The Long Riders

I went out to work. The morning was pretty cold. After I returned home, I went out to a store to buy a Beatles T-shirt. I sat down to watch the third M*A*S*H episode, which featured the late Marcia Strassman. Trapper John fought a boxing match to keep her around. There was a bit of “City Lights” in the whole story. I saw the CBS Evening News with Scott Pelley. I watched the DVD of “The Long Riders,” an interesting Western with real-life brothers playing characters who were brothers. In the cast were David Carradine, Keith Carradine, Robert Carradine, James Keach, Stacy Keach, Dennis Quaid, Randy Quaid, Christopher Guest, and Nicholas Guest. David Carradine may have had the strongest screen presence of any of them, but I wouldn’t say that he was the best actor. I was impressed with Stacy Keach. It was funny how Dennis Quaid played a weak character, but it real life it turned out that Randy was the strange one who got into deep trouble. It’s sad to me that David Carradine died, and so now Keith is the one who shows up in episodes of The Big Bang Theory. David could have gone on to be in more Quentin Tarantino movies. Was the casting of brothers just a gimmick? I think it does add something meaningful to the picture. Usually in Hollywood movies, the so-called families aren’t convincing at all because there is no resemblance. The idea of the casting made me think of the recent movie “Boyhood.” Part of Walter Hill’s reputation was made from “The Warriors,” which was like a remade Western or war movie. In “The Long Riders,” he found something different to bring to the Western. I guess you could say that even “48 Hours” had something of a Western plot to it, because it did make me think of “The Paleface.” Ry Cooder wrote the music used on the soundtrack. One aspect of this movie that seems timely is the lawmen ending up killing innocent people. Christopher Guest is not recognizable as the guy who would become famous for being in “This is Spinal Tap” in a few years. The women in the world of this movie are not the most appealing. There is nobody like Katharine Ross in “Butch Cassidy and the Sundance Kid” anywhere around. If Randy Quaid scouted a bank job, I don’t think I would trust it. Keith Carradine had a musical moment, although it didn’t make up for “I’m Easy.” I remember “The Great Northfield Minnesota Raid” from my youth, and it was a movie that made an impression on me. I thought this was a pretty good movie, too, although I’m an older person now, and very few movies influence my way of thinking now. I kept thinking that it’s hard to hit a moving target when you’re shooting. Some of the slow motion shots made me think of Sam Peckinpah and “The Wild Bunch.” If you’ve got the adrenaline going, you can do some things physically even if you’ve been shot, but the gang really suffered. I thought there was something moving in the scene where Keith is bleeding and David is there near him. David has some of the best lines in the film, saying that he’d been playing a rough game. I’m not sure if the people responsible for the casting did a great job or didn’t do very much. I thought about whether James or Stacy should have been Jesse James. It did seem to be right. Well, the Keach brothers were writers and executive producers of this film. Who would want to take the roles of the Ford brothers? The ending comes about suddenly. I thought that Walter Hill started to go wrong with “Southern Comfort.” The success of “48 Hours” gave him a chance to do what he wanted, but the unfortunate choice he made was “Streets of Fire.” The whole Minnesota sequence of this movie was some of the best I’ve seen from Walter Hill, although it felt too much like “The Wild Bunch.” I can’t think of “The Long Riders” as one of the classic Westerns. I can’t think of Walter Hill as one of the great directors. The DVD had only one special feature, which was the original theatrical trailer. A feature on the making of the film would have been good. I don’t think I’m motivated to seek out any more of Walter Hill’s movies. I watched the Supergirl episode last night, and I did recognize Helen Slater and Dean Cain. There was too much crying in the episode. There should be no crying in superhero television shows. I wonder what Supergirl’s skin is like. I bet it’s not soft. Did Supergirl as a teenager have superzits? Jimmy Olson is not my favorite character, or that other guy, either. If we have a Supergirl series, then it seems that we could also have a Superdog series, too. I used to watch the Lassie television series when I was a child. I think that any dog from Krypton would not have the same adventures. I wonder what the fleas from Krypton would be like. The episode showed a Thanksgiving dinner that didn’t go as expected. It was one of those instances of revealing something at the dinner table. Moments like that made me think of how much of the content is aimed at young girls. I listened to the radio and a discussion of the words of the year. The reporter didn’t seem to understand the concept of “they” as a gender-neutral pronoun. The people who discuss all these trends in the media are complete idiots. The word of the year should be an actual word. The trends in communication are all stupid because there’s too much of it, and people are dumping all their thoughts that are lacking in thought out there. When I scanned channels on my television, I ended up with two more channels, but I couldn’t figure out what they were. I doubt that the content of the channels was anything great. The city laws here ban leaving shopping carts in one place for more than an hour and restrict the space that the homeless can use on the sidewalk. Complaints are that the homeless are being driven out of the city. That’s not necessarily a bad thing because most of them should move on and do something other than rotting away at the same spot for months and years. Some of the people who died on November 17 include Auguste Rodin (1917), Heitor Villa-Lobos (1959), Esther Rolle (1998), and Don Gibson (2003). Today is a birthday for Danny De Vito (71), Lorne Michaels (71), Lauren Hutton (72), Martin Scorsese (73), and Gordon Lightfoot (77). According to the Brandon Brooks Rewind radio segment, CBS aired “The Star Wars Holiday Special” in 1978. In 1984, Wham! was Number One on the singles chart with “Wake Me Up Before You Go-Go.” In 1989, “All Dogs Go to Heaven” was released. Also in 1989, “The Little Mermaid” was released.

This entry was posted in Movies. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

