GoldenEye

I got ready to go to work, and I watched the video of Serena Altschul’s CBS Sunday Morning segment on the Violins of Hope. I was annoyed that I had to wait for 25 minutes for a 1 bus to show up. I did a lot of work during my shift. A 90-year-old woman talked to me about Downton Abbey, and she suggested to me that I write a screenplay. I wondered if she would be a good subject for my writing. She had a lot to say. I borrowed a copy of Bob Dylan’s “The Basement Tapes” from the library. It wasn’t the old album from 1975, but the edition that was released last year. That was a lot of music that I had never heard before. I went over to Trader Joe’s, but I forgot to buy my yogurt. When I returned home, I watched “GoldenEye” again, only this time on Blu-ray. I think it was the third time I’ve seen the movie. After the seriousness of Timothy Dalton, I enjoyed seeing Pierce Brosnan play James Bond in a lighter manner, at least through three films. I didn’t think it was the greatest idea to introduce Brosnan with a sequence showing him breaking into a men’s room. They also had him do something impossible with a motorcycle and an airplane. I remember thinking that as I was watching one of the Roger Moore opening sequences, Bond was still doing something that was within the realm of possibility. The theme song was written by Bono and The Edge, which was good, and sung by Tina Turner, which was also good. However, I couldn’t sing along to it because it didn’t hit me. What was the last Bond theme song that I could sing along to? I think it was “A View to a Kill,” and I can’t stand Duran Duran. I like Tina Turner a lot, but I kept thinking about how I missed Shirley Bassey. One of my favorite themes was actually the one for “On Her Majesty’s Secret Service.” One improvement over the Dalton movies was the casting of Samantha Bond as Moneypenny. Outside of Lois Maxwell, she was my favorite Moneypenny. Didn’t I see Joe Don Baker in the previous Bond film? He was a colorful character in this one, and it seemed that he deserved to be a regular in the series. What happened to his career during all those years? The two women, Natalya and Xenia, were not the most memorable. Natalya reminded me of Juliette Binoche. Xenia reminded me of Barbara Bach and made me wonder why Barbara Bach didn’t come back for at least one more film. I could never understand why the villain never just shoots Bond in the head to get rid of him. I didn’t know how Natalya didn’t get burned during one of her escapes. I liked the tank chase sequence, although I never believed that Bond could just get into any vehicle and know instantly how to operate it like an expert. He did get into that moon buggy in “Diamonds Are Forever.” The chase had some of the Roger Moore ridiculousness to it with the statue and the men falling into the water as if it was “What’s Up, Doc?” How did Bond get the tank to the other side of that tunnel so quickly? Bond doesn’t have trouble with directions. The bad guy reminded me of Kenneth Branagh. Bond was right in saying he was nothing but a bank robber. The hacker who worked with Natalya was an amazingly annoying character. I didn’t know what he was doing arranging a meeting with Natalya. I would rate Pierce Brosnan as a pretty good James Bond. All of his movies were better than maybe half of the Roger Moore films, and he had a better personality and presence than Dalton. I tried to imagine what working with Timothy Dalton was like. My guess is that he was a pain in the ass on the order of Christian Bale. Maybe Roger Moore and Pierce Brosnan appreciated the job more after having done television. Judi Dench was M for the first time, and I thought she was not her greatest moment in the series. She was a good presence all the way through “Skyfall.” Now that I’ve seen Ralph Fiennes, I appreciate her much more. “GoldenEye” might be my favorite of the Pierce Brosnan Bond films. The movies got bigger, and Brosnan probably got too comfortable with the role. I thought the quality of the Blu-ray disc was superior to the DVD. I saw this movie on VHS years ago, and I’m now glad that that format is dead. I thought back to 1995 and how I had a simpler life back then. I watched the Supergirl episode. Supergirl had to go through a refractory period after her fight with Red Tornado. Did anyone question how she could recovery from her arm injury so suddenly? They didn’t show Supergirl having to walk down the street like an ordinary person, and maybe having to take the bus. She had to do ordinary tasks like in that Monty Python episode. I caught a little bit of a program on holiday baking. I heard the news about the latest Donald Trump controversy. Is he testing us? What kind of campaign strategy is this? We’re seeing radioactive materials washing up on the West Coast shores all this time after the Fukushima disaster. It’s only a matter of time before we’re all poisoned. I tried to stay up to watch the Jimmy Kimmel show with Quentin Tarantino and the cast members of “The Hateful Eight.” I was curious about Jennifer Jason Leigh and Kurt Russell. Tarantino came on to talk about the days of road shows, and he said that he experimented with a new way of writing in working on “The Hateful Eight.” He wrote three drafts, and the first one was leaked. He supposedly considered scrapping the project. I will go out to see this movie simply because Quentin Tarantino worked on it, and I want to see his work. Samuel L. Jackson talked about Marlon Brando doing his Ezekiel speech and giving him his phone number. Jennifer Jason Leigh practiced the guitar. Bruce Dern said that he has worked with six genius film directors during his career: Kazan, Hitchcock, Trumbull, Coppola, and Payne. He did not mention Hal Ashby, I noticed. Some of the people who died on December 8 include Golda Meir (1978), John Lennon (1980), Marty Robbins (1982), Slim Pickens (1983), Martin Ritt (1990), and Howard E. Rollins, Jr. (1996). Today is a birthday for Sinéad O’Connor (49), Teri Hatcher (51), and Kim Basinger (62). The Brandon Brooks Rewind radio segment for December 8 noted that 35 years ago, John Lennon was shot and killed at age 40.

This entry was posted in Movies. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

