A Room with a View

I went out and did my laundry. Over at the office, I used the computer to renew my driver’s license. I was thankful that I didn’t have to go to the DMV in person. I bought a bit of food to stock my freezer for when I return from my trip. I looked around in the corner store for a new Star Wars shirt. I bought another Beatles Hard Day’s Night shirt. I also bought a used copy of the first season of Star Trek on Blu-ray. I was running out of time to find a gift for my mother. I settled on a bowl from the street fair. I went to work for only a four-hour shift. I bought a carne asada burrito to eat while watching “A Room with a View” on Blu-ray. It was nearly thirty years ago that I went to see this movie in a theatre, and at the time I thought it was one of the memorable films I’d seen during that time period. The cast included Maggie Smith, Helena Bonham Carter, Denholm Elliott, Judi Dench, and Daniel Day-Lewis. I remember that I’d seen Maggie Smith the year before in “A Private Function” and thought the she was hilarious in it. I thought it was fun seeing her in this one, too. I don’t know if the kids who saw her in Harry Potter movies ever knew that won an Oscar and was in all sorts of great movies over the years. Helena Bonham has a fresh face and is so young in this movie. It seems like a shame now to think of how Tim Burton polluted her persona. Denholm Elliott was one of those very good actors who had been around for a long time. I know him best for “Raiders of the Lost Ark,” “Trading Places,” and “September.” Daniel Day-Lewis was in both “My Beautiful Laundrette” and “A Room with a View,” in release at the same time in 1986, and the difference in the roles caused people to notice his talent. His character Cecil in this movie is usually described as priggish and repressed. Looking back on things, I wouldn’t say that this was one of Daniel Day-Lewis’ great performances. This was one of the most impressive Blu-ray discs I’ve seen in terms of the photographic beauty of the film. The scenes of greenery looked fantastic, and the actors’ face looked sharp and beautiful. One shot of Lucy’s face behind lace looked a bit odd, though. One of the funny scenes in this movie was the three men bathing naked in the water. I don’t know why they had to splash around and running around as if they were stupid little children, though. I didn’t want to glimpse the frontal nudity, either. One moment I could not stop thinking about was Cecil getting hit in the face with a ball. I had to wonder how many takes it took to get that right, and if the ball was supposed to hit him at an exact moment in his dialogue. Lucy was supposed to choose between two suitors, Cecil and George. Cecil reads books a lot, and seems stuffy and no fun at all. George is better looking but seems like a bit of a jerk. Somehow, there is not much suspense when that is the way the competition is lined up. I kept thinking that maybe Cecil had more dimension. I think that when you’re young, that’s not the case. Young people talk in excruciating detail about everything they do. When I overhear them on the bus, I can hardly stand it. When I originally saw this movie, I got tired and thought the movie ran a bit long. All these years later, I can appreciate some things in the movie more, but I’m so impatient with other things. The last shot of the movie is one that stays in the mind. I think that I came to like “Howards End” more than “A Room with a View.” Back in 1986, I felt more excitement about going out to see movies. Now I don’t think that I can name ten, or even five, young directors that I like. I thought about Helena Bonham Carter then and Daisy Ridley now. I think that Helena Bonham Carter has had a very good film career, although a lot of it was due to Tim Burton. I thought about how Judi Dench’s face was different, and I wondered if she could have taken the role of M after “Moonraker.” It’s a shame we don’t see more of her in “A Room with a View.” One of the scenes in the novel took place in a field of violets, but that wasn’t the case in the film. I think the crew missed out on a chance there. There is some Puccini music on the soundtrack. I feel that this movie has meant more to me than any other film I saw during 1986, except for “Hannah and Her Sisters.” Movies like “Aliens,” “Ferris Bueller’s Day Off,” and “Platoon” were also released that year. It’s a different feeling coming home from the movies in 2015, where I hardly ever have any meaningful thoughts about the movie. I don’t think anyone’s trying to get more than a superficial reaction out of the audience. I feel asleep for a while but was glad to see that after midnight my paycheck was deposited into my account. I believe that I earned one thousand more dollars than I spent during 2015. I saw Jaclyn Smith in a McCloud episode. I read a negative review of “The Hateful Eight” in the East Bay Express, not that I pay too much attention to Kelly Vance. I thought about going to the Grand Lake Theatre to see it anyway on Tuesday. I do find the idea of Quentin Tarantino’s well running dry to be believable. I would think that he still has a lot left in him, if for no other reason than his knowledge of writing tricks. He can give the audiences the razzle dazzle, as Richard Gere sang in “Chicago.” I heard raindrops on the roof as McCloud was rescuing Jaclyn Smith, and so I wanted to wrap up the night of writing and watching TV. McCloud rode a horse down a street during the end credits. Rod Serling’s Night Gallery had an episode called “The Housekeeper” with Larry Hagman and Jeanette Nolan. Larry Hagman had a mustache and beard. I didn’t want to stay up to watch the episode of The Jack Benny Program with James Stewart. I didn’t watch Christmas specials or listen to the Phil Spector Christmas album this year. Some of the people who died on December 24 include William Makepeace Thackeray (1863), John Muir (1914), Alban Berg (1935), Bernard Herrmann (1975), Peter Lawford (1984), John Osborne (1994), James Komack (1997), Toshiro Mifune (1997), Oscar Peterson (2007), and Harold Pinter (2008). Today is a birthday for Kate Spade (53) and Anil Kapoor (59).

This entry was posted in Movies. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

