The U.S. vs. John Lennon

I got out of bed slowly and went out to the office. I checked Twitter, and a lot of people were remembering John Lennon 35 years after his death. Ben Stiller said that he went outside the Dakota and got into trouble with his parents. I graded some papers before going out to have lunch. While I was waiting for a bus, someone told me that the only McDonald’s in town had closed down. I gave a last lecture before returning home. I still had two more James Bond movies to watch, but I went with the memories of the day and “The U.S. vs. John Lennon.” I had seen it in the neighborhood theatre nine years ago. One of the things I noticed was that John and Yoko smoked cigarettes during their television appearances, and it was a bit disturbing to see. John should have quit smoking. This movie was about the politics of the time and government interference from the likes of J. Edgar Hoover and Richard Nixon. Much of the focus is on John’s struggle to stay in the United States after the threat of deportation. I thought that one of the good moments in the film was the television reporter holding the green card and having a laugh with John. The story in the film is that the success John and Yoko had in getting John Sinclair freed from prison led to bigger things. I did like the sound of the steel guitar on the song. I think we really wanted to see more of John Lennon in this film and less of most everyone else. Some people who were interviewed didn’t talk about John and Yoko. Geraldo Rivera, George McGovern, and Bobby Seale were three people who did talk about them. I liked the idea of putting the War is Over posters all over the world. I wondered what Tommy Smothers had to say. There was no mention of the period of marital difficulty that John and Yoko experienced. I realized watching this movie that Sean turned 40 this year. I’m not sure that we needed to hear from Walter Cronkite or G. Gordon Liddy in this movie. It was a bit frightening to think of the people who have died since this film was released. I think that the definitive John Lennon documentary is yet to be made. There should be a series about his life after The Beatles along the lines of the Beatles Anthology. It seemed that the only family member who was interviewed for this film was Yoko. I’m not sure that I wanted to hear anything from Julian or Sean. Yoko was actually quite articulate if at times annoying in interjecting her comments. We have to wonder what John would have accomplished with his music over the last 35 years if he had lived. How many good albums did Paul, George, and Ringo release since 1980? It wasn’t very many. Would John have become boring as he settled more into his life as a father? The influence of Sean may have killed his creativity. How many songs can you write about your son? Some of the people who died on December 9 include Louella Parsons (1972), William A. Wellman (1975), Vincent Gardenia (1992), and Gene Barry (2009). Today is a birthday for Donny Osmond (58), John Malkovich (62), Dick Butkus (73), Beau Bridges (74), Judi Dench (81), and Kirk Douglas (99). According to the Brandon Brooks Rewind radio segment for December 9, a police officer in New Haven, Connecticut maced Jim Morrison backstage before a concert, leading to his arrest and a crowd riot. In 1977, the children’s album “Scouse the Mouse,” featuring Ringo Starr, was released. In 1988, “Twins,” starring Arnold Schwarzenegger and Danny DeVito, was released.

This entry was posted in Movies. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

