Napoleon Dynamite

I went out to the office and did some work before I took the bus to the Grand Lake Theatre. I was there to see “The Martian” for a second time. At this point in its release, it was screened in one of the smaller rooms, but still in 3D. I still couldn’t accept Matt Damon as being tough enough to be a survivor. I couldn’t imagine him knowing anything about botany, either. I found it hard to believe that Chinese space technology could be that good. They supposed had a secret booster that made the rescue attempt possible. It was exhausting watching the movie. Damon wouldn’t be able to do all those things himself. I took the bus out to Emeryville. I searched Best Buy for a Blu-ray copy of “Mad Max: Fury Road” but couldn’t find any. I went over to Target to buy the lamp that I needed after my old one nearly killed me. After I came home, I watched the Partridge Family episode “When Mother Gets Married.” In the mail, I saw my Partridge Family trading cards. I listened to the end of the Royals-Blue Jays game. I was rather relieved that Josh Donaldson made the last out. I saw a message from the A’s ticket office telling me where my new seat location would be. I watched “Napoleon Dynamite” on Blu-ray. It has lost a lot of its impact over the years, and Napoleon’s behavior doesn’t seem so wacky now. We’ve seen high school shootings, so the images of the bullies have an uncomfortable feeling to it. People like Uncle Rio are funny. This guy was reliving his dreams from 1982, but I hadn’t realized that it was so long ago. A lot of the details are amusing, like the llama named Tina, and Deb’s photography. I liked how people were still using videocassettes in this movie. I thought one of the funniest things in the movie was the sign language bit to the song “The Rose.” I kept wondering what happened to Tina Majorino, because I couldn’t imagine that she could accomplish anything that matched this for the rest of her career. I wondered how much practice Jon Heder put into that dance number at the end. It was supposed to inspire an entire auditorium full of teenagers, and I didn’t know if that was possible. What happened to Pedro? The Blu-ray edition seemed better than the DVD. The special features included two commentary tracks, but I didn’t want to listen to them. The movie was filmed in Idaho. It did not inspire me to visit the location. Some of the actors seemed far too old to be in high school. How old was Don? I kept thinking that Napoleon shouldn’t have been eating tater tots in class. In all the years that he was in school, he didn’t develop any smarts in talking to people or revealing things to them. I thought Summer’s sidekick Trisha was better looking than she was. Roger Ebert gave the movie a negative review. Maybe he wasn’t as hip as I always thought he was. What if Jack Black had appeared in the movie? I watched Howard Stern on Jimmy Kimmel’s show. Four of the Mets also made an appearance, although I didn’t recognize any of them. I would have recognized Yoenis Cespedes and Bartolo Colon, of course. I stayed up to see Mel Brooks’ appearance on the James Corden show. Brooks still seemed to be in decent shape for his age, although I don’t know if he could come up with anything like “The Producers” or “Blazing Saddles” again. Corden did a bit with throwing fast food through a car window as the car drove past. All I could think during the bit was that it was a waste of a lot of food. Some of the people who died on October 24 include Jackie Robinson (1972), Edith Head (1981), Gene Roddenberry (1991), Raul Julia (1994), and Rosa Parks (2005). Today is a birthday for Kevin Kline (68), Bill Wyman (79), and Y.A. Tittle (89). According to the Brandon Brooks Rewind radio segment for October 24, James Brown recorded his “Live at the Apollo” album in 1962. In 1969, Richard Burton bought a $1 million necklace for Elizabeth Taylor. In 1991, Gene Roddenberry died at age 70. In 1994, Raul Julia died from complications of a stroke at age 54.

This entry was posted in Movies. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

