Peggy Guggenheim: Art Addict

I watched part of John Huston’s “Annie” before I went to sleep. I liked the scene where everyone went to see “Camille.” Ann Reinking was one of the people I liked in the movie. I woke up early to go to Big 5 Sporting Goods, only to see that the restaurant next to my credit union had been gutted in a fire. It was still dark when I got to the store. I found a decent pair of Nikes, and the cashier gave me a $10 gift card for being an early bird shopper. I returned home and fell asleep during the second episode of Match Game. I took the bus out to the Target store in Emeryville, and I bought a pair of headphones. I walked over to Barnes and Noble and bought a Criterion Collection Blu-ray disc of “Hearts and Minds” and a special issue of Rolling Stone magazine about Bob Dylan’s albums. After buying some groceries, I walked over to the theatre to see “Peggy Guggenheim: Art Addict.” It seems that I’ve been seeing a lot of documentaries at my neighborhood theatre as of late. This one wasn’t as meaningful to me as the film about Tower Records, but it was about an interesting person who had a better sense of art than anyone I know. From her money, she acquired an unbelievable collection of modern art. One of the funny things that people said about her was that she threw parties with bad food and cheap wine. I was rather surprised to see Robert De Niro in this movie, talking about hitchhiking across Europe in his youth and ending up seeing Peggy Guggenheim in Venice. One of his mother’s paintings was hanging on a wall. I had no idea what his parents were, and the only image I ever had of him in his youth was his character in “Mean Streets.” Some of the notable paintings that were shown in this film were by Jackson Pollock and Rene Magritte. The audio of Peggy Guggenheim isn’t of the greatest sound quality, but at least it is her. She said that she had been through seven abortions. Samuel Beckett was one of the people who was part of her life. I couldn’t help thinking about Charles Foster Kane as I saw her collection of art. The director was Lisa Immordino Vreeland, and the music was composed by Steven Argila. This movie is like one of those biographical programs we might see on PBS. I thought it was a pretty good movie, although I didn’t learn very much about modern art from watching it. Peggy Guggenheim died on December 23, 1979 at age 81. She was buried next to fourteen of her dogs. From a series of still photographs, you see her aging. You get the sense that life passes quickly, and that most people are forgotten. I went out to an ATM, but it wasn’t working, so my shopping for the day came to an end. I watched the Partridge Family episode “Go Directly to Jail” and the NUMB3RS episode “Conspiracy Theory.” Shirley made an odd comment that everyone was a prisoner. I did not see Laurie eating any of the pancakes that were on her plate. Charlie was involved in a prank that involved the Hollywood sign. It didn’t seem like a good idea to have the letters in red, though. Some of the people who died on November 28 include Washington Irving (1859), James Naismith (1939), Richard Wright (1960), Rosalind Russell (1976), Christopher George (1983), Garry Moore (1993), Jerry Rubin (1994), and Leslie Nielsen (2010). Today is a birthday for Jon Stewart (53), Judd Nelson (56), Ed Harris (65), Randy Newman (72), and Berry Gordy, Jr. (86). According to the Brandon Brooks Rewind radio segment for November 28, Willie Nelson made his Grand Ole Opry debut in 1954. In 1974, Elton John performed a Thanksgiving Day concert at Madison Square Garden which featured John Lennon singing “Whatever Gets You Thru the Night.”

This entry was posted in Movies. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

