Jack Del Rio’s Bad Decision

I couldn’t seem peacefully. I watched CBS Sunday Morning and saw a segment remembering the lives of Dickie Moore, Judy Carne, and Martin Milner. I also saw a segment about Duran Duran. My mother phoned me and asked me if I felt uncomfortable in the movie theatre with only two other people on Friday. I looked at the Best Buy advertisement. After I ate a burrito and a salad, I took the 1 bus out to the Fruitvale BART station. The air circulation in the train was terrible. It was hot and suffocating. It was a relief to get back outside. I got to the Coliseum sooner than I had planned. The security person who checked my bag was a dick, because he took a long time looking at my bag when there was almost nothing in it. I was grateful for the clouds, which made the sun bearable. I took my seat and listened to the Rams-Seahawks game on the radio. I think I fell asleep for a few minutes. We saw three paratroopers, a huge American flag, and a flyover. Ken Stabler’s children and grandchildren lit the Al Davis torch before kickoff. Derek Carr’s first pass was dropped by Amari Cooper, which set the tone for the day. The Bengals scored a touchdown. In the second quarter, they made a field goal. Derek Carr was running for a first down when he suffered a hand injury. Jack Del Rio made the questionable decision to go on fourth down when the Raiders were at their own side of the field. Eventually, it led to another Cincinnati touchdown. Even how poorly the Raiders were playing, the fourth down play probably didn’t affect the outcome of the game, but it was discouraging to the fans. The Bengals would score yet another touchdown before the end of the half. Given the Raiders’ weakness on offense, the 24-0 looked like it was too much to overcome, and the fans booed as the players walked off the field. There was no halftime entertainment of a marching band or cheerleader dance routines, or dogs catching Frisbees. However, we did see the most memorable moments of the day during halftime, with a ceremony honoring the late Ken Stabler. Teammates like Ted Hendricks and Cliff Branch were around, and John Madden gave a speech. One of Stabler’s daughters also spoke. She said that Ken loved a good party. One of the Bengals watched the ceremony and applauded. We heard Lynryrd Skynyrd’s “Sweet Home Alabama,” one of the songs Stabler listened to in his final hours. We saw James Corden attempting to kick a field goal. It looked like he missed it to the right. In the third quarter, the Bengals scored a field goal and then a touchdown. The one thing that the Raiders did do that was a positive was that they blocked an extra point attempt, so the score at the end of three quarters was 33-0. I stuck around until the end of the Raiders’ first possession in the fourth quarter. I headed towards the BART station. It looked like the hot dog cart people were selling a lot of hot dogs out on the bridge. I had to wait a while for a train. I heard Greg Papa say that Moses Malone had died at age 60. I heard the Raiders’ two touchdowns over the radio, the first at 4:05, and the second at 4:18. Marcel Reece was the player who provided the points. Greg Papa said that this season opener could not have gone worse. Besides Carr’s injury, it was a poor effort, and even the punting was a problem. I went home and ate before I listened to Robert Hilburn’s Rock ‘n’ Roll Times program on KCSN, and it was about Los Angeles songwriters, and specifically Randy Newman and Tom Waits. I liked songs like “Political Science” and “The Heart of Saturday Night.” I watched the end of the game between the Cowboys and the Giants. I could not understand why Eli Manning threw that last pass when the object was to run time off the clock. I watched a Columbo episode called “Death Lends a Hand” that featured Robert Culp and Ray Milland. The last bit with the contact lens seemed highly unlikely unless Columbo was behind it, like with the pearl and Honor Blackman. “True Crime” was one of the movies on television. Clint Eastwood decided to have the Oakland Tribune tower in the last shot. His character was trying to stop an execution. I wonder what Denis Leary thought of being in a Clint Eastwood movie. This was a box office failure, although I saw that Roger Ebert gave it a positive review. Next was “Murphy’s War” with Peter O’Toole. One of the noteworthy facts about it was that the director was Peter Yates, who worked on “Bullitt,” “John and Mary,” “The Hot Rock,” “The Deep,” and “Breaking Away.” He died on January 9, 2011. Some of the people who died on September 14 include James Fenimore Cooper (1851), Grace Kelly (1982), Janet Gaynor (1984), LaWanda Page (2002), Robert Wise (2005), Henry Gibson (2009), and Patrick Swayze (2009). Today is a birthday for Sam Neill (68) and Joey Heatherton (71). According to the Brandon Brooks Rewind radio segment for September 14, Little Richard recorded “Tutti Frutti” in New Orleans in 1955. In 1982, Grace Kelly died at age 52. In 2009, Patrick Swayze died of pancreatic cancer at age 57. In 2009, Henry Gibson died at age 73.

This entry was posted in Sports. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

