The Gold Rush

I had a respectable day of lectures. I went home and watched “The Gold Rush” on Blu-ray. Since the movie is 90 years old, the look of it in high definition wasn’t noticeably different from a DVD edition. I watch it for two of the famous scenes, the one with the boot and the one with the forks and rolls. I never understood why Chaplin thought so highly of the 1942 version, which I find difficult to watch. I came to not want to hear Chaplin talk very much in movies after “The Great Dictator” and “Monsieur Verdoux.” I read that Georgia Hale made a lot of money in real estate. She died in 1985. I liked the opening of the movie and wondered how they handled all those men. It seemed like it was tiring for those extras. What was good in the movie was the feeling of being in the great outdoors, although a lot of those scenes were filmed on sets. I liked seeing the real bear and I’ve come to dislike the chicken suit. It would have been great of some of the special effects had held up better over the passage of time. Compared Chaplin’s statements on poverty and hunger, I think I like the treatment in “Modern Times” more than in “The Gold Rush.” I don’t relate to snow, ice, or freezing weather because I’ve never lived in that climate. This was one of the highest-grossing silent films in history and the highest-grossing silent comedy. Richard Attenborough said that “The Gold Rush” was his favorite movie, and Chaplin said that it was the movie that he wanted to be remembered for. It’s a movie that I like to take off the shelf and watch when I’m tired of all the garbage I see on television. I found this used Blu-ray copy in the record store a while back, and I was glad to buy it because I’ll keep it around for years. I’d like to get the Blu-ray editions of “The Great Dictator,” “Monsieur Verdoux,” and “Limelight,” also. When I checked the Criterion Collection website, I saw that “Downhill Racer” and “Breaker Morant” will be released on Blu-ray, but I didn’t see any new Chaplin discs. I would like to see “The Kid” on Blu-ray. I still like seeing “A King in New York” every now and then. I read the Roger Ebert review of it from 1972, and it was mostly positive. “A Countess from Hong Kong” was unsuccessful. I don’t know if Cary Grant or Rex Harrison could have saved it. It might have been a good movie if it had been made in the days of Paulette Goddard, or in the days when Chaplin could shoot a lot more footage than he used. Having to work with unfamiliar people probably hurt those last movies a lot. It was also his only movie in color. I awoke this morning and watched the highlight of Billy Butler hitting a home run against the White Sox. It’s too bad that he wasn’t able to do more of that this season. I heard a lot of the latest Donald Trump controversy. I felt that this one wasn’t much of a controversy, but then I can’t predict what people will think. They are very illogical and inconsistent. A heat wave is supposed to hit us very soon. I thought about what it is going to be like out in the hot sun for a football on Sunday. I was glad to be away from classes. The plan is to see a movie this afternoon, buy a pair of ear buds, and do my laundry. There are three movies at the Grand Lake Theatre that I haven’t seen. I feel that I should go back to the California Theatre after being the only one for the start of “Mistress America” last week. The start of the weekend always feels promising. I was glad to reach another payday. Some of the people who died on September 18 include Leonhard Euler (1783), Frank Morgan (1940), Jimi Hendrix (1970), and Russ Meyer (2004). Today is a birthday for Frankie Avalon (76), Robert Blake (82), and June Foray (98). According to the Brandon Brooks Rewind radio segment for September 18, “Get Smart” had its debut in 1965. In 1980, the original production of “Les Misérables” opened in Paris. In 1983, KISS appeared without their makeup for the first time on an MTV program. In 2005, Ellen DeGeneres hosted the 57th Primetime Emmy Awards, where “Everybody Loves Raymond” and “Lost” won the awards for outstanding comedy and drama series.

This entry was posted in Movies. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

