta

I spent the day preparing for classes as the afternoon got very hot. Two women came in to clean the kitchen, making me think that someone would be moving. I didn’t buy anything from the record store, although I saw two Blu-ray discs I wanted. During my last lecture, I made a reference to “Inside Out.” I walked over to the theatre for the Flashback Feature, which was “V for Vendetta.” Since it was a Regal theatre, someone checked my backpack, which was annoying. Natalie Portman delivered a good performance, although the more I listened to her talking, the less I believed in her accent. I couldn’t understand why she helped V and set things in motion at the end. She went through a head shaving for this role, and I couldn’t help thinking that she went through more to win an Oscar for “Black Swan.” “V for Vendetta” was disturbing because we see this one man deciding that all these people should die. It sure seemed that some of those cops didn’t deserve to die. There was one comedic scene, which had a touch of Benny Hill in it. Everyone laughed at the bit, although I didn’t think it was hilarious. There was also an obvious reference to Albert Einstein. The whole torture sequence really made V seem like he was way out there. I don’t believe in symbolic actions, so his plan to blow up a building seems like the wrong thing to do. I wonder how people in the United States would react to someone blowing up the Capitol building. V lived underground, like Lex Luthor in the first Superman movie. I saw similarities with the Batman movies. John Hurt’s presence brought to mind “1984.” I read on IMDB that the body count was 73. That was high for a movie that was preaching to us. This movie was engrossing because V was ahead of everyone trying to catch him, and he was unpredictable. I felt that the two hours went by quickly. I felt that it was a powerful movie with content that should have been thought over some more. The director said that “The Battle for Algiers” was an influence. Alan Moore said that the script had holes in its plot and changed his themes. I was relieved that my first week of teaching had ended, and I walked home through air that was still warm for eleven o’clock. I watched Jimmy Kimmel and This Week in Unnecessary Censorship. Pierce Brosnan was a guest, and Jimmy told him a story about his family vacationing in Los Angeles and seeing him working on “Remington Steele.” The interview almost made me miss the days when he was James Bond. He said that he turned down the role of Batman because he was naïve. I tried to stay up to see the beginning of a Columbo episode, but I fell asleep. Some of the people who died on August 28 include Robert Walker (1951), Robert Shaw (1978), Ruth Gordon (1985), John Huston (1987), and Miyoshi Umeki (2007). Today is a birthday for Daniel Stern (58) and David Soul (72). According to the Brandon Brooks Rewind radio segment for August 28, Tammy Wynette recording “Stand By Your Man” with Billy Sherrill as producer in 1968. In 1981, “Body Heat,” with William Hurt and Kathleen Turner, was released. In 1987, John Huston died at age 81 of pneumonia in Rhode Island.

This entry was posted in Movies. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

