Tomorrow Never Dies

I listened to “Starting Over” and “Watching the Wheels” before I went to sleep. I woke up and headed for the ATM. I went over to the office to finish my important documents for the rest of the week. I bought my ticket for FanFest on January 24. I bought some groceries, and I also bought a Beatles T-shirt. After a long shift, I returned home. I went back to watching James Bond, this time in “Tomorrow Never Dies.” I would say that Jonathan Pryce was not the greatest Bond villain. I guess we blame the media for a lot of what is wrong with our culture, but having the villain be a media mogul sure is an unexciting concept. He even makes a reference to William Randolph Hearst. I will always remember Jonathan Pryce for “Brazil.” Teri Hatcher makes an appearance, although it’s not for very long. She seemed like she didn’t have such an appealing personality. One of the big action sequences involves Bond controlling his car with a remote control. It reminded me of the days when my brother had a radio-controlled car. I couldn’t believe that Bond could control his car so well with the touch screen. One rather ridiculous moment had one of the bad guys shooting right through the broken window of the car. It also seemed nearly impossible for that cable cutter to work. The cable would have to be at a precise height. Michelle Yeoh was Wai Lin, the Chinese counterpart to Bond, and she was very good at the action. I would say that she didn’t have a great deal of sex appeal. I would say that her face looked too open. The moment I couldn’t stand was when Bond warned her to look to her left, and she comically got rid of one of the bad guys. I really found it unfunny. I didn’t know what she was doing constantly moving around on the motorcycle with Bond during the chase sequence. It seemed too dangerous to do just to get a glimpse at who was trailing them. I thought it would kill both of them by throwing off the balance of the bike. One of the location shots really reminded me of “The Man with the Golden Gun.” I thought that a villain like Jonathan Pryce deserved death because of the terrible television he was responsible for. Joe Don Baker returned, and I thought he was amusing, but he was barely in the movie. Some of the movie was filmed where “Titanic” was filmed. There were echoes of that movie in the scene where Bond and Wai Lin investigate the shipwreck. I don’t know how both of them could be there at the same time. I also don’t know why the bad guys didn’t just kill them there on the spot. The other times I saw this movie, I didn’t notice that Moneypenny called Bond a cunning linguist. Some of these attempts at humor in the Bond movies are not too good. This was the first film in the series to made after the death of Cubby Broccoli. Apparently, there were problems with the script and unhappiness with the actors on the set. I don’t really care about any of that, however. I looked at the credits of Roger Spottiswoode. He worked as an editor for Sam Peckinpah, and he directed movies like “Under Fire” and “The Best of Times,” along with “Stop! Or My Mom Will Shoot” and “Turner & Hooch.” I didn’t see anything I thought was notable after “Tomorrow Never Dies.” Spottiswoode is now 70 years old. I wondered what happened to Samantha Bond. I saw from her biography that she is older than I am, and I always thought of her as youthful. She was in all four Brosnan films but then stepped away. She has been a Downton Abbey character, but I have not been a viewer of the program. I’m not too much of a fan of Naomie Harris as Moneypenny. I didn’t know that Joe Don Baker was still alive, but he is two months away from turning 80. I thought the Pierce Brosnan films were pretty good. I am closer in age to Daniel Craig than to Brosnan, and so I thought about how I would feel about these films once Craig leaves. Cubby Broccoli was 87 when he died of heart failure in 1996. Desmond Llewelyn, Roger Moore, Timothy Dalton, and Pierce Brosnan were among the people attending his funeral. I’m so fascinated with the deaths of celebrities that I should take a tour of the Hollywood cemeteries. I’ll always remember what Steve Coogan as Tony Wilson in “24 Hour Party People” said about Cubby Broccoli. It was one of those really hilarious things that you can’t forget. I noticed that Stephen Colbert had Downton Abbey cast members on his show last night. I just watched one of those PBS science programs before I went to sleep. Some recent new stories about police shootings made me think back to the Bruce Springsteen song “41 Shots.” I think Springsteen was ahead of his time in some respects in writing and performing this song, which caused some controversy in New York City. I heard the rain coming down on the roof overnight. I recall that a hard rain nearly caused a delay to the end of the fall semester last year. I hope the rain doesn’t come pouring down on me all during the winter break. I was thinking about the events during Super Bowl week and whether I should go to any of them. I don’t know what I should do about New Year’s Eve. What would it be like to see Seth MacFarlane singing on that night? I would be afraid that he would ruin the moment with that mouth of his. Some of the people who died on December 10 include Otis Redding (1967), Ed Wood (1978), Jascha Heifetz (1987), Rick Danko (1999), and Richard Pryor (2005). Today is a birthday for Kenneth Branagh (55) and Susan Dey (63). According to the Brandon Brooks Rewind radio segment for December 10, Otis Redding died at age 26 in a plane crash in Wisconsin in 1967. In 1975, 60 million viewers saw John Denver’s “Rocky Mountain Christmas” television special on ABC. In 2005, Richard Pryor died of a heart attack at age 65.

This entry was posted in Movies. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

