Moonrise Kingdom

I woke up and got ready for work. It rained a little bit during my shift. I listened to George Harrison’s “All Things Must Pass” album. I took two buses out to El Cerrito, where I browsed at the Barnes and Noble. I saw interesting items, like a Star Wars Pez dispenser collection and a record player. It was the last day of the Criterion Collection sale, so I bought the Blu-ray editions of “Don’t Look Back” and “Five Easy Pieces.” When I got home, I watched “Moonrise Kingdom” again. Usually, I don’t like to see young actors, but I liked Sam and Suzy. I also liked seeing people like Bruce Willis and Frances McDormand. Edward Norton had a role that made think how different he was in “Fight Club.” Harvey Keitel made one of his comedic appearances. The last time I saw him was in “The Last Temptation of Christ,” and I wasn’t sure if that was one of his comedic appearances. It was fun to see this movie set in 1965. I noticed details like the refrigerator. It was a refrigerator that was older than any I’ve ever used. I’m not old enough to remember Francoise Hardy. I laughed when I saw the jar of Tang. Bob Balaban was a narrator, and I was a little bit surprised that he was out at 4:35 and there was daylight at that time in September. Bill Murray and Tilda Swinton are part of the cast. I wonder how these people get to be in Wes Anderson’s films. I’d like to be in them, if only as a person in the background. Sam seemed like the greatest Khaki Scout of all time, but he certainly did not have realistic plans. One of the things “Moonrise Kingdom” had in common with other Wes Anderson movies, like “Fantastic Mr. Fox” and “The Grand Budapest Hotel,” was pursuit. The kids were dressed like the animals in “Fantastic Mr. Fox.” The music on the soundtrack was a departure from the rock songs that were used for other Anderson films. Benjamin Britten is predominant on this one. Suzy looked like she was going to grow up to be one of the moody and depressed actresses. When I first saw this movie, I was really interested in the books that Suzy was reading. I couldn’t help thinking that Suzy was foolish for wearing a dress when she was running away from home. There was also the battery-powered record player. I was a bit uncomfortable with the idea of an adult presiding over the marriage of two twelve-year-olds. I thought about Bill Murray. He certainly didn’t play the part of the cool parent. He wasn’t the guy he was in “Stripes” or “Caddyshack.” Have I seen anyone else get struck by lightning in a Wes Anderson movie? It was a shame that the world of 1965 in this movie was isolated from what was going on in the rest of the country. I didn’t see the rest of the Khaki Scouts getting into trouble for assisting Sam. The only special effect that I didn’t like was an explosion. I think that I liked “The Grand Budapest Hotel” more than this movie. “Moonrise Kingdom” did have a quality from 1965 that I did like, and that was its short running time of 94 minutes. It felt like it covered quite a bit of ground that that brief amount of time, however. It was better than about 80 percent of the movies I’ve seen over the past three years. I’m not sure if I really liked those early Wes Anderson films very much. I think I took notice around the time of “The Life Aquatic.” If I were to choose my one favorite Wes Anderson film, it might be “Fantastic Mr. Fox.” I really loved George Clooney and Meryl Streep in it. I could watch it over and over again. The story has a great appeal to it because of Roald Dahl. I thought one compelling quality about it was that it was about hunger and survival. I always liked how it ended with Bobby Fuller’s “Let Her Dance.” I think that Wes Anderson could still make good films for years to come. I would like to see “The Darjeeling Limited” again. I saw that the Charlie Brown Christmas special was on CBS at nine o’clock. I kept thinking that it was impossible for kids to tilt their heads backwards so that only their noses and mouths were visible, as when they were singing the Christmas carol at the end of the program. I don’t know how they could go from laughing at Charlie Brown one moment to singing his praises at the next. Linus seems to have great powers. On KQED, they were showing a program about The Carpenters. I don’t think I’d ever seen photos of them before 1970. Shirley Jones and David Cassidy presented them with a Grammy. Paul Williams had lost some weight so that his head popped out of his neck. I wasn’t quite sure that I wanted to know the answer of what happened to The Carpenters after “Only Yesterday.” “Bless the Beasts and Children” brings back memories. “Rainy Days and Mondays” is definitely not one of my favorite tunes. I thought that Karen Carpenter did some good singing on “Top of the World.” It was a shock to me when I heard the news that she died. I used to talk about eating disorders with my friends years ago. I didn’t want to die that way. There was a Rolling Stones program also, but I certainly didn’t want to watch television all night. I would have liked seeing Eric Clapton playing guitar on some of the songs on the “Sticky Fingers” album. Two of my favorite songs were “Wild Horses” and “Dead Flowers.” In 1971, it seemed like the Rolling Stones would make great records forever. Some of the people who died on December 1 include G.H. Hardy (1947), Paul Benedict (2008), and Alan Sues (2011). Today is a birthday for Emily Mortimer (44), Sarah Silverman (45), Bette Midler (70), John Dunsmore (71), and Woody Allen (80). According to the Brandon Brooks Rewind radio segment for December 1, “The McLean Stevenson Show” made its debut on NBC in 1976. In 1977, Aerosmith’s “Draw the Line” album was released. In 1981, the “Bret Maverick” television series, starring James Garner, made its debut on NBC.

This entry was posted in Movies. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

