American Ultra

I awoke up and saw Elizabeth Wenger on a talk show. I watched CBS Sunday Morning. My mother phoned me and asked me what I was going to have for breakfast. I heard about the news of the death of Oliver Sacks. Three people discovered me on Facebook and sent friend requests. I thought about whether I should ask any of them if they want to go to the Super Bowl with me. I went out to buy groceries, and then I took the bus out to Jack London Square. I went out there to see “American Ultra,” the strange movie with Jesse Eisenberg and Kristen Stewart. Eisenberg was a stoner who worked in a store that was like a 7-11. Kristen Stewart was his girlfriend Phoebe, who shows a great deal of patience with his oddities and panic attacks. This movie takes the most unexpected turn, becoming greatly violent. The movie made me feel numb after a while. The killing just seemed senseless. Eisenberg and Stewart didn’t seem like two people I would want to watch through an entire movie. The combination and marijuana made me think of “Pineapple Express.” What we learn about Phoebe is hard to believe. It was a shame that her face got bloody. I found the sight of Mike’s bloody shirt rather sickening. The story missed and came after the elections quickly soon afterwards. The scene in the store made me think of “The Equalizer.” I didn’t see any real point to this movie. It was chaotic, and it seemed that all but three people were going to die. There was a moment with a drone that reminded me that this wasn’t taking place in one of the years of my youth. The constant violence brought to mind “John Wick.” No one went out to see this movie, as “Straight Outta Compton” still sold tickets. The trailers we saw include the next Maze Runner movie, which doesn’t look promising, and the conclusion to the Hunger Games, which looked like it might be ridiculous. Didn’t Jennifer Lawrence get tired of playing the same role? I hurried back home and ate a turkey wrap and looked at the time. It was three o’clock, and my football game would start at five. I didn’t even realize it until I bothered to look at the ticket. If it was on national television, it wouldn’t start at six or seven. I would miss Robert Hilburn’s Rock ‘n’ Roll Times radio program and have to catch up on it through the KCSN website. I had the chance to visit the library for a few minutes before going to the BART station. I looked through their DVD selection but didn’t find anything I wanted to watch. I saw two Raiders fans in the station. Some of the people who died on August 31 include Rocky Marciano (1969), John Ford (1973), Lady Diana (1997), and Lionel Hampton (2002). Today is a birthday for Julie Brown (61), Richard Gere (66), and Van Morrison (70). According to the Brandon Brooks Rewind radio segment for August 31, “The Big Sleep,” directed by Howard Hawks and starring Humphrey Bogart and Lauren Bacall, was released in 1946. In 1980, “Smokey and the Bandit II” was Number One at the box office. In 1987, Michael Jackson’s “Bad” album was released, and the “Bad” music video premiered on CBS. Some of my choices for the Top Five Biggest Jerks of August 2015 are Owen Labrie, Shannon Miles, Jared Fogle, Vester Lee Flanagan, and Donald Trump.

This entry was posted in Movies, Music. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

