Derek Carr’s Interception in the End Zone

I woke up to a rainy and cold morning, and a phone that wasn’t working. My parents did get through after a while. The sky cleared up. I walked over to Trader Joe’s to buy some food. As I prepared to leave for the stadium, I watched the Partridge Family episodes “They Shoot Managers, Don’t They?” and “Partridge Up a Pear Tree.” I took the bus out to the Fruitvale BART station, falling asleep on the bus for a few minutes. I didn’t hear any of the fans talking about the mayor’s visit to New York to talk to a group of NFL owners. It was windy out, and some dust got in my eye. I didn’t see much of an increase in security because of terrorist concerns. I did see a police dog. The ticket taker told me that he liked my eyeglasses. I took my seat and watched the highlights of the early games. The Rams weren’t doing too well. We had a moment of silence, and then a flyover. The Raiders allowed the Vikings a touchdown to open the game. The Raiders were looking flat to start this game. The Vikings increased their lead to 10-0 before the first quarter ended, and then to 13-0 before Derek Carr got going. He threw two touchdown passes in the second quarter, the first to Clive Walford, and the second to Andre Holmes. The crowd got into a frenzy as the home team took the lead in the late moments of the second quarter. The excitement was short-lived, however, as Sebastian Janikowski’s kickoff was returned 93 yards for a touchdown in what would turn out to be the turning point of the entire game. The crowd felt stunned. The halftime show was the California Marching Band with their cheerleaders, the same group I had seen on Saturday. I saw the cheerleaders barefoot on the grass. Derek Carr and the Raider offense went back to being flat, and there was no change in the score in the third quarter. When the Vikings pushed their lead to nine points at 23-14, it felt like the end of the game because it would be difficult for the Raiders to score twice. They did make the attempt with time slipping away, and Carr tried a pass into the end zone, but it was intercepted. The Vikings put the dagger through the heart with an immediate 80-yard touchdown run by Adrian Peterson. It’s amazing how the defense knew he was going to get the ball and still couldn’t stop him. Those were the last points of the game, and the loss seemed to kill the Raiders’ hopes for a playoff spot, as they now had a 4-5 record. Given how cold and windy it was, I was eager to go home. Sitting through a loss is a sad way to end a weekend. One of the highlights was the video flashback to the Super Bowl in January 1977 in which the Raiders defeated the Vikings. The camera turned to Fred Biletnikoff, the most valuable player of the game, in one of the suites. I listened to the radio postgame radio, and one of the callers complained bitterly about D.J. Hayden. I couldn’t understand how the Raiders have kept him around this long because I don’t see that he does anything at all. Everyone agreed that the defense needed upgrading, though they disagreed about how long it would take. Is Derek Carr the best young Raiders quarterback since Ken Stabler? The team has had success with older quarterbacks, like Jim Plunkett and Rich Gannon. The callers who suggested that the Raiders were still capable to a 9-7 or 10-6 record seemed unrealistic. Two of their wins were against the Chargers and the Jets, both teams that have had difficulty winning. The next home game won’t be until December 6, and the Raiders have only three home games left. They are 2-3 at the Coliseum so far. I listened to the Robert Hilburn Rock ‘n’ Roll Times radio program on KCSN. He played tracks by songwriters who had moved to Los Angeles from other parts. They included Bob Dylan, Joni Mitchell, Neil Diamond, Tom Petty, and Stevie Wonder. My favorite songs during the hour were “Both Sides, Now,” “If You Know What I Mean,” “Listen to Her Heart,” and “Living for the City.” Some of the opening tracks were from Dylan’s “Love and Theft” album. I watched a 60 Minutes segment about concussions affecting NFL players, and then I watched a bit of the Columbo episode “A Stitch in Crime” with Leonard Nimoy. The nurse was very stupid in confronting Nimoy. If she suspected that he was capable of murder, she shouldn’t have let on to him what she knew because he wasn’t going to let this woman stop him. I heard that the Patriots managed to win their game against the Giants, and Peyton Manning had a poor performance against the Chiefs. The late game had the Cardinals and Seahawks, and the Seahawks weren’t looking like a Super Bowl team. I don’t think I want to see a matchup between the Patriots and the Panthers. The Jack Benny Program is shown in the middle of the night on one of the television channels, and he had some good guests on his show, but I never see them. Lawrence Welk was in one of the episodes last night. I wasn’t looking forward to returning to work on a Monday morning. I felt cold and hungry and a bit nauseous. President Obama was on television for a press conference this morning, and I was too sleepy to hear what he was saying. Some of the people who died on November 16 include Clark Gable (1960), William Holden (1981), Ralph Edwards (2005), and Edward Woodward (2009). Today is a birthday for Missi Pyle (43) and Shigeru Miyamoto (63). According to the Brandon Brooks Rewind radio segment for November 16, “The Lost Weekend” with Ray Milland and Jane Wyman was released in 1945. In 1966, Dr. Sam Shepard, the real life inspiration for the television for the television series “The Fugitive,” was found not guilty of his wife’s murder in a retrial. In 1985, Starship hit Number One on the singles chart with “We Built This City.”

This entry was posted in Sports. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

