Hotel Transylvania 2

I found it very difficult to get out of bed because it was dark until nearly seven o’clock. I watched some television and went over to the coffee shop for a mango smoothie. I went out to do my laundry while listened to the CD of “The Art of McCartney.” I am always glad to have clean socks. I thought about not going out to see a movie, but it seemed a shame not to go out on a holiday. I didn’t want to take a trip out to Emeryville to see “Everest” in 3D. I could have seen “The Intern,” but I passed on it this time in favor of “Hotel Transylvania 2.” There were too many kids there, making too much noise. This was my preparation for Halloween. It seemed that I had much more fun with these movies when I was a kid. Do any of these kids have any real sense of humor or imagination? I had not seen “Hotel Transylvania,” but I had the feeling it wasn’t important. I was expecting Adam Sandler’s annoying qualities to come through even through the animation, and I thought I was right about that. This movie was really just your typical family and in-law comedy, only with one of the families consisting of monsters. It seemed that they were Jewish monsters at that. If I were the human married to the vampire, I would be afraid of the results. Humans can’t live with monsters. The humor in the movie involved things like political correctness and social media, which I think are two terrible topics for humor. I don’t want to see cell phones in a movie with monsters. To aim this movie at the very young, they had to do some of these things which I thought were extremely irritating. The thought of children wasting their lives with phones was scarier than anything about Halloween or monsters. The jokes about parenting were present to draw the adults. The content of the comedy is put together in this way intended to increase the marketability of the movie. I really hate that. The script wasn’t hilarious. The moment I liked was with Mavis and the bicycle. I thought the California setting of Santa Cruz was something out of “The Lost Boys.” The plot was predictable because they had to be setting up the possibility of “Hotel Transylvania 3.” The young parents made me afraid that the new generation is being brought up by fools. The movie was amusing enough for the kids, although I couldn’t see why they would make a liking to these characters. The monsters had gone soft. I don’t want likable monsters. Mel Brooks was Vlad. The reason he would have been good in this story is that he directed “Young Frankenstein” so many years ago. He had a sense of blending comedy and horror. I’d rather see “Jurassic Park” than “Hotel Transylvania 2” again. I really didn’t want to hear the concerns of a young vampire mother. I go to the movies to get away from those women. The cast included people like Selena Gomez, Kevin James, Steve Buscemi, and David Spade. The audience was better than the reviews. Adam Sandler is now 49 years old. I would think that one of these days he will become an adult. The movie ended at about 2:20. It was a film that I wasn’t enthusiastic about because of my memories of The Munsters and The Addams Family. I thought back to “Mad Monster Party” and wondered if it would be any good if I saw it again today. With all the success that “Hotel Transylvania 2” is having, it seems like another sequel is a certainty. One thing about animated films is that you can replace a cast member, and many people won’t notice, like what happened with Murray the Mummy. I can’t imagine the kids caring about any changes, even if it was Adam Sandler. I walked out into an afternoon that was hotter than I anticipated. I went home and took a nap. I watched The Big Bang Theory and wondered where the physics went. I don’t want to see a show that’s about nothing but relationships. I watched Match Game and saw Nipsey Russell fail to answer one question, although it didn’t affect the outcome of the game. One of the contestants gave two bad answers, so I wondered if the boos from the audience had been edited out. I noticed that “1492: Conquest of Paradise” was on one of the channels, but I couldn’t bring myself to watch it. It seemed so lackluster. “Hair” was on one of the movie channels. I could imagine people like Bruce Springsteen or Madonna being in it, although I don’t know if Springsteen could dance. I thought that several lively and memorable movies were released in 1979, including “Breaking Away.” Milos Forman was still in the middle of his peak years as a director. I listened to the end of the Mets-Dodgers game. After the Dodgers scored the first three runs, I thought the Mets were in trouble, but they reeled off a lot of runs. The Cubs won, making me think that they could win the pennant. Josh Donaldson hit another home run for the Blue Jays, setting up a fifth game for all the marbles. The Royals came back in the late innings to pull one out against the Astros. Elvis Costello and Darlene Love were on the Stephen Colbert show, but I didn’t want to stay up to watch it. I would have enjoyed seeing Darlene Love come back to sing her Christmas song. I wonder what Paul Shaffer is doing these days. In the local news this morning was the arrival of three young people charged with murder: Morrison Haze Lampley, Sean Michael Angold, and Lila Scott Alligood. Also, the treatment of astronomy professor Geoff Marcy concerning sex harassment claims was controversial. Some of the people who died on October 13 include Claudius (54 AD), Millard Mitchell (1953), Clifton Webb (1966), Josef Krips (1974), and Ed Sullivan (1974). Today is a birthday for Jerry Rice (53), Marie Osmond (56), Demond Wilson (69), and Paul Simon (74). According to the Brandon Brooks Rewind radio segment for October 14, “Butch Cassidy and the Sundance Kid” was the Number One movie at the box office in 1969. In 1979, Michael Jackson’s single “Don’t Stop ‘Til You Get Enough” hit Number One. In 1984, Stevie Wonder had the Number One single, “I Just Called to Say I Love You.” In 2004, the Internal Revenue Service charged Ronald Isley of five counts of tax evasion, for which he would eventually be sentenced to three years in prison.

This entry was posted in Movies. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

