Hardly Strictly Bluegrass Festival 2015, Day 3

I awoke and saw that CBS Sunday Morning was not on the schedule because of a football game between the Jets and the Dolphins in London. I got a call from my mother, warning me to be careful in going out to Golden Gate Park for the music festival. I went over to the coffee shop to have a mango smoothie, and then I went out to take the F bus across the Bay Bridge. I tried listening to the Raiders game on the radio, but the reception faded. I took the Fulton bus to 25th Avenue. The music had already started, but I wasn’t interested in the early acts. I walked around looking at the food booths. I bought a corn dog, which was better than a Trader Joe’s corn dog, but not the best food I could have had. I also bought a green T-shirt. The booths were running out of the small sizes rather quickly. I went over to the stage where Nick Lowe would be playing. His set started a bit late because the band on the nearby stage behind him wasn’t done. He came out on stage alone and with just his guitar. He sounded like he’d sung his songs too many times, and that he should have gone back in time to show his sense of humor again. He could have done a couple of Everly Brothers or Rockpile songs. He was low on energy and got a light response from the audience. I saw one girl dancing along to the music. It hard for a single person to come across well in this type of setting, with a vast space and a lot of people. The songs looked alike with just the one guitar and with Lowe’s singing. He talked about a song he wrote for Johnny Cash, although it was hard to hear him. Lowe did “Ragin’ Eyes” and “Cruel to Be Kind.” He checked with someone about how much time he had left before finishing with “What’s So Funny ‘Bout Peace, Love, and Understanding.” I moved on to another stage, where James McMurtry was finishing his set. It sounded like he was getting a good response from the audience. The field was packed, and I didn’t want to search for a good spot to sit. I listened to the end of the A’s game in Seattle on the radio. Ryan Dull gave up a home run in the eighth inning which was the difference. Barry Zito didn’t get the chance to pitch in the bottom of the ninth. Ken Korach signed off for the last time this year. It was agreed that the A’s needed to improve their relief pitching for next season. A couple of people told me that they liked my shirt. I saw a lot of people buying some chicken and shrimp with rice, so I decided to get some, too. It tasted OK, although I saw that my portion appeared to be smaller than what other people were getting. Jamey Johnson played the next set, which I listened to as someone’s dog was napping near me. He played songs like “Long Black Veil,” “Midnight Rider,” “This Land is Your Land,” and “I Saw the Light.” I think I’d rather hear other people do those songs. I bought a blueberry smoothie and felt better after drinking it. I found a bench seat and watched some people playing with a Hula Hoop. I saw a woman selling cookies. I sure didn’t feel like eating cookies on this afternoon. Los Lobos took the stage just after five o’clock, and I thought they were one of the best bands of the day. They let us know that they had a new album out. I followed them in the years from 1984 to 1987, but I don’t know about their recent music. I skipped the last ten minutes of their set so that I could walk to the next stage. The overlap of some sets was a little disappointing. What always strikes me at these festival is that a lot of people are terrible listeners, talking over everything. I really don’t want to hear everyone’s commentary on what’s going on. Emmylou Harris and Rodney Crowell began playing at 5:45. They played familiar songs from albums from the 70s, like “Wheels,” “Pancho and Lefty,” “Ooh Las Vegas,” and “Luxury Liner.” I thought that Crowell sounded like one of the Everly Brothers at times, and they did sing “Love Hurts.” The went past seven o’clock to bring out Steve Earle and Gillian Welch for one last song. It was a good last day for the festival because it didn’t get too cold out there during the last couple of hours. I walked all the way out to Geary to catch a bus. I listened to the Saints-Cowboys game on the radio. I heard that the Raiders had lost in Chicago, while the 49ers played poorly against the Packers. I took BART back home. An angry woman in a wheelchair kept telling people to get out of her way. I finally got home just after nine o’clock, and saw at my door a package from Amazon containing my CD player. It might be an outdated device, but I still would like to listen to those discs. I watched the end of a Columbo episode with Leslie Nielsen. After 90 minutes, it was the shots and the alarm that told the tale of the murder. I felt too tired to do any work. I didn’t want to see Charles Nelson Reilly and Robert Clary on Celebrity Bowling. As I was getting ready to go to work, I heard on the news that the city of San Jose was denied their Supreme Court appeal in their attempt to attract the A’s to move. A’s fans must be feeling better at this news. Some of the people who died on October 5 include Tecumseh (1813), Jacques Offenbach (1880), Gloria Graham (1981), Eddie Kendricks (1992), Rodney Dangerfield (2004), and Steve Jobs (2011). Today is a birthday for Kate Winslet (40), Maya Lin (56), Karen Allen (64), and Bob Geldof (64). According to the Brandon Brooks Rewind radio segment for October 5, “The Ten Commandments” was released in 1956. In 1959, Bobby Darin’s “Mack the Knife” was Number One on the singles chart. In 1961, the Audrey Hepburn movie “Breakfast at Tiffany’s” was released. In 1974, Olivia Newton-John had the Number One hit, “I Honestly Love You.” In 1978, “The Boys From Brazil” was released.

This entry was posted in Music. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

