Ping Pong the Animation

I checked the Internet for the various ways to get to Santa Clara on Super Bowl Sunday. I was thinking of taking the Capitol Corridor train. I watched “Ping Pong the Animation,” which was an animated Japanese television series with 11 episodes. It had a noisy rock theme song that I started to like after hearing it several times. I’m not sure if I would describe the animation as innovative, but I liked the way it looked different than the Japanese cartoons I saw in my youth. I remember a lot of big eyes. Frequently, the character in the background were literally faceless. The main characters are Smile and Peco, best friends and table tennis players. They have contrasting personalities, with Smile the silent one and Peco the arrogant one. I think you can predict that the two will have some sort of big showdown before this series is over. One funny thing is that like in the movies, the people who are supposed to be in high school look too old for high school, even though this is all animated. The ping pong reminded me of the days when our family had a ping pong table and we would play a lot. This was all in the good old days before my brother went off to college. I had to think of Forrest Gump while I was watching some of these scenes. I don’t think I heard that word of advice of keeping your eyes on the ball in any of these episodes. I saw a lot of junk food up on the screen. I don’t recall these high school students doing much studying, except for some math. I cannot name anyone who plays table tennis competitively. This series is an interesting look at preparation to becoming good at doing something. I could feel the effort that these characters were putting into honing their skills. I thought the last two episodes were something great. They impressed me more than “The Good Dinosaur” did. I think I have to pay more attention to what Masaaki Yuasa does from now on because his work is so striking. I have the feeling that this series will influence a lot of people in the years to come. It has a lot of memorable moments. I went out to the Grand Lake Theatre to see “Star Wars: The Force Awakens” again. The crowd had much less energy than on the first day of release. Even though this movie recycled a lot of elements of the first two movies, it still was a better movie than all but a few that I saw all during 2015. I returned home to watch a Johnny Carson show with Robin Williams and Jonathan Winters in September 1991. It was sad to think of how Robin Williams’ life ended. It was uncomfortable to think of how long ago 1991 was. Some of the people who died on January 13 include Wyatt Earp (1929), James Joyce (1941), Ernie Kovacs (1962), Hubert Humphrey (1978), Carol Wayne (1985), Patrick McGoohan (2009), and Teddy Pendergrass (2010). Today is a birthday for Michael Peña (40) and Julia Louis-Dreyfus (55). According to the Brandon Brooks Rewind radio segment for January 12, the Bugs Bunny cartoon “Herr Meets Hare” was released in 1945. In 1968, Johnny Cash performed two shows at Folsom State Prison. In 1977, Queen began the A Day at the Races concert tour at the Milwaukee Auditorium.

This entry was posted in Movies. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

