Steve Jobs

I watched CBS Sunday Morning and got a phone call from my parents. On the television, I saw a segment about the life of the late Maureen O’Hara. I also saw a report about Phan Thi Kim Phuc, the Vietnamese girl in the famous photo showing her suffering from napalm burns. She is now 52 years old. My mother wanted to know I dealt with the lamp that exploded. After going grocery shopping, I took the buses out to Jack London Square. I ate two tacos. I bought a ticket to see “Steve Jobs.” I didn’t see this version of the Jobs story as being fantastically better than the Ashton Kutcher version, but I think you had to be a smarter person to follow it and appreciate it. There was a lot of talking in this one, so that it could have been made into a three-act play. Michael Fassbender reminded me of Viggo Mortensen and Christian Bale. I thought he gave a good performance. I wonder if it’s difficult to act like a jerk for the camera. Fassbender did a good job of it, as he denied that his daughter was his daughter. Jobs seemed to have delusions about himself. I never saw him as a genius. He was driven, and he was smart enough to know that the people who designed computers and tech products were out of touch with the general public, but that doesn’t mean that he should be compared to Albert Einstein. The movie focuses on the points in time before product launches, starting in 1984. We were wowed by the Ridley Scott commercial, and it marked the start of something. Jobs was saying that we would pay more for something that was easier to use. He seemed like a lunatic, concerned with details like the exit signs in the building and his shirt pocket. Kate Winslet was Joanna Hoffman, and she suffered a lot. Winslet seemed to be doing a Meryl Streep impersonation, and I didn’t recognize her for a while. Her Polish accent did wear me down after a while, though. Seth Rogen was Steve Wozniak, and I liked watching him, although the character had mostly one note, which was that he and his group needed to be acknowledged. Maybe he will get more credit with the passage of time. Jeff Daniels was John Sculley, the man who went from Pepsi to computers. I saw this movie two days after seeing “The Martian,” and Daniels seemed to be playing the same character in both. I thought back to the Daniels of “The Purple Rose of Cairo” and “Something Wild” and how different he was in those days. When Jobs exhausted us, the movie jumped forward to 1988 and the unveiling of the Next computer. The setting was the San Francisco Opera House. I don’t know why this thing had to be a cube. The design should have been for the user, if Jobs was looking at things clearly. The movie shows the failures that Jobs went through and builds towards his success. That is better than the usual success story, where the dramatic moment comes in the middle of the movie, so that the second half lingers on what we don’t care about. The movie jumps forward another ten years. Jobs’ daughter is going to Harvard, and she is still listening to music through a Walkman. I’m not sure why she didn’t have a CD player at this point. How long could Jobs sustain his success? The iPod, iPad, and iPhone weren’t part of this movie. We’ve seen updates to those products, but we have to wonder what the Jobs strategy would have been these past few years. A person has only so much innovation to give. You have to think about Jobs’ mistake with the woman who would become the mother of her daughter. Personal relationships are an Achilles heel for the greatest geniuses. Jobs’ love of Bob Dylan goes against one of the things we associate him with, which is simplicity. The movie ends before some of Jobs’ glory years, so that we don’t see how he deals with cancer. That was another mistake for Jobs. That was his biggest mistake. He couldn’t see that part of his life clearly, either. The audience liked this movie quite a bit. I liked the movie, too, although I don’t own any Apple products, and I don’t think of him as a god. After seeing two movies about Steve Jobs, I have had enough. It’s difficult to make a biographical film that is any good. Neither of these movies made me want to know Steve Jobs or anything more about his life. They seemed like evidence that he was a jerk. I kept wondering what his daughter did at Harvard. I’m reading this morning that “Steve Jobs” was a flop at the box office. One of the trailers before the movie was for “Joy,” with Jennifer Lawrence and Bradley Cooper, but it didn’t seem very appealing to me. I think that I would like to see “The Peanuts Movie,” though. I listened to the Raiders game in San Diego as I made my way back home. I was very surprised to hear that the score was 37-6. I was not so surprised that the Chargers came back to make the score 37-29. That loose prevent defense is always damaging. The Raiders did hang on to win the game. I listened to the Robert Hilburn Rock ‘n’ Roll Times program on KCSN, which focused on Eric Clapton. My favorite song was “Layla.” I’ll always remember hearing it at the end of “GoodFellas.” I watched the beginning of the Columbo episode called “Greenhouse Jungle” with Ray Milland, but I fell asleep. I kept thinking about the palm prints that were on the back of the car. I watched a bit of “Modern Family,” seeing that Sofia Vergara was having difficulty riding a bicycle. I saw the end of “The Last Man on Earth.” Two of the people did not deal with the bacon very well. On the news was a report about a cracker from the Titanic selling for $23,000. The person isn’t even going to eat it. On the radio just before midnight, I heard about the tourist attractions at Bodega. I’m not sure I would go back there just to see the locations for “The Birds” and the memorabilia in the general store. The more that I see Donald Trump and Ben Carson on the news, the more I think that the Republicans will be in deep trouble in the presidential election next year. Someone asked me what I was going to do with my extra Super Bowl ticket. My initial intention wasn’t to sell it, but to go with someone who really wants to go with me to the game and appreciate it. I wasn’t trying to make money. I took out the mail I got from the NFL and looked it over again. I thought it was a shame that we didn’t get a World Series game on a Sunday night. My first Warriors game will be on November 8. Some of the people who died on October 26 include Hattie McDaniel (1952), Nikos Kazantzakis (1957), Wilbert Harrison (1994), Hoyt Axton (1999), and Arthur Hill (2006). Today is a birthday for Rita Wilson (59), Bootsy Collins (64), Hillary Clinton (68), Pat Sajak (69), and Jaclyn Smith (70). According to the Brandon Brooks Rewind radio segment for October 26, the James Dean film “Rebel Without a Cause” opened in 1955. In 1984, the Melanie Griffith movie “Body Double” was released. In 1985, Whitney Houston had her first Number One hit, “Saving All My Love for You.” In 1999, Hoyt Axton, who wrote “Joy to the World,” died of a heart attack at age 61.

This entry was posted in Movies. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

