The Living Daylights

I felt that I had a difficult day of work, and so I was anxious to return home. I met with a student in the late afternoon and felt too sleepy to continue grading papers at that point. I returned home to watch “The Living Daylights” on Blu-ray. High definition did not increase my enthusiasm for Timothy Dalton. I’m not sure why the producers of the Bond series tried so hard over the years to get Dalton to play the role of James Bond. I don’t see him as charismatic. His face doesn’t show a great range of expression. He does smile sometimes, and he shows some love for Kara, the cellist. The opening sequence made me think of “The Dirty Dozen.” It was something of a disappointment to see the new Moneypenny. She was a young blonde with unusual teeth. Joe Don Baker was on hand, looking heavy compared to his heyday. Felix Leiter reappeared. I couldn’t recall what his previous appearance was. There was a chase in the snow, and the variation was the cello case. I expected Bond and Kara to have a Sonny Bono-like accident. There was a joke involving crossing a border which was rather funny. Kara showed some stupidity when she took the controls of the airplane. In some of those fight scenes, some people seem to be moving in slow motion. I don’t know why Bond didn’t fall to his death in the sequence. The part where Bond hides in the truck seemed unlikely to me. How could it be that absolutely nobody notices him and says anything about it? Does Bond defuse a movie in every single movie? I thought the woman who played Kara was reminiscent of Nastassja Kinski. Bond drives an Aston Martin in this movie. The part that had the car cutting a circular hole in the ice was rather foolish. John Barry composed the score to the movie. There was at least one scene where the music felt totally ineffective. I think it was the fight in the plant. I did like the use of some classical music, though, particularly the Mozart. I think I would have preferred seeing Pierce Brosnan in the two Bond films that Timothy Dalton was in. Dalton seemed to have no sense of humor whatsoever. I was surprised at the success of this movie. Maybe people were just curious about what the new Bond would be like. The next Dalton Bond film had to compete with “Indiana Jones and the Last Crusade,” “Batman,” and “Lethal Weapon 2” and didn’t make as much money as expected. Legal problems delayed the production of the next Bond film, and Dalton by that time didn’t wanted to do it anymore. I watched the Partridge Family episode “This is My Song.” Reuben seems to spend all his time at the Partridge house. Laurie sang a little bit of the song from “Moulin Rouge.” I also watched the NUMB3RS episode “Frienemies.” They mentioned deep current set theory. I heard the news of the death of Robert Loggia, who was in “Scarface” and “Big.” He was 85 years old, and had been living with Alzheimer’s disease for the last five years. Some of the people who died on December 5 include Wolfgang Amadeus Mozart (1791), Alexandre Dumas (1870), Claude Monet (1926), Fred Clark (1968), Robert Aldrich (1982), Roone Arledge (2002), and Don Meredith (2010). Today is a birthday for Morgan Brittany (64) and Little Richard (83). According to the Brandon Brooks Rewind radio segment for December 5, Lorne Greene reached Number One on the singles chart with “Ringo.” In 1968, Graham Nash quit the Hollies. In 1969, the Rolling Stones released their album “Let It Bleed.” In 1975, the album “Fleetwood Mac” was certified gold. In 2005, Valerie Bertinelli filed for divorce from Eddie Van Halen.

This entry was posted in Movies. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

