Derek Carr’s Intercepted Pass

I awoke and watched CBS Sunday Morning segments about lionfish, Charles Koch, and Dr. Phil. My mother phoned me and warned me to drink enough water for the hot afternoon out at the stadium. I went over to the coffee shop and had a strawberry-banana smoothie. I watched a few minutes of the Partridge Family episode “Go Directly to Jail” before going out to catch the bus. I bought a chicken salad sandwich from Walgreens, which made me think briefly of “My Sister Eileen.” I listened to Wait, Wait, Don’t Tell Me as I rode the bus to the Fruitvale BART station. I got to the stadium early. I was tempted to buy a bottle of water from one of those people with their ice chests. I keep wondering why the cops don’t crack down on them for selling beer. The ticket taker asked me where I got my plastic bag with the Raiders logo. I browsed through the team store before taking my seat. The other people in my row would be late arrivals. I sat watching the highlights of other games on the big screen. The Bears were playing pretty well against the Chiefs. I saw Sebastian Janikowski practicing his kicking, and he missed a field goal try. We would see another group of paratroopers land in the stadium. We had a moment of silence for Al LoCasale, and two members of his family lit the torch. I’ll always remember listening to him answer questions from the fans on the radio. The fan behind me would yell constantly about Peyton Manning throughout the entire afternoon. The cheerleaders wore pink to send a message about breast cancer awareness. The Raiders got the ball to begin the game, and they moved the ball for a while before stalling. Sebastian Janikowski passed Tim Brown for the team record for most games played, with 241, but he would have a field goal attempt from 38 yards blocked. The Raider defense was playing well, and the quarter ended with the score at 0-0. The Broncos scored the first points of the game with a field goal. About three minutes later, the Raiders would answer with a touchdown pass to Marcel Reece. This would be the highlight for the offense during this game. The highlight on defense would be two interceptions of Peyton Manning by Charles Woodson. He seemed to be in pain from a shoulder injury. We saw two women playing a trivia game about the team, but the questions seemed too hard for them. I didn’t know when John Madden was inducted into the Pro Football Hall of Fame, either. Well, the half ended with that 7-3. During the halftime break, we watched some guys on bicycles doing some stunts. I don’t think this crowd would have been impressed unless the bikes were motorbikes. The third quarter saw the Broncos creeping closer with the score, making it 7-6. Sebastian Janikowski’s failure with two of his field goal attempts would prove to be critical in the final score. The Broncos made it 9-7. The first play of the fourth quarter was the second of Janikowski’s misses. The Raiders looked as if they could back with another drive, but then Derek Carr would make a fatal mistake. It was interception on a third down play, and went the other way for a touchdown. The change was from a two-point game to a nine-point game. It seemed to be the result of miscommunication between Carr and Amari Cooper. A bizarre thing happened during the play.  The Blue Angels flew overhead like some kind of exclamation point to the play.  At this point, it looked doubtful that the Raiders would score twice to put up ten more points. They would get a late field goal to get the score to 16-10. They couldn’t recover an onside kick, and the Broncos ran out the clock. The game was a missed opportunity for the Raiders. Someone had spilled beer on my bag, which disgusted me. I headed to the BART station. One woman pushed aside a man with a cane in showing her way into the train. The callers to the postgame radio show vented about Sebastian Janikowski and the screen pass on fourth down. I went back home and listened to the Robert Hilburn Rock ‘n’ Roll Times radio program on KCSN. He played songs from Neil Young’s “Harvest Moon” album. I liked “Unknown Legend.” The program ended with David Bowie’s “Heroes,” taken from one of the Bridge School benefit concerts. My favorite Neil Young album might be “Harvest,” although I also like “Tonight’s the Night” and “Comes a Time.” I went to buy a fish burrito as I listened to the end of the game between the Blue Jays and the Rangers. I can hardly believe that 22 years have passed since the Blue Jays won the World Series against the Phillies. On television, the 49ers would lose to the Giants. They showed the winning touchdown too many times. The Giants are ahead of the Cowboys in the standings, which seems pretty remarkable. The Patriots continue to win, and I’m afraid I might be seeing them at the Super Bowl in Santa Clara. I watched the end of the Columbo episode “Short Fuse,” which had Roddy McDowall and William Windom at the end. Sometimes I wonder about Columbo’s true abilities as a detective. Sometimes it is a ruse and deception that gets him to his goal, rather than deductive reasoning. I was too sleepy to stay up late. I showered and felt grateful that I had a day off work because of the holiday. I slept a bit late and watched a bit of Match Game before leaving the apartment. I watched students getting their cups of coffee. I saw a post from yesterday’s game from someone I knew. I for a moment thought about commenting but stopped myself. I was so glad that I did not have to submit a roster for my class over this weekend. I kept thinking about the paycheck that I would get on Friday. A person should be able to relax a bit on a day off. That means taking a nap and listening to some music, and catching a movie. I still don’t think I want to see “Pan,” however. Some of the people who died on October 12 include Gene Vincent (1971), Johnny Olson (1985), John Denver (1997), Wilt Chamberlain (1999), and Willie Shoemaker (2003). Today is a birthday for Dick Gregory (83). According to the Brandon Brooks Rewind radio segment for October 12, The Beatles recorded their song “Run for Your Life” in five takes in 1965. In 1966, Sammy Davis Jr. appeared in the Batman episode “The Clock King’s Crazy Crimes.” In 1969, DJ Russ Gibb at WKNR in Detroit received a phone call telling him that John Lennon says “I buried Paul” at the end of Strawberry Fields Forever,” fueling rumors about the death of Paul McCartney.

This entry was posted in Sports. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

