In Search of Lost Time: Swann’s Way

I read news reports about red meat as the cause of cancer. The day at work was rather tiring because things went wrong, and some of the staff was missing. At a bus stop, I ran into a former student who told me that her last math teacher was terrible. I told her that I wasn’t going to be teaching the class she needed to take next semester. When I returned home, I had to take a nap. I read the graphic novel “In Search of Lost Time: Swann’s Way.” It was an adaptation of Marcel Proust done by Stéphane Heuet. There was a lot to appreciate in it. Many of the illustrations were beautiful, giving you a feeling of Paris at the time. A madeleine cookie dipped in tea triggers memories. The moment isn’t quite so dramatic on the page. The account of the narrator’s boyhood has one incident that stuck in my mind, when Marcel spills the beans about a woman. He didn’t know to keep his mouth shut as a youth. We see quite a few prostitutes in this book. Marcel’s story made me think of “Hope and Glory,” which I saw recently. The early part of the book had a different look to it, something like Tintin, than the later section. The part with Charles Swann and Odette de Crécy made me think back to Gustave Flaubert. There were a lot of references to music, like Chopin and Mozart. One of the incidents I liked was Swann spying and tapping at the wrong window. I really enjoyed that last part with Gilberte. The scenes in the Champs-Elysées and the frozen Seine brought back similar memories of my own. Somehow, I couldn’t get the image of the marble out of my mind. I could appreciate how Marcel could like this girl so much, but his behavior was so obvious that it seemed he would have great problems dealing with society. It was curious how he wanted to see Gilberte’s mother. I’m not sure that I would ever want to meet any girl’s mother. I could see readers getting impatient with all of this, especially Americans with their way of speaking bluntly. I read a helpful review of the book by Glen Weldon, dated July 12, 2015. I never learned enough French to attempt to read Proust’s original text. I would think that I missed out on a lot in reading the novel, much less this graphic novel. When I see the characters laughing ridiculously, I thought about Howard Chaykin. I read this graphic novel because I’m seeing young people at the library reading through graphic novels more than traditional novels. I don’t know too many young people who have a strong command of the English language. They often think too literally. This book feels like it could have been improved by going past the literal. The images of France are impressive, but we want something more. I didn’t learn much about Heuet on the Internet, other than the fact that he was born in 1957. This book has sparked some interest in me to go back and read the Proust books, although in English instead of French. I read a little bit about Marcel Proust’s last three years of life, when he was confined to his bedroom working on his writing. He died on November 18, 1922. I never saw the movie “Swann in Love” with Jeremy Irons and Fanny Ardant. The director was Volker Schlöndorff, who had done “The Tin Drum” earlier in his career. Roger Ebert’s review of the movie said that we don’t really learn very much form it. The opening pages of the graphic novel showed a projector, which made me think of “Fanny and Alexander.” If I have some time in the coming months, I’d like to go through this book again. It had numerous ideas and images in it that were worth looking at again. I can’t say that about most of the graphic novels I’ve read. I watched the first episode of “Supergirl,” which was amusing, although it seems that way too many people already know her identity, and there are too many people who came over from Krypton. The episode was more entertaining than the 1984 movie with Helen Slater, which was quite such a mess that Faye Dunaway was unable to do much with it. It looked like Dean Cain had put on quite a bit of weight. I read my book until I finished it, and was too tired at the end of it to do any more work. Proust is exhausting, and I shouldn’t have followed it with junk television. It was a cloudy morning, and we’ve been told there will be rain tomorrow. I heard some discouraging news about the possible Raiders move to Carson. One team may receive permission to move to Los Angeles next season. It seems that this whole mess started when the Rams moved to Anaheim in 1980. I wonder what the mood will be like at the Coliseum on Sunday. The polls show Ben Carson ahead of Donald Trump. It seems that there is such a thing as timing. If you’re out there too long getting media exposure for every single thing you say, the public will get tired of you very quickly. I tried to focus on my work and getting through another week. I eat a chicken salad wrap, but my food didn’t taste very good. I couldn’t understand how a character in a Proust novel can have a madeleine and experience a flood of memories. All I can ever think about is how much sugar I’m ingesting. I certainly don’t feel the inspiration to write a novel. This morning the KPIX news anchors chewed on some bacon in defiance of the medical study. They’re risking their lives with every strip of bacon they eat. Frank Mallicoat seemed especially happy with the food. I headed to the office determined to get a lot of work done. I didn’t want my students to have a bad opinion of me. This year is coming to an end soon, and it has been a terrible year. Some of the people who died on October 27 include Lew Parker (1972), James M. Cain (1977), Xavier Cugat (1990), Jacques Demy (1990), and Morey Amsterdam (1996). Today is a birthday for Simon Le Bon (57), Roberto Benigni (63), Jayne Kennedy (64), and John Cleese (76). According to the Brandon Brooks Rewind radio segment for October 27, Salvatore Philip Bono and Cherilyn Sarkisian La Piere, better known as Sonny and Cher, were married in 1964. In 1984, Ted Turner launched the Cable Music Channel as an alternative to MTV. In 1988, the Western television series “Paradise” made its debut on CBS.

This entry was posted in Books. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

