Sean Nolin’s First Loss

After I awoke, I watched CBS Sunday Morning. I wanted to see the segment with Chrissie Hynde. She went out for donuts. She said that she slowed down from her wild life when she was sixty. I got a brief phone call from my mother, who seemed to have trouble with the phone number. My father asked me about my work load. I went on to Trader Joe’s, where one of the cashiers talked to me about Marlon Brando’s “Burn!” He also said that the Criterion Collection Blu-rays were the gold standard of movies. I got on the bus to the MacArthur BART station and got to the Coliseum. I went over to Gate A, where they were selling Breast Cancer Awareness jerseys, hats, and pins, although not right away. When the announcement was made that they would go on sale at 1:05, the people in line were angry at the bad planning, because a ceremony was supposed to take place on the field before then. The cavalry came in at 12:30, though, and since I was the fifth person in the line, I was able to get to my seat in good time. The usher in my section approved of my clothes. I was able to see the formation of the human ribbon. Tye Waller posed for some photos. When they released the white doves, I wondered where they were going. White doves make me think of “Blowin’ in the Wind.” The starting pitcher for the A’s, Sean Nolin, was making his debut for the team. He got the first six Mariners batters out, and three of his six innings were clean innings. He gave up the Mariners’ first two singles of the game in the third inning, but a 6-4-3 double play got him out of that trouble. He gave up a walk to start the fourth inning, but then got three fly ball outs. The trouble was the fifth inning. Over the course of six batters, Nolin allowed two singles, two walks, another single, and a sacrifice fly to center, all of which resulted in three runs. The first runner was thrown out at third on the second hit, or else it would have been worse. Brett Lawrie could not repeat his great catch from earlier in the weekend series to prevent one of the runs. A big mistake that Nolin made was to walk a hitter whose batting average was .099. Nolin did conclude his afternoon with four consecutive outs. It was a pretty respectable performance, but the A’s were not scoring runs on this afternoon. They got three singles and one walk through the first six innings, and only once did anyone reach second base in that time. Billy Burns had singled with Mark Canha following with a walk. In the Big Head race, Dennis Eckersley somehow stayed ahead of the competition to win for the 11th time for the year. It looked like he had a head start. Ryan Dull continued to pitch well for the A’s with a clean seventh inning and two strikeouts. We heard “Yakety Yak” during the seventh inning stretch. In the bottom of the inning with one out, Billy Butler hit a home run to make the score 3-1. Coco Crisp and Josh Reddick followed with pinch-hit singles, but Marcus Semien pinch hit for Eric Sogard and struck out. Billy Burns made the last out with a fly ball to center. Drew Pomeranz pitched the top of the eighth inning. It looked like Stephen Vogt got hit in the nuts with one ball, and rolled around in pain. It was tough because he had switched over from first base because Reddick had pinch hit for Josh Phegley. Carson Blair was pushed into making his debut for the team during these circumstances. Pomeranz gave up a single with one out, but he helped himself with a 1-3-6 play. The bottom of the eighth inning began with Canha hitting a single and Blair drawing a walk. A wild pitch got them to second and third with a great chance to tie the game with a hit. Valencia hit a ground ball that scored Canha, although Blair stayed at second base. Lawrie and Butler both made outs, and so another chance to tie the game went down the drain. Sean Doolittle came in to pitch the top of the ninth inning. He allowed a double with one out, but then a strikeout and a foul ball to Valencia ended the inning. We saw the John Belushi Animal House video clip, but Coco Crisp and Josh Reddick both made outs. Semien singled, and Billy Burns singled. Canha hit a line drive that briefly gave the crowd some hope, but it went for the out that ended the game. After winning the first game of the homestand, the A’s had lost the next five games. Their record is looking bleak with only nine home games left. The game began at 1:07 and ended at 4:07. The game time temperature was 80 degrees, and the attendance was 19,534. Ken Korach reminded us that it was twenty years since Cal Ripken, Jr. had played in his 2131st consecutive game to break Lou Gehrig’s record. I wanted to get home quickly so that I could get a drink of water. I listened to the Robert Hilburn Rock ‘n’ Roll Times program on KCSN. He played songs by people whose birthdays were in September, including Bruce Springsteen, Ray Charles, the Pretenders, Jerry Lee Lewis, and Moby. Some of the songs during the hour were “Hallelujah, I Love Her So,” “Precious,” “Breathless,” “Honey,” and “Rosalita.” “Precious” had to be edited because of language. When I went over to buy some drinking water and batteries from Dollar Tree, one of my former students saw me and said hello. I watched the beginning of the Columbus episode “Murder By the Book” with Jack Cassidy. I fell asleep before the end. Jack Cassidy could never be clever enough to fool Columbo. I turned off the television and listened to the radio. I heard a lot of discussion of the Mets and their pitching. I did not want to hear any more about Tom Brady. I heard that “Straight Outta Compton” had fallen out of first place at the box office this weekend. I wasn’t so eager to go see “A Walk in the Woods.” I realized that it has been a long time since I played Super Mario Galaxy 2. I wished I had more time to read my books, too. I thought about my A’s season ticket for next year. What can Billy Beane do to improve this team? Some of the people who died on September 7 include Karen Blixen (1962), Keith Moon (1978), Terence Young (1994), and Warren Zevon (2003). Today is a birthday for Corbin Bernsen (61), Chrissie Hynde (64), Julie Kavner (65), and Gloria Gaynor (66). According to the Brandon Brooks Rewind radio segment for September 7, Keith Moon died of an overdose of the sedative Heminevrin in 1978. In 1979, ESPN was launched with SportsCenter. In 1985, John Parr had the Number One hit, “St. Elmo’s Fire (Man in Motion).” In 1991, the cartoons “Back to the Future” and “Little Shop” debuted. In 1997, Tupac Shakur was shot in Las Vegas.

This entry was posted in Sports. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

