Derek Carr’s Two Early Interceptions

I watched the Partridge Family episodes “Anatomy of a Tonsil” and “Whatever Happened to Moby Dick?” I’m not sure I ever understood why Laurie said she could go for a salami sandwich. I went out into the rain to wait for a bus, and I listened to Wait, Wait, Don’t Tell Me on the radio. I thought it was funny how the lyrics to “This Wheel’s on Fire” fit the recent news story about the hoverboard. I got to the Fruitvale BART station, and I noticed that the floor of the train was slippery. There was a bit of mist in the air, but the rain wasn’t too bothersome as I made my way to my seat. On the scoreboard, the Giants fell behind the Panthers. I listened to the radio. The announcers told us that the Raiders faced the Packers in Super Bowl II in 1968 in the last Vince Lombardi’s final game as Green Bay’s coach. The two teams faced each other in the regular season for the first time in 1972, and this was only the third game in Oakland in NFL history. The people in my row kept leaving their seats to go somewhere, which was incredibly annoying to me. Warren Wells lit the torch before the game. I hadn’t realized that he was with the team only from 1967 to 1970. Derek Carr had a poor start to the game, throwing two interceptions that led to 14 points for the Packers. The Raider defense would play well for the rest of the half, however, as two Sebastian Janikowski field goals started a comeback, and Derek Carr threw a touchdown pass to Amari Cooper late in the second quarter to make the score 14-13. During halftime, two teams of kids were on the field playing a game. One team had Rams jerseys in white and green. The rain came hard a bit harder in the second half, and I was glad that I was wearing my plastic poncho. The Packers scored on a field goal in the third quarter to make the score 17-13, but then the Raiders had their moment of the afternoon when they took the lead on another touchdown pass to Amari Cooper, who became the first Raider rookie to gain 1000 receiving yards. The fans’ happiness didn’t last for too long, unfortunately. The Packers got a good kickoff return and pick up the pace on offense. They scored on a touchdown pass on a play that had the Raider defense in confusion as they weren’t prepared for the quick snap. The Packers were now ahead, 24-20, and the woman with the plastic cheese wedge on her head who was sitting in front of me was gloating. The Raider offense stalled, and in the fourth quarter, the Packers kicked two more field goals to make the score 30-20. In fact, that would be the final score. I was eager to get out of the rain and return home. The game didn’t end until 4:40. I was tired. I listened to the radio, and the announcers thought the Raider defense played a good game, but that the interceptions were a key factor in the loss. The home schedule was more difficult than the road schedule, leading to a 2-5 record at the Coliseum. Are fans still going to show up for the game on Christmas Eve? Max Scherzer attended this game with his wife, and he posted a photo of them on Twitter. When he was introduced to the crowd, he was booed. On the other hand, Tom Flores was cheered when they showed him on the screen as he was doing the radio broadcast. He was the coach in 1987 when the Raiders played a good game against the Packers in their first game of that season. The rest of that season didn’t turn out too well, however. I returned home just after five o’clock, just before the hard came down harder. I got out of my wet clothes and listened to Robert Hilburn’s Rock ‘n’ Roll Times radio program on KCSN. He played live tracks by Elvis Presley, Elvis Costello, and Sam Cooke. “Suspicious Minds” will always be a great song to me, and I also liked “Party Girl.” “How Great Thou Art” was an important song for Elvis Presley. In the late football game, it looked like the Cardinals were too good for the Eagles. One of the Cardinals coaches was also a coach for the Chiefs team that played in Super Bowl I. He was thirty years old then and eighty years old now. I tried to watch the Columbo episode “Publish or Perish,” but I fell asleep. Some of the stars in the episode were Jack Cassidy, Mickey Spillane, Mariette Hartley, and Gregory Sierra. I wondered about the safety precautions in filming the opening scene with the explosives. The one man who wanted his book about explosives published was deluded, and he reminded me of Steve Buscemi. “I Love Trouble” was one of the movies that was on television during the night. Nick Nolte still looked like a normal person at that point in the 1990s. “The Sound of Music” was on one of the networks, and I saw the lyrics to the songs on the screen. I thought that everyone knew all the words already. I remember how much I wanted to see “Doctor Dolittle” when I was a child. I don’t know if I knew who Rex Harrison was back then. I cared about the animals, and I wanted to talk to them. I saw Ricardo Montalban on one episode of The Doris Day Show trying to be hip with his dancing. The little girl who was supposed to be his daughter looked nothing like him, and I saw her on the Mary Tyler Moore Show. Henry Fonda showed up in one episode from 1971, and I winced when I thought about the difference between him in 1971 and in 1981 in “On Golden Pond.” I’d like to watch the Decades program about the careers of Jack Klugman and Rod Serling. I caught a bit of the late news. A car plowed into people on the strip in Las Vegas, and there was a mix-up at the Miss Universe pageant. The rain was a big news story as shoppers got soaked. I heard Marco Rubio and Jeb Bush on the radio. Rubio sounded angry and ready to blame people for the country’s problems, and Jeb sounded like he’d rehearsed everything that he said. I’m still finding it hard to believe that Donald Trump could be a serious candidate. The Republican Party may be in trouble for several more years. Some of the people who died on December 21 include F. Scott Fitzgerald (1940), Richard Long (1974), and Albert King (1992). Today is a birthday for Ray Romano (58), Chris Evert (61), Samuel L. Jackson (67), and Jane Fonda (78).

This entry was posted in Sports. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

