12 Years a Slave

I did a bit of cleaning up around the apartment. I saw the news about the death of Pat Harrington, which I thought was sad because I’d seen him on television for many years. I went to take the 12 bus to the Grand Lake Theatre. Riders complained that the bus was late. I was out to see “The Hateful Eight” one more time. They had run out of programs, which was too bad, because I wanted one with Jennifer Jason Leigh in the centerfold. I appreciated Ennio Morricone’s score a bit more this time. I kept wondering whether the blood stain in Sweet Dave’s chair matched what it was supposed to be later in the day. It seemed that the poncho should have been stained, too. The snow shoes at the end made Daisy look like an angel, which I’m sure was intentional on Tarantino’s part. I took the two buses back home and spent about half an hour browsing at the record store for used Blu-ray discs. I decided to buy Ingmar Bergman’s “Summer Interlude.” I watched a Johnny Carson episode from 1987 with Christopher Reeve. He talked about being allergic to horses and being thrown from a horse and ending up with two broken ribs. Dana Carvey was also on the show, and he did an impression of James Stewart. Carvey said he was 31 years old. I watched the Blu-ray edition of “12 Years a Slave.” It had many powerful scenes, and I thought of how this movie compared to “Roots” from many years ago. The strongest impression I had of the movie was the whippings. I thought at the beginning that if it was 1841, I would not want to go anywhere near the Southern states. I’m not sure how much pain and humiliation I would be able to endure in a struggle to survive. I supposed that at my age, I couldn’t do very much. I imagine what picking cotton would be like. The work in “Places in the Heart” seemed difficult, and there was no Edwin Epps there. Chiwetel Ejiofor certainly gave one of the great acting performances of recent years in this movie. It is hard to forget him. One of the three scenes I found to be remarkable was Solomon waking up to find himself in chains. The horror of the moment was very deep. The second was the separation of the family as people were being sold. It was a combination of the terrible treatment with the emotional pain that was striking. The third was Solomon on tiptoe with his neck in a noose as children in the background were playing. There were actors like Paul Giamatti, Paul Dano, and Brad Pitt who should up. I thought that they all were good in their roles, and they added something meaningful to the film. Of all the film since “Crash” that have dealt with racial issues, I thought this one was the best. The quality of the images was very good in high definition, and sometimes the beauty of the setting contrasts with the brutality of treatment of human beings in a way that was painful. I listened to a news report on the radio of another closing of a movie theatre Some of the people who died on January 8 include Marco Polo (1324), Galileo Galilei (1642), Terry-Thomas (1990), Yvonne De Carlo (2007), Don Galloway (2009), and Art Clokey (2010). Today is a birthday for David Bowie (69), Robby Krieger (70), Stephen Hawking (74), Yvettte Mimieux (74), Bob Eubanks (78), and Shirley Bassey (79). According to the Brandon Brooks Rewind radio segment for January 8, Elvis Presley was born in Tupelo, Mississippi in 1935. In 1966, “Shindig!” was aired on ABC for the last time with The Who and The Kinks appearing. In 1974, KISS signed their first recording contract with Casablanca Records. In 1989, “42nd Street” closed at the Winter Garden Theatre after 3486 performances.

This entry was posted in Movies. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

