Forrest Gump

I avoided some of the early morning rain yesterday, but I had to go to work. At least my feet didn’t get wet. The sun came out before my shift ended. I was quite tired when I returned home. I watched “Forrest Gump” again, only on Blu-ray this time. More than twenty years have passed since I first saw this movie. I remember that Billy Wilder said that he liked it. I like the way it touches on a person’s life, even though that life is impossible. When Forrest meets Elvis Presley, something seems to be going on, but then he also crosses paths with Bear Bryant and George Wallace. A lot of things happened in Alabama. I can’t picture Bill Murray or Chevy Chase in the role of Forrest. They would sound strange speaking in a Southern accent. Maybe John Travolta would have done a good job. Sometimes the special effects are apparent, and you can tell that the dialogue is dubbed at certain moments. It’s still pretty remarkable what they did with the scenes with the presidents. I thought the one with LBJ was very amusing. A couple of the aerial shots made me think of the recent movie “The Walk.” The person who obtain the music rights to all those songs on the soundtrack must have worked hard. I think it was worth it, though, because the music adds a lot to the movie. I especially liked the use of “Fortunate Son” and “Running On Empty.” They didn’t use any Beatles or Rolling Stones songs, and Jenny sings the Bob Dylan song. Seeing this movie again, I wasn’t thrilled with Robin Wright as Jenny. I couldn’t see Demi Moore as being good in the role, but I thought that Nicole Kidman might be a good fit. Robin Wright actually reminded me of Julia Roberts at various moments. In Vietnam, I always wondered why Forrest didn’t try to retrieve his helmet when it fell off his head. When he tried his hand with the shrimp boat, it seemed to me that there was no guarantee that he could succeed even when the other boats were destroyed because he looked like he was bad at the job. Forrest was sure on television a lot, so I was surprised at the people who said that they didn’t know him. He kept on saying that he and Jenny were like peas and carrots, although the contention was questionable. I’m not sure that peas and carrots even go together very well in the first place. I kept wondering how the years were going by. There was a big jump in time from Forrest as a young kid and then as a teenager. I didn’t notice how long Forrest spent with the Army. He must have developed his ping pong skills very quickly. The scene with John Lennon and Dick Cavett was very curious. John was quoting lines from “Imagine.” He didn’t seem to be looking right at Forrest. I liked the scene in Washington where Forrest and Jenny have their reunion, although I didn’t really like the cliché of the people around them applauding, like out of a romantic comedy. Did I last see that happen in “Trainwreck”? Forrest’s speech was “Sometimes when people go to Vietnam, they go home to their mommas without any legs. Sometimes they don’t go home at all. That’s a bad thing. That’s all I have to say about that.” One thing that is funny is that Sally Field plays Forrest’s mother, although in real life she’s only ten years older than Tom Hanks. They were in “Punchline” together. I think the movie slows down too much after Forrest’s mother dies. Forrest spends three years running across the country, and according to IMDB, it was from July 5, 1976 to September 19, 1979. It’s like the Jimmy Carter years weren’t worth talking about. Forrest doesn’t meet either Carter or Reagan. Forrest’s long hair and beard certainly didn’t look real, which is funny in a movie with such impressive special effects. According to a lot of other people, Forrest started running on October 1, 1979 based on the news report about Jimmy Carter, which means he ended his run on December 15, 1982. However, he definitely had his reunion with Jenny before March 22, 1982, so that timeline doesn’t work. The music of Jackson Browne and Fleetwood Mac suggested that he might have been running during 1977. According to what I read about the history of the Smiley face, it was created well before 1976. Forrest Jr. is the little kid who would be in “The Sixth Sense.” Forrest says that he was the most beautiful thing he’d ever seen. Forrest says things like this a lot. It felt like he had about a thousand happiest days of his life. I thought that Jenny was his only friend, abut then so was Bubba. I had to wonder what happened to Lt. Dan. I really didn’t want to see a sequel to this movie, but I guess it might happen. I read a bit about Winston Groom. He went to the University of Alabama, and served in the Army in Vietnam from 1965 to 1969. He has written history books about wars, and he published the Forrest Gump novel in 1986. He is 73 years old now. I thought the movie on Blu-ray was better than on DVD, although the gap isn’t as wide as for some movies. Tom Hanks earned a fortune on it, making me wonder why he made any movies at all after that kind of a windfall. I wouldn’t want to subject myself to criticism with everything I do, as the people in the movie business have to do. I wonder why he did the movie with Julia Roberts. I think I could see why he’d want to be in “Saving Private Ryan,” but not “Bridge of Spies.” I fell asleep and in the middle of the night I saw the ending of the Columbo episode “Forgotten Lady” with Janet Leigh. It was one of the episodes I remember the most clearly because of the ending. I found it highly disturbing that Janet Leigh’s character was losing her memory. Some of the people who died on November 10 include Arthur Rimbaud (1891), Chuck Connors (1992), Carmen McRae (1994), Ken Kesey (2001), Jack Palance (2006), Laraine Day (2007), and Norman Mailer (2007). Today is a birthday for Neil Gaiman (55) and Mackenzie Phillips (56). According to the Brandon Brooks Rewind radio segment for November 10, Conway Twitty had his first Number One single in 1956, “It’s Only Make Believe.” In 1966, Frank Sinatra’s movie “Tony Rome” was released. In 1969, “Sesame Street” made its debut. In 1973, Elton John’s “Goodbye Yellow Brick Road” reached Number One on the album chart. In 1979, the Eagles had the Number One single, “Heartache Tonight.” In 1980, Neil Diamond’s “The Jazz Singer” soundtrack album was released.

This entry was posted in Movies. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

