A Hard Day’s Night

The heat wave was in its last day. I was three minutes late to work. People wanted to talk to me about dragon boat races and the Raiders game. I was offered extra hours, but I didn’t want to take them because I was too tired. I went home and took a nap. I kept hearing on the news about someone who found $1300 in a Domino’s Pizza box. I also watched “A Hard Day’s Night” again, this time on Blu-ray. It looked better than I’d ever seen it on television, and it seemed that the sound was very good, too. The Beatles were constantly moving and escaping situations. I wondered what the record album in the hotel room was, and what Paul was working on when he was at the piano. Their manager couldn’t have had any real power. The group didn’t answer any of their fan mail. It looked like Paul didn’t eat or drink anything during the entire day. It looked like John and George had sandwiches. For years, I thought that Ringo’s book was the Son of Mad paperback we saw earlier in the movie. The group performs “And I Love Her” for the television cameras, but they don’t do it in the actual television shows. It looks like some of the girls fall down in their pursuit of the group. I kept wondering why they went around with such a worn deck of playing cards. You’d think they’d have new cards. They were all smoking too much, which is sad in retrospect, considering George’s health problems leading to his death. In the real world, the thought of John going down the bathtub drain would have been ridiculous. He was wearing shorts in the tub, or else we would have glimpsed his genitals. During “I Should Have Known Better” on the train, Paul’s grandfather looks at him strangely, like he’s trying to comprehend something. When John says, “I’ll show him” and starts singing “If I Fell,” I didn’t understand what he was trying to show Ringo. I guess George hated saying the word “grotty.” I didn’t think that even Paul’s grandfather would make the same mistake twice with the lift going up to the television stage. He seemed worthy of being an escape artist like Houdini. I wished the aerial shots of the group on the field had been steadier. All they did was run around and jump around for the duration of “Can’t Buy Me Love.” I always wondered what happened to the girls we see in the audience at the end. Ringo could not have thrown that dart hard enough for it to get stuck in that cage. I always laugh at the shot of the camera falling into the water. It was a violent movement. It was rather funny that we’re supposed to believe what we were seeing there. I don’t know why that car thief was continuing to try to break into the car with all the police around him. I also couldn’t understand why the cops didn’t burst into the television studio as they were running after the Beatles. I’d never seen a milk vending machine of the type that was at the beginning of the movie. It was supposed to be cool and refreshing, but I couldn’t see milk as being refreshing. Every time I see this movie, I keep thinking that they should have given us more songs rather than repeat some of them at the end. Since there was a helicopter waiting for the group after the show, I wondered why they didn’t take the helicopter there earlier instead of going through the whole routine of taking the train. If every day in the life of The Beatles was really anything like this, then it’s no wonder they got tired of touring. Actually, I imagine they didn’t run away from the police every day. It was rather odd that they knew exactly where the police station was. I still get a lot of pleasure from this movie every time I see it. It makes me think of my childhood. “Help!” wasn’t as good. “Yellow Submarine” was pretty good, but it didn’t feature the real Beatles until the very end. I’m waiting for the days when I can see “Let It Be” again. I went out to do some late grocery shopping. The heat wave finally broke around seven o’clock. Everyone had enough of the very hot weather. I watched The Big Bang Theory, which had every indication of a show that was past its prime. I watched some of Match Game, which gave us a reminder that it was Fannie Flagg’s birthday. It seems that “Rumble in the Bronx” and “Breakout” have been on television a lot during this past week. “The Dead Zone” is supposed to be on again. I heard the end of the Monday night football game, which had the Jets winning one over the Colts. I heard a lot of news about Volkswagen being in big trouble because of a software deception. It looks like a real disaster. The Blue Jays and the Astros won their games, but the Dodgers lost theirs. Some people may be coming to their senses about Donald Trump, but they’re going to find things they don’t like about Carly Fiorina, too. I feel almost obligated to check out the Stephen Colbert show to hear what Trump has to say. I missed Stephen Curry and Don Henley last night. What would Stephen Colbert have to say to Curry, anyway? I didn’t think that the Emmys were historic because no one really cares about them. I don’t know if I can name a single person who has won an Emmy. Does Rita Moreno have an Emmy? I ate blackberries and yogurt for breakfast. It wasn’t a good morning to go out and teach classes. I saw that the A’s were down to their last six home games, three with the Rangers and the last three with the Giants. The giveaway will be a team photo of a team that we would rather forget. This will be one of their worst ever seasons in Oakland. What can Billy Beane do in one year to improve the team? Some of the people who died on September 22 include Dan Rowan (1987), Irving Berlin (1989), Dorothy Lamour (1996), George C. Scott (1999), Isaac Stern (2001), Gordon Jump (2003), Marcel Marceau (2007), and Eddie Fisher (2010). Today is a birthday for Andrea Bocelli (57), Joan Jett (57), Nick Cave (58), and Debby Boone (59). According to the Brandon Brooks Rewind radio segment for September 22, The Band’s self-titled second album was released in 1969. In 1986, “ALF” had its television premiere on NBC. In 1994, “Friends” debuted on NBC. In 2003, Gordon Jump of “WKRP in Cincinnati” died of lung disease at age 71.

This entry was posted in Movies. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

