Star Wars: The Force Awakens

I woke up and went out to the office to look through final messages about the end of the school term. I saw that the Grand Lake Theatre was showing the Star Wars movie at 9AM, but I still had time to go to the first 3D showing at 12:30, so I dropped all other plans and took a bus out there. I got there early and bought a ticket and walked over to Safeway to buy two sandwiches. I was very hungry. People were leaving the early showing and the employees were cleaning the theatre. I took my seat still one hour before the showtime. I was so tired that I fell asleep, and when I awoke, the room was full of people. Many fans were eager to see this movie. I hadn’t seen as many people in this theatre since “Straight Outta Compton.” I was surprised to see Stomper dressed as Yoda walking about the theatre. When the familiar John Williams theme played, the crowd applauded, apparently eager to get the taste of the prequel trilogy out of their mouths. My feeling is that Rey is a great new Star Wars character, sort of a combination of Han Solo, Luke Skywalker, and Princess Leia all wrapped up in one person. If these sequels are going to continue forever, a new generation has to start appearing in these movies. I am just so glad that I didn’t see Hayden Christensen in this movie. Daisy Ridley and John Boyega are supposed to give the cast diversity, but I wanted to see Latino and Asian actors in the cast. I thought that the criticism of the movie having too similarities with “A New Hope” was justified. It’s as if the characters had shifted roles. Han Solo had a bit of Darth Vader and Obi-wan Kenobi in him. I don’t know what Luke Skywalker was, maybe a Yoda. Oscar Isaac was like a new Luke with his pilot skills. Everyone applauded the sight of the Millennium Falcon after all these years. I’m not sure how people recognized Carrie Fisher. Harrison Ford looked to be in the best shape of the original three. I had to think about his plane accident in real life as Han Solo was in the middle of all this action. I thought that Max von Sydow was very good in his brief appearance. Speaking of brief appearances, Mark Hamill had a high billing for barely being in this movie. The villain was a real jerk and did the most heinous thing in movie history since Bruce Dern killed John Wayne in “The Cowboys.” There is one real shock in the movie, the equal of Darth Vader telling Luke Skywalker that he was his father. Carrie Fisher talked like an old woman, and it was rather distracting. I think the quality of her acting has declined over the course of 32 years. The movie was enjoyable and nearly lived up to the extraordinary expectations. Fans applauded at the end and said it was the best movie of the year. I wouldn’t put it at that level. I thought it was a good idea for J.J Abrams to make the movie seem like it was in 1977. This movie had much the same spirit the series had back in 1977. I’m looking forward to the next movie. Some of the people who died on December 19 include Emily Brontë (1848), Marcello Mastroianni (1996), Desmond Llewelyn (1999), and Hope Lange (2003). Today is a birthday for Jennifer Beals (52), Tim Reid (71), and Cicely Tyson (82).I woke up and went out to the office to look through final messages about the end of the school term. I saw that the Grand Lake Theatre was showing the Star Wars movie at 9AM, but I still had time to go to the first 3D showing at 12:30, so I dropped all other plans and took a bus out there. I got there early and bought a ticket and walked over to Safeway to buy two sandwiches. I was very hungry. People were leaving the early showing and the employees were cleaning the theatre. I took my seat still one hour before the showtime. I was so tired that I fell asleep, and when I awoke, the room was full of people. Many fans were eager to see this movie. I hadn’t seen as many people in this theatre since “Straight Outta Compton.” I was surprised to see Stomper dressed as Yoda walking about the theatre. When the familiar John Williams theme played, the crowd applauded, apparently eager to get the taste of the prequel trilogy out of their mouths. My feeling is that Rey is a great new Star Wars character, sort of a combination of Han Solo, Luke Skywalker, and Princess Leia all wrapped up in one person. If these sequels are going to continue forever, a new generation has to start appearing in these movies. I am just so glad that I didn’t see Hayden Christensen in this movie. Daisy Ridley and John Boyega are supposed to give the cast diversity, but I wanted to see Latino and Asian actors in the cast. I thought that the criticism of the movie having too similarities with “A New Hope” was justified. It’s as if the characters had shifted roles. Han Solo had a bit of Darth Vader and Obi-wan Kenobi in him. I don’t know what Luke Skywalker was, maybe a Yoda. Oscar Isaac was like a new Luke with his pilot skills. Everyone applauded the sight of the Millennium Falcon after all these years. I’m not sure how people recognized Carrie Fisher. Harrison Ford looked to be in the best shape of the original three. I had to think about his plane accident in real life as Han Solo was in the middle of all this action. I thought that Max von Sydow was very good in his brief appearance. Speaking of brief appearances, Mark Hamill had a high billing for barely being in this movie. The villain was a real jerk and did the most heinous thing in movie history since Bruce Dern killed John Wayne in “The Cowboys.” There is one real shock in the movie, the equal of Darth Vader telling Luke Skywalker that he was his father. Carrie Fisher talked like an old woman, and it was rather distracting. I think the quality of her acting has declined over the course of 32 years. The movie was enjoyable and nearly lived up to the extraordinary expectations. Fans applauded at the end and said it was the best movie of the year. I wouldn’t put it at that level. I thought it was a good idea for J.J Abrams to make the movie seem like it was in 1977. This movie had much the same spirit the series had back in 1977. I’m looking forward to the next movie. Some of the people who died on December 19 include Emily Brontë (1848), Marcello Mastroianni (1996), Desmond Llewelyn (1999), and Hope Lange (2003). Today is a birthday for Jennifer Beals (52), Tim Reid (71), and Cicely Tyson (82).

This entry was posted in Movies. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

