The Hunger Games: Mockingjay – Part 2

It’s incredible how much stress a missing electric cord can cause. I found it in the office when I got there so that I could use my computer again. I made my way to the Grand Lake Theatre to see “The Hunger Games: Mockingjay – Part 2.” It didn’t attract a big crowd at 12:45 in the afternoon, but they seemed eager to see this movie. I wasn’t the biggest fan of this series after the first movie. I read only the first book. This movie is most just action, and it preferred it that way because I was tired of the Hunger Games world. If it was trying to tell me something about politics, it wasn’t very persuasive. Jennifer Lawrence as Katniss Everdeen does a lot of hugging in this picture, but I didn’t see that she cared about anybody. Were her speeches supposed to be inspiring? Her call to arms about Snow would not move me to any kind of action. I became uncomfortable with the idea that Katniss was supposed to be a hero for setting out to kill someone. It was not quite like “Zero Dark Thirty.” I still think of Donald Sutherland and Julianne Moore as stars from “M*A*S*H” and “The Big Lebowski,” and so I found it hard to accept them as these overblown, self-important characters. It was sad to see Philip Seymour Hoffman for the last time. I felt that I would miss seeing him on the screen. I remembered that he was also in “The Big Lebowski.” I kept wondering if Katniss was ever going to run out of arrows. The sequence with the oil seemed beyond belief because you can’t outrun a tidal wave. I think that the only sequence I really liked was the underground people chasing after everybody. It felt like I’d seen the whole thing before not too long ago in the last Maze Runner movie, with those zombie types running after the band of escapees. I kept thinking that everyone’s hair looked too neat and tidy for people who are on the run. With all these traps all over the Capitol, it seemed stupid that there was a clear path underground, as if we were in “The Third Man.” I also had to flash back to “From Russia, With Love” and those rats. For an action movie, I felt that this one moved along rather slowly, and I didn’t care about what was happening. I wasn’t rooting for Katniss. I thought the plot was predictable. I knew what was going to happen with Katniss. I knew what she was going to do with the bow and arrow at the end. I knew what the last scene was going to be. Perhaps I’ve seen too many movies so that I’ve seen all the variations in all the plots. This movie definitely felt like it was an episode as opposed to a complete movie in itself. I had doubts that anyone other than a real Hunger Games fan could really be satisfied with this movie. Years ago, I thought that movies that were aimed at teenagers were things like “The Outsiders.” S.E. Hinton never wrote about bleak futuristic societies or vampires. If I had to watch either this movie or the James Bond movie for a second time, I’d choose the Bond movie. I think I wouldn’t mind seeing the Peanuts movie again. The Hunger Games was loud and emotionally thin, and it gave me a headache. It drained me of my energy, as I left the theatre feeling tired. I took the bus out to the Best Buy in Emeryville, where I bought the Adele album “25.” I listened to it as I waited for the bus to take me home. On a first listening, I rather liked it, although it didn’t seem especially exciting. I would hate to think that she peaked with “21,” but that thought is inescapable. What “25” reminded me of was Tracy Chapman’s album after “Fast Car.” When I got home, I took a nap. I watched the Partridge Family episode “Did You Hear the One About Danny Partridge?” Two of the guest stars were Morey Amsterdam and Jackie Coogan. I also watched the NUMB3RS episode “Thirty-Six Hours.” It involved a train accident. I didn’t see Larry in the episode. I stayed up to watch Michael Caine on the Stephen Colbert show. Colbert said that he liked “Zulu.” “Sleuth” was on another channel, and I watched a bit of it to the moment when Olivier made Caine put on the clown mask. I returned to the movie when Caine was angry and claimed to have murdered Olivier’s girlfriend. I liked this movie when I first saw on television many years ago. Olivier and Caine were both excellent. The only drawback to it is that it feels like a play because so much of it takes place in one room. Somehow, the bit with the lyrics to “Anything Goes” fitting a murder clue was a stretch. I didn’t think it was a good idea to flash a clue down the toilet. Caine’s laughter at the end didn’t seem like a real reaction, but something for the drama. The movies from the 1970s made a deep impression on me. Julianne Moore was a guest on the James Corden show, although it was a rerun. I liked seeing Julianne Moore’s red hair. I guess it would have looked out of place in the Hunger Games movie. I had to watch the beginning of the Avengers episode “Murdersville,” one of the last Emma Peel episodes. Some of the people who died on November 21 include Henry Purcell (1695), Robert Benchley (1945), Bill Bixby (1993), and Anne McCaffrey (2011). Today is a birthday for Lorna Luft (63), Goldie Hawn (70), and Marlo Thomas (78). According to the Brandon Brooks Rewind radio segment for November 21, George Harrison was deported from Germany in 1960 for being underage. In 1980, the “Who Done It” Dallas episode was aired, drawing 83 million viewers. Also in 1980, Don Henley was arrested after a naked 16-year-old girl was found at his home suffering from a drug overdose.

This entry was posted in Movies. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

