The Night Before

I got a phone call from my mother, and she told me how cold recent mornings have been. She had to buy a new oven to fix Thanksgiving dinner. I watched episodes of “All in the Family,” “The Mary Tyler Moore Show,” and “M*A*S*H.” I also watched the Partridge Family episodes “A Partridge by Any Other Name” and “A Knight in Shining Armor.” I noted that Laurie said that you had to fight fire with fire, and ridiculous with ridiculous. Apparently, San Pueblo is forty miles away from Napa County. The cemetery had the grave of someone named Malachi Young. People in the eighteenth century were buried there. I paid attention to the end of the Bobby Sherman episode. There was a comparison of his new musical partnership to the Titanic. I wondered where the schoolyard scene was filmed. I took the bus over to Jack London Square. A lot of kids were there to see “The Good Dinosaur.” I was there for “The Night Before.” It had Joseph Gordon-Levitt, Seth Rogen, and Anthony Mackie. It had references to “Die Hard,” and this was the second Christmas movie this year that had Anthony Mackie in it. I could not see him as any kind of a football player. I detected traces of “A Christmas Carol,” “I Love You, Man,” and “Birdman,” too. Some of the drug use I did not think was funny. Besides the fact that Cheech and Chong was decades ago, I found it was disturbing. Seth Rogen’s ranting message to his phone wasn’t hilarious to me, although several people in the audience laughed hysterically. I had the feeling that I would see James Franco in this movie, and I thought he was quite funny in his part. I laughed out loud at some of his lines. Why have I been seeing Mindy Kaling everywhere? It was a bit uncomfortable to see what her character was all about. I don’t like plot points that involve cell phones. I thought that Joseph Gordon-Levitt and Seth Rogen worked well together in “50/50.” I wondered what happened to the staff that Seth took from the nativity scene. The bit in the church was not all that funny to me. The three guys all wore ugly Christmas sweaters, leading me to wonder if I should have bought the ugly Christmas sweater at the Warriors game on Saturday night. This is a movie in which people ran into a set of characters throughout one night, so it was somewhat reminiscent of Martin Scorsese’s “After Hours.” Miley Cyrus shows up, and I thought that she was rather amusing. I don’t know how anyone could feel that any song that she has ever song she has sung could be meaningful at all. I don’t understand any of the pop music references that young people make. Well, I have heard “Christmas in Hollis” because it was on the album “A Very Special Christmas.” Why did they have to give the Big treatment to Kanye West’s “Runaway”? One of the funny shots is not an original idea, but it does have a Christmas image. It’s the sleigh. I liked Jillian Bell. Lizzy Caplan is Joseph Gordon-Levitt’s love interest, but I couldn’t see how he could be so broken up over her. I could see how he could be going nowhere with his music, however. Is Keanu Reeves known for his music? Michael Shannon, who was Mr. Green, made me think of Willem Dafoe. There was quite a bit of marijuana smoking in the movie. I can see everyone turning into lackluster characters as the years go on. Tracy Morgan was the Narrator. I didn’t see him as the compelling voice of the story. I felt that I missed people like Hoyt Axton in “Gremlins.” I kept wondering when they filmed some of the Christmas scenes, particularly the Rockefeller Center. The tree and the decorations had to still be up. The advertising noted that the people behind this movie also did “This is the End” and “Neighbors.” It wasn’t as good as either of those movies, however. As a buddy movie, I thought it didn’t have the feeling of “The Last Detail.” “The Night Before” didn’t make as much money at the box office as expected. I would say that a key reason is the emphasis on Joseph Gordon-Levitt’s unhappy character. I don’t see Gordon-Levitt as a great box office attraction in the first place because people didn’t go out to see him in “The Walk.” I didn’t see him as the pathetic kind of person who had to pull himself together. If he was like that, he wouldn’t be able to afford to live in New York. I wondered if Anthony would get into trouble for what happened with the limousine. The movie made me wonder what the Goldeneye video game was like. Anthony’s mother must have been the fastest cook in New York. It was rather funny to see what these characters looked like in 2001, but it didn’t seem that any of them really aged at all. What happened to Rebecca? She got away with stealing from charity, and in the world of this movie, you don’t get punished for it. One scene had a pay phone in it. I don’t see this movie becoming a holiday classic, although I’m not part of the target generation for it. It took me a long time to get back home from the theatre. I heard that the Raiders barely won their game in Tennessee, ending their losing streak. Radio station listeners called in to complain about the Raiders’ conservative offense. The Chiefs won, setting up a showdown of sorts next week at the Coliseum. When I got home, I fell asleep during the 49ers game against the Cardinals. I wonder what the weather will be like on the day of the Super Bowl. I don’t want to be there in some downpour. I heard that the top movies of the weekend were “The Hunger Games: Mockingjay – Part 2,” “The Good Dinosaur,” “Creed,” “SPECTRE,” and “The Peanuts Movie.” I suppose like everyone else I’m really waiting for the Star Wars movie to open. I don’t know that I’ll even like it. I thought about how much my brother liked the first two Star Wars movie, and how he once went to a Star Wars convention where Carrie Fisher appeared. Some of the people who died on November 30 include Oscar Wilde (1900), Ernest Lubitsch (1947), Zeppo Marx (1979), James Baldwin (1987), Tiny Tim (1996), and Evel Knievel (2007). Today is a birthday for Ben Stiller (50), Bo Jackson (53), Billy Idol (60), and Mandy Patinkin (63). My choices for the Top 5 Biggest Jerks of November 2015 are Abdelhamid Abaaoud, Joseph Caputo, Robert Lewis Dear, Jared Fogle, and Donald Trump. According to the Brandon Brooks Rewind radio segment for November 30, Desi Arnaz and Lucille Ball got married in 1940. In 1971, “Brian’s Song” was aired on ABC for the first time. In 1979, Pink Floyd’s “The Wall” album was released.

This entry was posted in Movies. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

