The Art of McCartney

I went out to the office and printed out two tests. Even doing that much made us feel sleepy. I did extra work because of the holiday on Monday. I hurried home and listened to the news about the baseball games. The Blue Jays and the Royals won their games to meet up in the next round like in 1985. I watched the DVD of “The Art of McCartney.” I couldn’t understand why someone like Billy Joel got two tracks on the final album. I could hear him doing “Maybe I’m Amazed,” but not “Live and Let Die.” In fact, I’ve already heard Rod Stewart sing “Maybe I’m Amazed,” so I wondered why he wasn’t on the album. What about Elton John, who had “Get Back” on one of his live albums, or U2, with “Helter Skelter”? Watching the video, there were three songs that weren’t on the album. It sounded like Darlene Love was doing a good job with “All My Loving,” but that cut was missing, along with Alice Cooper’s “Smile Away” and Wanda Jackson’s “Run Devil Run.” Actually, I don’t think that I’m too anxious to hear that Alice Cooper track. Besides, we hear him on “Eleanor Rigby.” The funny thing was that earlier in the video, Ann Wilson talked about creepy versions of “Eleanor Rigby.” I thought the best pairing of song and artist was “The Long and Winding Road” with Cat Stevens, who did have his own song “On the Road to Find Out.” That song was in “Harold and Maude,” of course, and also the 1971 KCET concert video. I could see a fit with Steve Miller and “Junior’s Farm,” but I don’t know why he also had “Hey Jude.” It seemed that there was room for Darlene Love and Wanda Jackson on the album. I could see Smokey Robinson with “So Bad,” although it seemed a shame not to have him do a better known song, like “And I Love Her.” Dion and Bob Dylan were both on the Sgt. Pepper album cover, and their songs are “Drive My Car” and “Things We Said Today,” respectively. What I liked about “Things We Said Today” was that he sounded like a track from “Natural Born Killers,” although the one I’m thinking about is a Leonard Cohen song. Barry Gibb sings “When I’m 64.” I thought his track sounded thin compared with the Bee Gees. I also thought he should be embarrassed singing this song with the memory of the disastrous Sgt. Pepper movie with Peter Frampton. “Hello Goodbye” by The Cure made me think of “Come On Eileen.” I don’t know why B.B. King sang “On the Way.” Wasn’t there something else in the vast catalog for him? He died on May 14 of this year, and he had Alzheimer’s disease. Willie Nelson was in the studio for “Yesterday.” His guitar was so beat up with a hole in it that you’d think he’d use another one. Is that one guitar so precious to you, Willie? It felt like the most notable omission from the video was Brian Wilson, whose contribution was “Wanderlust.” The track felt like a complement to “Sloop John B.” “Wanderlust” was one of my favorite tracks on the album, which I will have to confess I haven’t heard too many times. On the other hand, I was rather relieved that I didn’t see Harry Connick, Jr. in the video recording “My Love.” Cher used to sing “My Love,” and I think I’d rather listen to her. I didn’t want to hear any of the younger singers. It’s like the discussion I had with the security guard at work about the cartoon voices that have changed since Mel Blanc’s death, and the different Muppet voices. It’s like the remakes of old movies. Some of the other people who didn’t appear in the video were Allen Toussaint, Dr. John, and Sammy Hagar. Since the Ramones took their name from Paul’s pseudonym, I wonder if they could have tackled one of his songs for the album. They did once record Phil Spector’s “Baby I Love You” for one of their albums. The whole project started with work on the movie “The In-Laws.” A lot of work went into the album, even the result was something that I wouldn’t listen to that much when I already have the original records. The one tribute album that I’ve listened to many times was the one for Gram Parsons. However, I don’t have any memories of Gram Parsons while he was still alive. I saw that the movie “Gandhi” was on television through the early hours last night. I watched the end of it, and it brought back some strong memories of those days of 1982. I couldn’t believe that Richard Attenborough could go from “Gandhi” to “Cry Freedom” in the matter of five years. It was a lackluster film that ended with a chase. “Children of Men” would take that same path. What happened to Lamar Odom? That cocaine is deadly. I saw that James Farentino was in the episode of Night Gallery. Me TV seems to watch the same episodes frequently. The A’s have fired Tye Waller. I have to question whether that makes any difference at all. What does a first base coach do? The A’s have a long way to catch up to the Rangers and the Astros since they lost 94 games this season. Geoffrey Marcy resigned. I have to wonder how someone like him could behave so stupidly. These professors live in an insulated world and lose touch with reality. It is a real waste of a career. I have a strong interest in astronomy. I could not get back to sleep, so I watched a Cat Stevens video and worked on my writing. I am glad that I am not visiting fantasy sports websites. I am predicting that an investigation will turn up evidence that they are crooked. I don’t know if I want to vote for Hillary. I don’t truly want to vote for anybody. If I could get through Thursday I would feel good because I have a payday coming up. Some of the people who died on October 15 include Mata Hari (1917), Cole Porter (1964), Frank DeKova (1981). Today is a birthday for Sarah Ferguson (56), Tanya Roberts (60), Tito Jackson (62), Richard Carpenter (69), Penny Marshall (72), and Linda Lavin (78). According to the Brandon Brooks Rewind radio segment for October 15, the last Otis Redding studio album, “Complete & Unbelievable: The Otis Redding Dictionary of Soul,” was released in 1966. In 1967, “Bonnie and Clyde” was Number One at the box office. In 1985, a black and white episode of “Moonlighting” with an introduction by Orson Welles was aired on ABC five days after Welles’ death.

This entry was posted in Music. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

